Distance learning in elementary school - part 2

How to make the online class motivating, to keep the attention of the youngest students and to make learning more active and engaging? Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, 4th year teacher, presents her experience.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

By Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, with the collaboration of Martine Rioux

Distance education is a challenge for everyone, but the task is all the more complex with the youngest. How to make the online class motivating, to keep students' attention and make learning more active and engaging? Two elementary school teachers shared their advice with us. Here are those of Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, 4 year teacher at the Externat St-Jean-Berchmans, after those of Catherine Lapointe.

Online education with younger children usually takes place one hour in the morning and one hour in the afternoon, followed by self-employment and specialty courses (physical education, English, etc.) who kept the same schedule as at school. The teacher also provides times of availability to answer students' questions.

Listening to (parents and students)

  • In distance education, and especially with the little ones, it is important to team up with parents. It is more necessary than ever to bet on co-education, without overburdening parents either. For example, during a shift towards distance education, Myra invites parents to the first morning session to reassure them and invites them to ask their questions as a group.
  • In order to quickly collect the pulse from parents to find out "how are you", Myra uses a Google form that she modifies and sends them periodically. Here is an example that you can copy and adapt: Parent Questionnaire : e-learning experience 
  • Myra was already using another Google form in class to establish the class happiness index. It can also be used remotely. It is then the pupils who answer. Here is the example she offers: Student Questionnaire : index of happiness

To put into action

  • Use chat. In some video conferencing applications, students can write directly to the teacher without other students seeing the messages. Students can then be asked to answer simple questions in writing. The teacher then encourages all the students to respond.
  • Take quizzes. Students love to answer questionnaires, they engage in answering. Most questionnaire tools also have gamification elements that facilitate motivation. At the same time, this allows them to quickly validate their understanding of certain concepts.

Limit novelty

  • As far as possible, keep the same schedule, the same routines that the students knew in the classroom in the virtual world.
  • Pay attention to the transmission of new concepts at a distance. In these moments, you have to explain more, model, repeat and explain again. 

Socialize

  • Once we have taken the time to explain how the sub-groups work, to describe the tasks to be accomplished and the expected results, sub-group work is a good way to allow students to discuss, to collaborate. It is then possible for the teacher to circulate between the teams, to write a message to everyone at the same time to remind them that they have X minutes left, etc. It's good for motivation! Sometimes the teacher leaves the choice of teams to the students, other times she imposes teams or she leaves the choice to chance.

Provide a clear work plan

  • Divide tasks into small pieces which will be easier to carry out by the pupils independently. Give as many instructions as possible during online lesson sessions and even record instructions that students can listen to asynchronously. Give concrete examples of the expected results. Name the intention, repeat it.
  • Take into account (at least try!) All family contexts. For example, many students do not have parental support to carry out the work plan. They must be able to complete it on their own.
  • Check (or ask parents to do it) that the work plan is done. Personally, I give a part to be done digitally that I check and I let the parents check the notebooks or sheets. Without always thinking about the evaluation. Instead, think about keeping track of student progress.

Above all, you have to remember that everyone is doing their best right now. The situation is far from ideal. Both teachers and students would prefer to be in class. We must try to stay the course while waiting for a return to school and leave the necessary space for the students and their parents to express their well-being or their discomfort. 

The final advice applies to everyone: remember to take care of yourself, ask others what they have done for fun and relaxation… and do it yourself! Go to the park without your phone ... or dance to your favorite music in your living room.

If you also have any tips to share to make distance learning more enjoyable and effective with the little ones, don't hesitate to share them with the École branchée team.

To read : Advice from Catherine Lapointe, 2nd year teacher at the Campanile school (CSS des Découvreurs)


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
3- Exploit the potential of digital technology for learning

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Enseigner à distance au primaire – 2e partie

Comment faire pour que la classe en ligne soit motivante, pour garder l’attention des plus jeunes élèves et rendre les apprentissages plus actifs et engageants? Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante en 4e année, présente son expérience.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, avec la collaboration de Martine Rioux

L’enseignement à distance est un défi pour tous, mais la tâche est d’autant plus complexe avec les plus jeunes. Comment faire pour que la classe en ligne soit motivante, pour garder l’attention des élèves et rendre les apprentissages plus actifs et engageants? Deux enseignantes du primaire nous ont partagé leurs conseils. Voici ceux de Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante de 4 année à l’Externat St-Jean-Berchmans, après ceux de Catherine Lapointe.

L’enseignement en ligne avec les plus jeunes se déroule généralement à raison d’une heure en avant-midi et d’une heure en après-midi, puis du travail autonome et des cours de spécialité (éducation physique, anglais, etc.) qui ont gardé le même horaire qu’à l’école. L’enseignante prévoit aussi des moments de disponibilité pour répondre aux questions des élèves.

Être à l’écoute (des parents et des élèves)

  • En enseignement à distance, et surtout avec les plus petits, il est important de faire équipe avec les parents. Il est plus nécessaire que jamais de miser sur la coéducation, sans surcharger les parents non plus. Par exemple, lors d’un moment de bascule vers l’enseignement à distance, Myra invite les parents à la première séance du matin pour les rassurer et les invite à poser leurs questions en groupe.
  • Afin de recueillir rapidement le pouls auprès des parents pour savoir « comment ça va », Myra utilise un formulaire Google qu’elle modifie et leur envoie périodiquement. Voici un exemple que vous pouvez copier et adapter : Questionnaire Parent : expérience d’apprentissage en ligne 
  • Myra utilisait déjà un autre formulaire Google en classe pour établir l’indice de bonheur de la classe. Il peut aussi être utilisé à distance. Ce sont alors les élèves qui répondent. Voici l’exemple qu’elle propose : Questionnaire Élève : indice de bonheur

Mettre en action

  • Utiliser le clavardage. Dans certaines applications de vidéoconférence, les élèves peuvent écrire directement à l’enseignant sans que les autres élèves voient les messages. Il est alors possible de demander aux élèves de répondre par écrit à des questions simples. L’enseignant encourage alors tous les élèves à répondre.
  • Faire des quiz. Les élèves adorent répondre à des questionnaires, ils s’engagent pour répondre. La plupart des outils de questionnaires présentent aussi des éléments de ludification qui facilitent la motivation. Cela permet du même coup de valider rapidement leur compréhension de certaines notions.

Limiter la nouveauté

  • Dans la mesure du possible, garder le même horaire, les mêmes routines, que les élèves connaissaient en classe dans le virtuel.
  • Attention à la transmission de nouvelles notions à distance. Dans ces moments, il faut expliquer davantage, modéliser, répéter et expliquer encore. 

Socialiser

  • Une fois qu’on a pris le temps de bien expliquer le fonctionnement des sous-groupes, de bien décrire les tâches à accomplir et les résultats attendus, le travail en sous-groupe s’avère une bonne façon de permettre aux élèves de discuter, de collaborer. Il est alors possible pour l’enseignant de circuler entre les équipes, d’écrire un message à tous en même temps pour leur rappeler qu’il leur reste X minutes, etc. C’est bon pour la motivation! Parfois, l’enseignante laisse le choix des équipes aux élèves, d’autres fois, elle impose des équipes ou elle laisse le hasard choisir.

Donner un plan de travail clair

  • Diviser les tâches en petits morceaux qui seront plus faciles à réaliser par les élèves de façon autonome. Donner le plus de consignes possibles lors des séances de cours en ligne et même enregistrer les consignes que les élèves pourront écouter en asynchrone. Donner des exemples concrets des résultats attendus. Nommer l’intention, la répéter.
  • Tenir compte (essayer du moins!) de tous les contextes familiaux. Par exemple, plusieurs élèves n’ont pas de soutien parental pour réaliser le plan de travail. Ils doivent être en mesure de le compléter seul.
  • Vérifier (ou demander aux parents de le faire) que le plan de travail est fait. Personnellement, je donne une partie à réaliser de façon numérique que je vérifie et je laisse les parents vérifier les cahiers ou feuilles. Sans toujours penser à l’évaluation. Penser plutôt à garder des traces des progrès des élèves.

Par dessus tout, il faut se rappeler que tout le monde fait de son mieux en ce moment. La situation est loin d’être idéale. Enseignants comme élèves préfèreraient être en classe. Il faut tenter de garder le cap en attendant un retour à l’école et laisser l’espace nécessaire pour que les élèves et leurs parents puissent exprimer leur bien-être ou leur inconfort. 

Le conseil final vaut pour tous : il faut se rappeler de prendre soin de soi, demander aux autres ce qu’ils ont fait pour s’amuser et se détendre… et le faire soi-même! Aller au parc sans son téléphone… ou danser sur sa musique préférée dans son salon.

Si vous avez aussi des conseils à partager pour rendre l’enseignement à distance plus agréable et efficace avec les plus petits, n’hésitez pas à les partager avec l’équipe de l’École branchée.

À lire : Les conseils de Catherine Lapointe, enseignante de 2e année à l’école du Campanile (CSS des Découvreurs)


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
3- Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct