When young people get involved in favor of the environment: the Quebec School Pact

On the occasion of the 2nd fall congress of IDÉE Entrepreneurial Education, in October 2019, we met Dominic Vézina, AVSEC at Collège Regina Assumpta, as well as Catherine and Noémie, students of the same establishment, to talk about their great entrepreneurial project. environmental: the Quebec school pact. This invites the management of establishments to take concrete measures to limit their carbon footprint.

You might also like:

Add to favorites (0)

On the occasion of the 2e IDÉE Entrepreneurial Education fall congress, in October 2019, we met Dominic Vézina, AVSEC at College Regina Assumpta, as well as Catherine and Noémie, students of the same establishment, to talk about their great entrepreneurial project with an environmental flavor: the Pacte de l Quebec school. This invites the management of establishments to take concrete measures to limit their carbon footprint. 

Interview with Stéphanie Dionne, text by Audrey Miller

Catherine and Noémie, students at Collège Regina Assumpta, a private high school in Montreal, are part of the team that carries a great entrepreneurial project called the Quebec school pact. The latter invites schools, particularly targeting management, to formally commit to actions aimed at reducing their environmental impact. It also aims to make young people and the population aware of climate change. By the time we met them, around fifty schools had already signed it. As of today, we are talking about more than 75, mobilizing around 77,000 students!

On the occasion of the 2e IDÉE Entrepreneurial Education fall congress, held in October 2019 in Lévis, they explain to us what the Pact is and how they implement it in their establishment. They specify in particular that those who adhere to them may decide to set up a variety of initiatives among those proposed, depending on what is within their reach. The following four axes are proposed: 

  • School governance (to recognize its social and environmental responsibilities as an educational institution);
  • Teaching and educational activities (to promote and encourage the teaching of environmental content and various educational activities linked to eco-responsibility and eco-citizenship);
  • Infrastructure and material resources (to integrate and apply the principles and practices of sustainable development in the management of the building, its facilities and the activities therein);
  • Partnership with the community (to join forces with all of the community's partners to ensure consistency in the interventions and the success of the process).

The objective is to initiate, from the school, a lasting change that will radiate throughout the community.

The animator of spiritual life and community engagement (AVSEC) Dominic Vézina, one of the initiators of Quebec school pact, which supports students in its implementation, adds that 50,000 students affected by the initiative, that also makes 100,000 parents! “If each school is mobilized around a structuring project like this one, we are convinced that the changes that we make in the life of the school, necessarily, will have an impact on the community. "

Moreover, at the time of this writing, according to the website, more than 1,300,000 people are directly or indirectly affected by this Pact!

Listen to them explain everything in more detail in our interview.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Quand les jeunes s’engagent en faveur de l’environnement : le Pacte de l’école québécoise

À l’occasion du 2e congrès automnal d’IDÉE Éducation entrepreneuriale, en octobre 2019, nous avons rencontré Dominic Vézina, AVSEC au Collège Regina Assumpta, ainsi que Catherine et Noémie, élèves du même établissement, pour parler de leur grand projet entrepreneurial à saveur environnementale : le Pacte de l’école québécoise. Celui-ci invite les directions d’établissements à prendre des mesures concrètes pour limiter leur empreinte carbone.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

À l’occasion du 2e congrès automnal d’IDÉE Éducation entrepreneuriale, en octobre 2019, nous avons rencontré Dominic Vézina, AVSEC au Collège Regina Assumpta, ainsi que Catherine et Noémie, élèves du même établissement, pour parler de leur grand projet entrepreneurial à saveur environnementale : le Pacte de l’école québécoise. Celui-ci invite les directions d’établissements à prendre des mesures concrètes pour limiter leur empreinte carbone. 

Entrevue de Stéphanie Dionne, texte par Audrey Miller

Catherine et Noémie, élèves au Collège Regina Assumpta, une école secondaire privée de Montréal, font partie de l’équipe qui porte un grand projet entrepreneurial appelé le Pacte de l’école québécoise. Ce dernier invite les écoles, en ciblant particulièrement les directions, à s’engager formellement dans des actions visant à diminuer leur impact environnemental. Il vise aussi à sensibiliser les jeunes et la population aux changements climatiques. Au moment où nous les avons rencontrées, une cinquantaine d’écoles l’avait déjà signé. En date d’aujourd’hui, on parle de plus de 75, mobilisant environ 77 000 élèves!

À l’occasion du 2e congrès automnal d’IDÉE Éducation entrepreneuriale, tenu en octobre 2019 à Lévis, elles nous expliquent ce qu’est le Pacte et comment elles le mettent en œuvre dans leur établissement. Elles précisent notamment que ceux qui y adhèrent peuvent décider de mettre en place une variété d’initiatives parmi celles proposées, selon ce qui est à leur portée. Les quatre axes suivants sont proposés : 

  • Gouvernance scolaire (pour reconnaître ses responsabilités sociales et environnementales en tant qu’institution éducative);
  • Enseignement et activités éducatives (pour promouvoir et encourager l’enseignement de contenus liés à l’environnement et diverses activités éducatives liées à l’écoresponsabilité et à l’écocitoyenneté);
  • Infrastructure et ressources matérielles (pour intégrer et appliquer les principes et pratiques du développement durable dans la gestion de l’immeuble, de ses installations et des activités qui s’y tiennent);
  • Partenariat avec la communauté (pour s’associer avec l’ensemble des partenaires de la communauté afin d’assurer une cohérence dans les interventions et le succès de la démarche).

L’objectif est d’initier, à partir de l’école, un changement durable qui rayonnera dans toute la communauté.

L’animateur de vie spirituelle et d’engagement communautaire (AVSEC) Dominic Vézina, l’un des initiateurs du Pacte de l’école québécoise, qui accompagne les élèves dans sa mise en oeuvre, ajoute que 50 000 élèves touchés par l’initiative, ça fait aussi 100 000 parents! « Si chaque école se mobilise autour d’un projet structurant comme celui-là, on est convaincus que les changements qu’on opère dans la vie de l’école, nécessairement, vont rejaillir sur la communauté. »

D’ailleurs, au moment d’écrire ces lignes, selon le site Web, plus d’1 300 000 personnes sont touchées de près ou de loin par ce Pacte!

Écoutez-les expliquer le tout plus en détails dans notre entrevue.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
Stéphanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.