Electricity in the air for the 20th edition of the event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! "

There will be electricity in the air for the 20th edition of the event. Three days of activities to promote science and technology to young girls in order to alleviate the shortage of female labor that persists in these industries.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Montreal, Wednesday February 6, 2019 - There will be electricity in the air for the 20th edition of the event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! ". Three days of activities (Quebec, Montreal, Sherbrooke) to promote science and technology to young girls in secondary 2 and 3 in order to alleviate the shortage of female labor that persists in these industries.

Several distinguished personalities will add to the brilliance of this day, including Ms. Johanne Duhaime, Vice-President, Information and Communications Technologies at Hydro-Québec and Honorary President of this 20th edition. "I want to see more girls choose science as their field of study and work, because they bring a different and complementary vision and approach!" ", comments Ms. Duhaime.

Meteorologist Ève Christian will also take part in the festivities, as honorary godmother, as will young biochemist and science journalist Marianne Desautels-Marissal, returning as spokesperson for a second year. “20 years ago, I was 14, like hundreds of young girls who will participate in these days. When I look at the past decades, I see the birth of a host of sciences and technologies that are already shaping our lives and the new professions that accompany them. To be interested in science is to go further than to prepare for a rapidly changing future: it is to be this change, to think about this future, to code it. "

An event driving change

Many factors influence the choice of a field of study and participation in an event like this can have a major impact on the professional future of young people. A past master in the art of observing the sky, forecaster Ève Christian reminds us of the importance of encouraging our young people to broaden their horizons. “Personally, I first dreamed of a career in astronomy, only to realize that I preferred to be in the motion of weather systems, a few miles above sea level below. We must remain open-minded and not close doors, she emphasizes. It is not because it is science or technology that it is necessarily difficult. These are areas that are much more accessible than we think and young women will be able to demonstrate this in real life by attending events such as this. They discover a host of fun, multi-faceted professions, as well as their many applications. The important thing is that the flame ignites! A day like this shows us the way to the path to take, keeping in mind that each route is unique! ".

Short-circuit the shortage of female workers in science and technology

Despite the event's two decades of existence, its mission remains just as current and relevant today, due to the lack of female labor that has persisted in these industries for too long.

Last October, a survey carried out by Groupe Multi Réso among participants from previous editions demonstrated the positive influence of the event. Among the responses obtained, 82.4 % of the respondents considered that the event was personally useful to them. In addition, 68.7 % of them indicated that their interest in science in general had increased as a result of this experience, while 64.7 % of participants saw their interest in taking science courses increase as a result of this experience. to this day. Finally, 77.4 % of respondents indicated that the event increased their knowledge in the targeted fields, while a proportion of 78.1 % discovered new occupations in these fields.

“Although we are enthusiastic about the survey results, we find it regrettable to come to the same conclusion after 20 years. We are determined to deploy all the power necessary to bypass the shortage of female workers in these industries ”, indicates Ms. Nancy Rancourt, engineer and president of the organizing committee.

With a program full of workshops and spectacular demonstrations, the 20th anniversary of the event will be celebrated with great fanfare. Participants will have the chance to carry out mergers on board fiber optic trucks and attend a special presentation hosted by science popularizers Martin Carli (in Montreal) and Yannick Bergeron (in Quebec).

General Information

This year, the event will be held at the following dates and locations:

  • February 23, 2019: Quebec, Laval University
  • March 16, 2019: Montreal, École de technologie supérieure The Montreal edition of the event is presented in collaboration with the École de technologie supérieure and Polytechnique Montreal
  • March 16, 2019: Sherbrooke, University of Sherbrooke

Official website

Facebook Montreal: @LesFillesEtLesSciencesUnDuoElectrisantMontreal

Facebook Quebec: @lesfillesetlessciencesquebec

Facebook Sherbrooke: @TechnoscienceEstrie

For an overview of the workshops offered to participants during the day “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! », Watch this video made in 2018

About the event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! "

Created by a handful of women volunteers, scientists, engineers, professionals and teachers, with the support of Polytechnique Montréal, the École de technologie supérieure and several ICT companies, the concept of the event "Girls and science, an electrifying duo! ”First germinated, in 1998, in the mind of Nathalie Beaudry. Then responsible for a university hiring program for the network operations department at Bell, it was given the mandate to recruit a proportion of 50 % women, a goal that it struggled to achieve. due to the low rate of female labor. Noting that her colleagues were faced with the same problems, Ms. Beaudry immediately proposed the idea of getting together in order to set up an activity intended for teenage girls, to make them aware of the exact nature of the scientific and technological professions and the programs of studies leading to it. In addition to allowing participants to reflect on the stereotypes that influence their choice of studies, this event offers them a unique opportunity to discover rewarding training and careers, to participate in exciting workshops and to exchange with inspiring career women. . The event has several components; including group activities, demonstrations and workshops, as well as two sections designed specifically for school workers and parents.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

De l’électricité dans l’air pour la 20e édition de l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant ! »

0

Montréal, mercredi le 6 février 2019 – Il y aura de l’électricité dans l’air à l’occasion de la 20e édition de l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! ». Trois journées d’activités (Québec, Montréal, Sherbrooke) pour promouvoir les sciences et les technologies auprès des jeunes filles de 2e et 3e secondaire afin de pallier la pénurie de main-d’œuvre féminine qui persiste au sein de ces industries.

Plusieurs personnalités de marque ajouteront à l’éclat de cette journée, dont Mme Johanne Duhaime, vice-présidente, Technologies de l’information et des communications à Hydro-Québec et présidente d’honneur de cette 20e édition. « Je souhaite voir plus de filles choisir les sciences comme champ d’études et de travail, car elles apportent une vision et une approche différentes et complémentaires! », commente Mme Duhaime.

La météorologue Ève Christian prendra également part aux festivités, à titre de marraine d’honneur, de même que la jeune biochimiste et journaliste scientifique Marianne Desautels-Marissal, de retour à titre de porte-parole pour une deuxième année. « Il y a 20 ans, j’en avais 14, comme des centaines de jeunes filles qui participeront à ces journées. Quand je regarde ces dernières décennies, j’y vois la naissance d’une foule de sciences et de technologies qui façonnent déjà nos vies et les nouveaux métiers qui les accompagnent. S’intéresser aux sciences, c’est aller plus loin que de se préparer à un futur qui change rapidement : c’est être ce changement, penser cet avenir, le coder. »

Un événement conducteur de changement

De nombreux facteurs influencent le choix d’un domaine d’études et la participation à un événement comme celui-ci peut avoir une incidence majeure sur l’avenir professionnel des jeunes. Passée maître dans l’art d’observer le ciel, la prévisionniste Ève Christian rappelle l’importance d’encourager nos jeunes à élargir leurs horizons. « Personnellement, j’ai d’abord rêvé d’une carrière en astronomie, pour ensuite réaliser que je préférais être dans le mouvement des systèmes météorologiques, à quelques kilomètres d’altitude plus bas. Il faut demeurer ouvert d’esprit et ne pas fermer de portes, souligne-t-elle. Ce n’est pas parce que c’est des sciences ou des technos que c’est nécessairement ardu. Ce sont des domaines beaucoup plus accessibles que nous le pensons et les jeunes filles en auront la démonstration concrète en assistant à des événements tels que celui-ci. Elles y découvrent une foule de métiers amusants, aux multiples facettes, ainsi que leurs nombreuses applications. L’important, c’est que la flamme s’allume! Une journée comme celle-ci nous montre la voie vers le chemin à prendre, en gardant en tête que chaque parcours est unique! ».

Court-circuiter le manque de main-d’œuvre féminine en sciences et en technos

Malgré les deux décennies d’existence de l’événement, sa mission demeure tout aussi actuelle et pertinente de nos jours, en raison du manque de main-d’œuvre féminine qui persiste au sein de ces industries depuis trop longtemps.

En octobre dernier, un sondage réalisé par le Groupe Multi Réso auprès de participantes d’éditions précédentes a démontré l’influence positive de l’événement. Parmi les réponses obtenues, 82,4 % des répondantes considèrent que l’événement leur a été personnellement utile. De plus, 68,7 % d’entre elles ont indiqué que leur intérêt envers les sciences en général avait augmenté à la suite de cette expérience, alors que 64,7 % des participantes ont vu leur intérêt à suivre des cours de sciences augmenter grâce à cette journée. Finalement, 77,4 % des répondantes ont indiqué que l’événement a fait augmenter leurs connaissances dans les domaines ciblés, alors qu’une proportion de 78,1 % a découvert de nouvelles professions dans ces domaines.

« Bien que les résultats du sondage nous enthousiasment, nous trouvons regrettable d’en arriver au même constat, après 20 ans. Nous sommes déterminées à déployer toute la puissance nécessaire pour court-circuiter le manque de main-d’œuvre féminine au sein de ces industries », indique Mme Nancy Rancourt, ingénieure et présidente du comité organisateur.

Avec une programmation chargée d’ateliers et de démonstrations spectaculaires, le 20e anniversaire de l’événement sera souligné en grande pompe. Les participantes auront notamment la chance de réaliser des fusions à bord de camions de fibre optique et d’assister à une présentation spéciale animée par les vulgarisateurs scientifiques Martin Carli (à Montréal) et Yannick Bergeron (à Québec).

Renseignements généraux

Cette année, l’événement se tiendra aux dates et aux endroits suivants :

  • Le 23 février 2019 : Québec, Université Laval
  • Le 16 mars 2019 : Montréal, École de technologie supérieure L’édition montréalaise de l’événement est présentée en collaboration avec l’École de technologie supérieure et Polytechnique Montréal
  • Le 16 mars 2019 : Sherbrooke, Université de Sherbrooke

Site Web officiel

Facebook Montréal : @LesFillesEtLesSciencesUnDuoElectrisantMontreal

Facebook Québec : @lesfillesetlessciencesquebec

Facebook Sherbrooke : @TechnoscienceEstrie

Pour un aperçu des ateliers offerts aux participantes lors de la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! », visionnez cette vidéo réalisée en 2018

À propos de l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! »

Créé par une poignée de femmes bénévoles, scientifiques, ingénieures, professionnelles et professeures, avec le soutien de Polytechnique Montréal, de l’École de technologie supérieure et de plusieurs entreprises des TIC, le concept de l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » a d’abord germé, en 1998, dans l’esprit de Mme Nathalie Beaudry. Alors responsable d’un programme d’embauche universitaire pour le service de l’exploitation du réseau chez Bell, celle-ci s’est vu confier le mandat de recruter une proportion de 50 % de femmes, un objectif qu’elle peina à atteindre en raison du faible taux de maind’œuvre féminine. Constatant que ses collègues étaient confrontées aux mêmes problématiques, Mme Beaudry a d’emblée proposé l’idée de se regrouper afin de mettre sur pied une activité destinée aux adolescentes, pour leur faire connaître la nature exacte des professions scientifiques et technologiques et les programmes d’études qui y mènent. En plus de permettre aux participantes de réfléchir aux stéréotypes qui influencent leurs choix d’études, cet événement leur offre une occasion unique de découvrir des formations et des carrières valorisantes, de participer à des ateliers passionnants et d’échanger avec des femmes de carrière inspirantes. L’événement comporte plusieurs volets; parmi lesquels des activités de groupe, des démonstrations et des ateliers, de même que deux sections conçues expressément pour les intervenants du milieu scolaire et pour les parents.

Commentaires