Floods 2020: What is the situation?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Every spring, the floods make many citizens live agonizing hours. Let's see why these natural phenomena can have important consequences on various aspects of our society.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

The year 2019 broke all records in terms of flooding in Quebec. Some residents, who were still in the reconstruction of 2017 (another difficult year for the floods), had again been hit hard by the spring floods. It was the municipality of Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac that made the headlines most often, with half of the evacuees coming from this city. Of the 10,386 people evacuated, 5,506 came from Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac, which was severely affected following the rupture of a natural dike, thus allowing the Lac des Deux Montagnes to flow into the streets. You can watch this video which shows, in time-lapse, the rising waters in the heart of the city.

“The water rose so quickly on Saturday night in an area of about fifty streets that cars could be seen completely submerged on Sunday morning. The water even reached the windows on the ground floor in some places. There have been rescues in extremis, recognized Sergeant Thibaudeau, without going into details. "

Source: Le Droit, April 28, 2019

2017 and 2019 will remain etched in the memory of many citizens of Quebec. Are we seeing a trend that will happen more and more often? You can watch this video which shows the points of comparison between these two years.

What about 2020 now? Thanks to the weather conditions at the start of spring - spaced episodes of rain, hasty heat and interspersed with a drop in temperature below 0 ° C - the floods are taking place more discreetly this year. Everything indicates that Quebec would be spared from strong floods as the province witnessed in 2017 and 2019. In this regard, this article from Météo Média outlines all of the natural protective factors that are in place this year that reduce the risk of major flooding.

Even if Quebec is relatively spared in 2020, this is not the case everywhere in Canada. In Fort McMurray (in northern Alberta), for example, 13,000 people had to be evacuated after an ice jam of several tens of kilometers on the Athabasca and Clearwaters rivers caused major flooding.

“Fort McMurray has experienced floods and ice packets before, but this is a flood that occurs once every 100 years. "

Journal of Montreal
Source: Journal de Montreal

Already heavily affected by the COVID-19 pandemic and unemployment linked to the drastic drop in the value of a barrel of oil, Fort McMurray is more often than in turn grappling with great challenges to overcome:

“This city has faced so many challenges in recent years, whether one thinks of fires or years of economic hardship, and the current coronavirus pandemic […]. I am here on behalf of all Albertans to show our solidarity, Kenney continued, pledging to provide all the resources necessary to enable Fort McMurray to cope with the flooding. "

Journal of Montreal

Your challenge

Do you know where Fort McMurray is on a map of Canada? Do a web search to help you locate this city. Then test your knowledge of the different provinces and capitals of Canada across this quiz. So what's your score out of 15? Do you know enough about Canada to your liking?


 

Disciplines and levels targeted

  • Geography (lower secondary school)
    • Urban territory (city subject to natural risks)
  • French
    • Write a variety of texts

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Communicating via digital technology

Suggested digital tools

  • Google earth
  • RWT Timeline
  • Blogger or Wix

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to develop their knowledge related to the study of a city (and a province) subject to natural hazards.

Objectives of the activities

  • Explore Fort McMurray with Google Earth and take a closer look at its development.
  • Create a timeline that identifies the various floods that Quebec experienced during the 20th and 21st centuries.
  • Respond, with a blog post, to the stories of some citizens who have experienced the floods.
  • Learn about the 1996 flood in the Saguenay and understand the extent of natural disasters in Quebec.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Inondations 2020 : qu’en est-il de la situation?

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Chaque printemps, les inondations font vivre à plusieurs citoyens des heures angoissantes. Voyons pourquoi ces phénomènes naturels peuvent avoir d’importantes conséquences sur divers aspects de notre société.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’année 2019 avait battu tous les records en terme d’inondations au Québec. Certains riverains, qui étaient encore dans la reconstruction de 2017 (autre année difficile pour les inondations), avaient de nouveau été frappés de plein fouet par les crues printanières. C’est la municipalité de Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac qui avait fait les manchettes le plus souvent, avec la moitié des personnes évacuées venant de cette ville. Des 10 386 personnes évacuées, 5506 provenaient donc de Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac, sévèrement touchée suite à la rupture d’une digue naturelle, permettant ainsi au lac des Deux Montagnes de se déverser dans les rues. Vous pouvez visionner cette vidéo qui démontre, en accéléré, la montée des eaux en plein coeur de la ville.

« L’eau a monté si rapidement samedi soir dans un secteur d’une cinquantaine de rues qu’on pouvait apercevoir des voitures complètement submergées dimanche matin. L’eau a même atteint les fenêtres au rez-de-chaussée à certains endroits. Il y a eu des sauvetages in extremis, a reconnu le sergent Thibaudeau, sans rentrer dans les détails. »

Source : Le Droit, 28 avril 2019

2017 et 2019 resteront gravées dans la mémoire de bon nombre de citoyens au Québec. Assistons-nous à une tendance qui se reproduira de plus en plus souvent? Vous pouvez visionner cette vidéo qui fait état des points de comparaison entre ces deux années.

Qu’en est-il maintenant de 2020? Grâce aux conditions météo du début du printemps – épisodes de pluie espacés, chaleur hâtive et entrecoupée de rechute de température sous 0 °C – les inondations se déroulent plus discrètement cette année. Tout indique que le Québec serait épargné de fortes crues comme la province en a été témoin en 2017 et 2019. À ce sujet, cet article de Météo Média fait état de tous les facteurs de protection naturelle qui sont en place cette année et qui diminuent les risques d’inondations majeures.

Même si le Québec est relativement épargné en 2020, ce n’est pas le cas partout au Canada. À Fort McMurray (au nord de l’Alberta), par exemple, 13 000 personnes ont dû être évacuées après qu’un embâcle de plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres sur les rivières Athabasca et Clearwaters ait provoqué une inondation majeure.

« Fort McMurray a déjà vécu des inondations et des amoncellements de glace, mais celle-ci est une inondation qui se produit une fois aux 100 ans. »

Journal de Montréal
Source : Journal de Montréal

Déjà lourdement affectée par la pandémie de COVID-19 et le chômage lié à la chute drastique de la valeur du baril de pétrole, Fort McMurray est plus souvent qu’à son tour aux prises avec de grands défis à surmonter :

« Cette ville a fait face à tellement de défis dans les dernières années, que l’on pense aux incendies ou aux années de difficultés économiques, et à la pandémie de coronavirus présentement […]. Je suis ici au nom de tous les Albertains pour démontrer notre solidarité, a poursuivi M. Kenney en promettant de fournir toutes les ressources nécessaires pour permettre à Fort McMurray de faire face aux inondations. »

Journal de Montréal

Ton défi

Sais-tu où se situe Fort McMurray sur une carte du Canada? Fais une recherche sur le Web pour t’aider à repérer cette ville. Ensuite, teste tes connaissances sur les différentes provinces et capitales du Canada à travers ce quiz. Alors, quel est ton résultat sur 15? Connais-tu assez le Canada à ton goût?


 

Disciplines et niveaux visés

  • Géographie (1er cycle du secondaire)
    • Territoire urbain (ville soumise à des risques naturels)
  • Français
    • Écrire des textes variés

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Communiquer à l’aide du numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Google Earth
  • RWT Timeline
  • Blogger ou Wix

Intention pédagogique du guide

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves de développer leurs connaissances liées à l’étude d’une ville (et d’une province) soumise à des risques naturels.

Objectifs des activités

  • Explorer Fort McMurray grâce à Google Earth et s’attarder à son aménagement.
  • Créer une ligne du temps qui recense les différentes inondations qu’a vécues le Québec au cours du 20e et 21e siècle.
  • Répondre, par un billet de blogue, aux récits de quelques citoyens qui ont vécu les inondations.
  • S’informer sur le déluge de 1996 au Saguenay et comprendre l’ampleur des catastrophes naturelles au Québec.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir