ADVERTISEMENT

Tips for organizing a remote cooperative class

Guillaume Caron and Laurent Fillion, teachers at Vadez College in Calais (Pas-de-Calais) in France, present a practical organization proposal for the establishment of a distance cooperative class.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Guillaume Caron and Laurent Fillion, teachers at Vadez College in Calais (Pas-de-Calais) in France, present a practical organization proposal for the establishment of a distance cooperative class. They themselves lived the experience with a class of 4e. In fact, for them, it was a continuation since the cooperative component was already in place in their class.

1- A work plan on Padlet

All student work is centralized on a Padlet, classified by discipline. They find work to do individually, as well as videoconferencing moments for collective work. Elements concerning the life of the class also appear.

2- A virtual cooperative council

The class cooperative council can be held by videoconference without any problem. The message box that usually allows students to submit an agenda preparation coupon is however replaced by an online form that students could complete. One of the observed advantages of remote co-op counseling is that it is easier to welcome other teachers as an observer, special guest or participant.

3- Group work by videoconference

A maximum of two hours per day is set for collaborative online work. The moments are also distributed in the schedule to avoid too long periods in front of the screen. A sequence planned for the work (with duration) is also proposed to the pupils.

4- Traces in digital tools

Part of the work to be done alone is done in writing so that teachers can then collect traces of student learning. Online exercise tools allow other forms of results to be retrieved. They also have the advantage of providing feedback, often live, to students.

For example, Guillaume Caron and Laurent Fillion mention Tactileo (which allows you to create modules with different types of questions) and Labomep (with the generation of online exercise sessions in mathematics according to themes and student profiles). These two platforms allow the teacher to individually follow the students' work. They also use CoopMaths which generates random data exercises.

5- Help when in doubt

A help charter, which had been drawn up in class, is still valid at a distance (eg do not give the answer but guide the classmates towards it). As the pupils always have the possibility to ask for help from the teacher and the other pupils in the event of a blockage, the teachers set up a help table on a standard tool. Framapad. However, they soon realized that the students were using other means, such as social media messaging and texting, to communicate with each other and help each other.

“Distance education will never replace what we can do in the classroom. Cooperation is facilitated by the physical presence, the importance of gestures, looks, space, bodies is important. However, thanks to small organizations, this cooperation manages to cross the wall of distance which offers adapted tools. The balance of time then becomes fundamental to fight against isolation, dropping out or overload ”, concludes Guillaume Caron and Laurent Fillion.

The full version of their testimony is available on the Educational Notebooks.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Des conseils pour organiser une classe coopérative à distance

Guillaume Caron et Laurent Fillion, enseignants au collège Vadez de Calais (Pas-de-Calais) en France, présentent une proposition d’organisation pratique pour la mise en place d’une classe coopérative à distance.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Guillaume Caron et Laurent Fillion, enseignants au collège Vadez de Calais (Pas-de-Calais) en France, présentent une proposition d’organisation pratique pour la mise en place d’une classe coopérative à distance. Ils ont eux-mêmes vécu l’expérience avec une classe de 4e. En fait, pour eux, il s’agissait d’une continuité puisque le volet coopératif était déjà en place dans leur classe en présence.

1- Un plan de travail sur Padlet

L’ensemble du travail des élèves est centralisé sur un Padlet, classé par discipline. Ils y trouvent des travaux à faire de manière individuelle, de même que les moments de visioconférence pour le travail collectif. Des éléments concernant la vie de la classe apparaissent également.

2- Un conseil coopératif virtuel

Le conseil coopératif de la classe peut se tenir en vidéoconférence sans problème. La boîte à messages qui permet habituellement aux élèves de déposer un coupon de préparation de l’ordre du jour est cependant remplacée par un formulaire en ligne que les élèves pouvaient compléter. Un des avantages observés du conseil coopératif à distance est qu’il est plus facile d’accueillir d’autres enseignants comme observateur, invité spécial ou participant.

3- Travail en groupe par visioconférence

Un maximum de deux heures par jour est fixé pour le travail collaboratif en ligne. Les moments sont aussi répartis dans la grille-horaire pour éviter les trop longues périodes devant l’écran. Une séquence prévue pour le travail (avec durée) est aussi proposée aux élèves.

4- Des traces dans les outils numériques

Une partie du travail à faire seul se fait à l’écrit afin que les enseignants puissent ensuite récolter des traces des apprentissages des élèves. Des outils d’exercices en ligne permettent de récupérer d’autres formes de résultats. Ils offrent aussi l’avantage de fournir des rétroactions, souvent en direct, aux élèves.

À titre d’exemple, Guillaume Caron et Laurent Fillion mentionnent Tactileo (qui permet de créer soi-même des modules avec différents types de questions) et Labomep (avec la génération de séances d’exercices en ligne en mathématiques en fonction des thématiques et des profils d’élèves). Ces deux plateformes permettent à l’enseignant de suivre individuellement le travail des élèves. Ils utilisent aussi CoopMaths qui génère des exercices à données aléatoires.

5- De l’aide en cas de doute

Une charte d’aide, qui avait été élaborée en classe, est toujours valable à distance (ex. ne pas donner la réponse mais guider les camarades vers celle-ci). Comme les élèves ont toujours la possibilité de demander de l’aide à l’enseignant et aux autres élèves en cas de blocage, les enseignants ont mis en place un tableau d’aide sur un outil type Framapad. Cependant, ils se sont rapidement rendu compte que les élèves utilisaient d’autres moyens, comme les messageries des réseaux sociaux et le SMS, pour communiquer entre eux et s’entraider.

« L’enseignement à distance ne remplacera jamais ce que nous pouvons faire en classe. La coopération est facilitée par la présence physique, l’importance des gestes, des regards, de l’espace, des corps est importante. Toutefois, grâce à des petites organisations, cette coopération parvient à franchir le mur du distanciel qui offre des outils adaptés. L’équilibre des temps devient alors fondamental pour lutter contre l’isolement, le décrochage ou la surcharge », conclut Guillaume Caron et Laurent Fillion.

La version intégrale de leur témoignage est disponible sur les Cahiers pédagogiques.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct