A look at educational continuity in the world

Across the world, educational continuity has been a challenge over the past year. Even if certain peculiarities are specific to each region and the sanitary measures have not been the same everywhere, the answers and the findings are very similar.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Across the world, educational continuity has been a challenge over the past year. Even if certain peculiarities are specific to each region and the sanitary measures have not been the same everywhere, the answers and the findings are very similar.

The Regional Digital Delegation for Education (DRNE) of the Bourgogne-Franche-Comté region, in France, recently held a seminar for its school executives about pedagogical continuity. The event was an opportunity to hear the testimony of school leaders from Spain, Egypt and Côte d'Ivoire. The École branchée was also invited to share the Quebec experience.

If, at the start of the pandemic, all the school teams lost their footing a little, it appears that they finally found new benchmarks in order to get through the crisis, while ensuring the best possible services to the students. At the Lycée Français International Molière in Madrid, Spain, the three watchwords were: reassure, organize and communicate.

During her presentation, Valérie Servisolle, the principal of the school, compared the school administrators to ship captains who have used three tools extensively during the last year: oil for the fluidity of communications, a welding machine for strengthen teamwork and a generator to recharge the batteries of those who were experiencing times of exhaustion. Of course, his presentation was meant to be figurative, but it expresses well the situation experienced in educational establishments.

Speaking of her role as principal, she quoted General de Villers: "You have to be an absorber of concern and a diffuser of confidence".

Chain the re-entries

In Egypt, Philippe Bidet, principal of the Balzac high school in Cairo, joked (but not quite) that he had experienced at least eight start-ups during the 2020-2021 school year. In short, his team has also chained the teaching models (distance, hybrid, presence) on numerous occasions.

This period was nevertheless "a vector of creativity and flexibility". It also made it possible to rethink communications in the school, in addition to simplifying links with parents. “Today, we are no longer in survival mode. We are in the perpetuation of new practices, ”he said.

Beware of overload

For his part, Jean-Claude Meunier-Lariotte, principal of the Jean Mermoz international high school in Abidjan, Ivory Coast, also had an eventful school year. If in our country access to the Internet was sometimes an issue for families, in its part of the country, frequent power cuts are the cause of many concerns for digital education.  

“Teachers express an 'overdose' of digital,” he said. Nevertheless, everyone is aware that digital technology must be included in educational practices today. Likewise, he is delighted that “the essentials of active pedagogy are finally being put forward”. Mr. Meunier now believes that "professional development will become a lever to find the balance" between new practices linked to digital technology and the need for disconnection expressed by some.

Now that the crisis is subsiding, the next challenges identified by the panelists are as follows: 

  • support for students with special needs and the necessary differentiation in teaching; 
  • the need to rethink evaluation; 
  • maintaining acquired knowledge in terms of communication, within teams and with parents.

At the end of the discussions, it emerged that benevolence, communication and collaboration have never been so present in schools around the world. Everyone was also of the opinion that we have witnessed an incredible rise in skills during the last one, and that this will have marked the end of resistance to digital technology. 

“The world of education had its nose in the handlebars. We must now look beyond. The walls of the school are melting, ”concluded Nathalie Bécoulet, the regional digital delegate for education in the Burgundy-Franche-Comté academic region.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Regard sur la continuité pédagogique dans le monde

À travers le monde, la continuité pédagogique a représenté un défi au cours de la dernière année. Même si certaines particularités sont propres à chaque région et que les mesures sanitaires n’ont pas été les mêmes partout, les réponses et les constats se ressemblent énormément.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

À travers le monde, la continuité pédagogique a représenté un défi au cours de la dernière année. Même si certaines particularités sont propres à chaque région et que les mesures sanitaires n’ont pas été les mêmes partout, les réponses et les constats se ressemblent énormément.

La Délégation régionale au numérique pour l’éducation (DRNE) de la région Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, en France, a récemment tenu un séminaire à l’intention de ses cadres scolaires au sujet de la continuité pédagogique. L’événement a été l’occasion d’entendre le témoignage de dirigeants d’établissements scolaires d’Espagne, d’Égypte et de la Côte d’Ivoire. L’École branchée avait aussi été invitée à partager l’expérience québécoise.

Si, au début de la pandémie, toutes les équipes scolaires ont un peu perdu pied, il apparaît qu’elles se sont finalement trouvé de nouveaux repères par la suite afin de traverser la crise, tout en assurant les meilleurs services possibles aux élèves. Au lycée français international Molière de Madrid, en Espagne, les trois mots d’ordre ont été les suivants : rassurer, organiser et communiquer.

Au cours de sa présentation, Valérie Servisolle, la proviseure du lycée, a comparé les directions scolaires à des capitaines de navire qui ont abondamment utilisé trois outils pendant la dernière année : de l’huile pour la fluidité des communications, une machine à souder pour renforcer le travail d’équipe et une génératrice pour recharger les batteries de ceux qui connaissaient des moments d’épuisement. Bien sûr, son exposé se voulait figuratif, mais il exprime bien la situation vécue dans les établissements d’enseignement.

Parlant de son rôle de proviseure, elle a cité le Général de Villers : « Il faut être absorbeur d’inquiétude et diffuseur de confiance ».

Enchaîner les rentrées

En Égypte, Philippe Bidet, proviseur du lycée Balzac du Caire, a dit à la blague (mais pas tout à fait) avoir vécu au moins huit rentrées au cours de l’année scolaire 2020-2021. Bref, son équipe a là aussi enchaîné les modèles d’enseignement (à distance, hybride, en présence) à de nombreuses reprises.

Cette période a néanmoins été « vectrice de créativité et de flexibilité ». Elle a aussi permis de repenser les communications dans l’école, en plus de simplifier les liens avec les parents. « Aujourd’hui, nous ne sommes plus en mode survie. Nous sommes dans la pérennisation de nouvelles pratiques », s’est-il réjouit.

Attention à la surcharge

De son côté, Jean-Claude Meunier-Lariotte, proviseur du lycée international Jean Mermoz à Abidjan, en Côte d’Ivoire, a aussi vécu une année scolaire mouvementée. Si chez nous l’accès à Internet était parfois un enjeu pour les familles, dans son coin de pays, ce sont les coupures d’électricité fréquentes qui causent bien des soucis pour l’enseignement par le numérique.  

« Des enseignants expriment une “overdose” du numérique », a-t-il dit. Néanmoins, tous sont conscients que le numérique doit être inclus dans les pratiques pédagogiques d’aujourd’hui. De même, il se réjouit que « les incontournables de la pédagogie active soient enfin mis de l’avant ». M. Meunier croit maintenant que « le développement professionnel deviendra un levier pour trouver l’équilibre » entre les nouvelles pratiques liées au numérique et le besoin de déconnexion exprimé par certains.

Maintenant que la crise se résorbe, les prochains défis identifiés par les panélistes sont les suivants : 

  • la prise en charge des élèves à besoins particuliers et la nécessaire différenciation pédagogique; 
  • le besoin de repenser l’évaluation; 
  • le maintien des acquis en termes de communication, à l’intérieur des équipes et avec les parents.

Au terme des échanges, il est ressorti que la bienveillance, la communication et la collaboration n’auront jamais été aussi présentes dans les écoles de partout dans le monde. Tous étaient aussi d’avis que nous avons assisté à une incroyable montée en compétences au cours de la dernière, et que cela aura signé la fin de la résistance face au numérique. 

« Le monde de l’éducation avait le nez dans le guidon. Nous devons maintenant regarder au-delà. Les murs de l’école fondent », a conclu Nathalie Bécoulet, la déléguée régionale au numérique pour l’éducation de la région académique Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!
Avis Facebook pour l’UE! Vous devez vous connecter pour afficher et publier des commentaires FB!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct