Promotion of the teaching profession - Minister Roberge unveils the list of members of the 2019 class of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec

The list of members of the 2019 promotion of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec was unveiled this week. Audrey Miller, Executive Director of École branchée, is included in this prestigious list. Congratulation!

Published on :


ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Press release - The Minister of Education, Mr. Jean-François Roberge, is proud to unveil the list of members of the 2019 class of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec. These people will be decorated at an official ceremony, in the fall of 2021, at the same time as the recipients of the 2021 cohort, for whom the call for nominations is underway.

To this end, those who wish to nominate a person who stands out for his exceptional participation in the influence of Quebec education have until September 24, 2021 to submit the appropriate form, duly completed.

Each candidacy will be evaluated by the Council of the Order of Excellence which, annually, recommends to the Minister at most 60 people for all the titles.

Remember that the Order was instituted in 2018 and that its decorations are awarded to people active in the field of education: from early childhood to university, private and public, in all regions.

The Order has three ranks: member, distinguished member and emeritus member, its members being able to progress and be rewarded more than once for their contribution to the advancement of education in Quebec.

“Promoting education and those who contribute to the quality of our education system is close to my heart. I sincerely thank each of the people who have been selected, and I look forward to presenting them with their decorations as new members of the Order. I invite parents, school and center staff, administrators and citizens who, like me, want education to really be a priority to nominate an exceptional person in the context of of the current call for candidates. It is the duty of all of us to ensure that these people are recognized for their true worth: it is thanks to them that our children, our adolescents and adults can learn and flourish in remarkable school environments. "

Jean-François Roberge, Minister of Education

“I would like to thank the 22 members of the 2019 cohort. There are in our schools a host of dedicated and qualified people who allow our young people to flourish in their school environment. Thank you to all those who pass on their passion, whether for music, history, sport or theater. Your role is essential for the motivation and sense of belonging of our students. We are proud of you, of your success and of your involvement in Quebec schools. In your own way, you promote education in Quebec. "

Isabelle Charest, Minister responsible for Education and Minister responsible for the Status of Women

“The Order of Excellence in Education is a decoration that recognizes the valuable contribution of women and men in our networks, whether in elementary or secondary schools, colleges or universities. I congratulate the new members on their appointment and will be happy to thank them in person at the time of the fall ceremony. I take this opportunity to invite all those who know an exceptional person who contributed to education to submit an application under the new call. "

Danielle McCann, Minister of Higher Education


  • In 2018, 51 members, distinguished members and emeritus members were received into the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec.
  • For the 2019 promotion, 22 people were received into the Order.
  • The Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec is under the responsibility of the Council of the Order, composed of 10 members responsible for recommending to the Minister a maximum of 60 candidates per year for all titles.
  • The Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, whose motto is Their success, our duty, intended to :
    • recognize the merits of people who work or are involved in the field of education;
    • to promote the significant local, regional or national contributions of the actors of the education system;
    • contribute to the influence of the education system.
  • A proposal for appointment can be sent to the Order by:
    • any natural person;
    • any person representing the authorities of a school organization or higher education establishment, either:
      • a school service center or a school board;
      • a primary or secondary school, public or private;
      • an adult or vocational training center;
      • a general and vocational college;
      • a private college educational institution;
      • a university educational institution;
    • any person representing an organization that is not a school organization or a higher education institution.

List of the 22 new members of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec


  • Raymond Bédard, History teacher in 4 yearse high school, McMasterville School of International Education
  • David Bowles, Director General, Collège Charles-Lemoyne
  • Michael Canuel, Managing Director, LEARN
  • Ginette Côté, President of the Council of Commissioners, Commission scolaire de l'Estuaire
  • Josée Crête, Music teacher, Le boisé high school
  • Marc Deschamps, Director of the Music Department, Collège Notre-Dame
  • Claude Gagnon, Classical guitar teacher, Cégep de Sainte-Foy
  • France Henri, Honorary Professor, TELUQ University
  • Sylvain Lagacé, Recreation Technician, De Mortagne High School
  • Audrey Miller, Managing Director, École branchée
  • Lori-Ann Paige, First Nations and Inuit Early Childhood Program Coordinator, Cégep de Saint-Félicien
  • Jean-François Roy, Teacher and coordinator of the ASP program Starting a business, Maurice-Barbeau Vocational Training Center
  • Édouard Staco, President, 1804 School Perseverance Fund

Distinguished Members

  • Christian Bourdy, Family physician and associate clinical professor, University of Montreal
  • Pierre Brouillette, Teacher (rehabilitation for adolescents), Pavillon Albert-Prévost of the Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur in Montreal
  • Monique Cormier, Associate Vice-Rector for the French Language and the Francophonie, University of Montreal
  • Frank Greene, Retired Professor, McGill University
  • Thérèse Laferrière, Full Professor, Laval University
  • Louise Poirier, Full Professor, University of Montreal
  • Louise Richer, Founder and Executive Director, National School of Humor

Emeritus Members

  • Andrée Boucher, Researcher and Medical Director of the Interprofessional Thyroid Cancer Team, Center hospitalier universitaire de Montréal (CHUM)
  • Pauline Marois, Prime Minister from 2012 to 2014 and Minister of Education from 1996 to 1998

Source: Ministry of Education

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

The press releases published on are those received for the attention of and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!

You might also like: