ADVERTISEMENT

Quebec elections: new government, new issues

The Coalition Avenir Québec conquered Quebec with a firm majority in the elections of October 1, 2018. What does this mean for Quebec education?

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The Coalition Avenir Québec conquered Quebec with a firm majority in the elections of 1er October 2018. What does this mean for Quebec education?

For the liberals, who are losing power

Popular disavowal certainly has its source, among other things in education, in the first years of the liberal reign. Significant budget cuts were imposed on an already struggling school system. The Liberal troops will have to regroup and examine their conscience. In education, this reflection had started a little over two and a half years ago. The work of Minister Sébastien Proulx will indeed have had the effect of a great breath of fresh air in a school world marked by gloom. Mr. Proulx has been able to get closer to schools and those who work there. He was also able to soak up the realities in the field such as the challenges of students with special needs, those of the continuing education of teachers and the importance of implementing the right pedagogical tools.

Many would say, however, that the damage was done. Nevertheless, it must be admitted that Mr. Proulx, for many, will have been the best Minister of Education since the famous reform of the early 2000s.

For the Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ), which comes to power

At first, it seems obvious to me that the minister who will be appointed by the new Caquist government will have to fill big shoes for two reasons: as I wrote, Minister Proulx did an excellent job, but also, the caquistes n 'did not skimp on electoral promises in education during their campaign. Among these promises are the following:

  • Massive reinvestments;
  • Abolition of school boards;
  • Kindergarten from four years old;
  • Build or renovate schools so that they are among the most beautiful in the world;
  • Increase teachers' salaries;
  • Etc.

The task will be heavy and the challenge ambitious. In a sense, if there is one thing that is sorely lacking in education, it is certainly ambition: we cannot therefore criticize the CAQ for having it, right?

Give the runner a chance

On the side of the people in the field, we can read in particular on social networks a lot of apprehension. Before the election, voices demanded the departure of the Liberals. After the elections, almost as many are already anxious for the changes to come. Many probably feel a bit like students when they see their new teacher's name on their schedule at the start of the year and worry before they actually see it at work.

Let's give the runner the chance, who has also just won over a large part of the ridings in Quebec. The newly elected officials who will work in education will be able to count on me and on several of you, I am sure! The participation rate in these elections was low, but it remains one of the foundations of our democracy, let us not forget.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Élections québécoises : nouveau gouvernement, nouveaux enjeux

La Coalition Avenir Québec a conquis le Québec avec une majorité ferme lors des élections du 1er octobre 2018. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour l’éducation québécoise?

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

La Coalition Avenir Québec a conquis le Québec avec une majorité ferme lors des élections du 1er octobre 2018. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour l’éducation québécoise?

Pour les libéraux, qui perdent le pouvoir

Le désaveu populaire a certainement pour source, entre autres en éducation, les premières années du règne libéral. D’importantes compressions budgétaires ont été imposées à un système scolaire qui était déjà mal en point. Il faudra que les troupes libérales se regroupent et fassent un examen de conscience. En éducation, cette réflexion était entamée depuis un peu plus de deux ans et demi. Le travail du ministre Sébastien Proulx aura en effet eu l’effet d’une grande bouffée d’air frais dans un univers scolaire marqué par la morosité. Monsieur Proulx a su se rapprocher des écoles et de ceux qui y travaillent. Il a aussi pu s’imprégner des réalités du terrain comme les défis des élèves à besoin particuliers, ceux de la formation continue des enseignants et l’importance d’implanter les bons outils pédagonumériques.

Plusieurs diront cependant que le mal était fait. Néanmoins, il faut admettre que Monsieur Proulx, pour plusieurs, aura été le meilleur ministre de l’Éducation depuis la fameuse réforme du début des années 2000.

Pour la Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ), qui arrive au pouvoir

Dans un premier temps, il me semble évident que le ministre qui sera nommé par le nouveau gouvernement caquiste devra combler de grandes chaussures pour deux raisons : comme je l’écrivais, le ministre Proulx a fait un excellent travail, mais aussi, les caquistes n’ont pas lésiné sur les promesses électorales en éducation lors de leur campagne. Parmi ces promesses, notons les suivantes :

  • Réinvestissements massifs;
  • Abolition des commissions scolaires;
  • La maternelle dès quatre ans;
  • Bâtir ou rénover les écoles pour qu’elles figurent parmi les plus belles au monde;
  • Augmenter le salaire des enseignants;
  • Etc.

La tâche sera lourde et le défi, ambitieux. D’un sens, s’il y a une chose qui fait cruellement défaut en éducation, c’est certainement l’ambition : on ne peut donc pas critiquer la CAQ d’en avoir, non?

Donner sa chance au coureur

Du côté des gens du milieu, on peut lire notamment sur les réseaux sociaux beaucoup d’appréhension. Avant les élections, des voix réclamaient le départ des libéraux. Après les élections, presqu’autant angoissent déjà en vue des changements à venir. Plusieurs se sentent probablement un peu comme des élèves lorsqu’ils voient le nom de leur nouvel enseignant sur leur horaire en début d’année et qui s’inquiètent avant de réellement le voir à l’oeuvre.

Donnons la chance au coureur, qui vient par ailleurs de rafler une très grande partie des circonscriptions québécoises. Les nouveaux élus qui oeuvreront en éducation pourront compter sur moi et sur plusieurs d’entre vous, j’en suis certain! Le taux de participation à ces élections a été faible, mais cela demeure l’un des fondements de notre démocratie, ne l’oublions pas.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct