ADVERTISEMENT

Contest: Find a name for the 10 belugas adopted by the municipalities bordering the St.Lawrence

Elementary schools in Quebec are invited to participate in the competition to name the 10 belugas adopted by some 40 municipalities in Quebec as part of the Adopt a Beluga campaign. A great opportunity to integrate ICT!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Elementary schools in Quebec are invited to participate in the competition to name the 10 belugas adopted by some 40 municipalities in Quebec as part of the campaign. Adopt a beluga. A great opportunity to integrate ICT!

The objective of the competition is quite simply to make students aware of the protection of the beluga. Thus, to participate and find a name for the beluga in their area or in their municipality, the students will have to draw inspiration from the particular story of each of them, told in the family album which can be found on the website of the competition, notrebeluga.org.

First, the pupils will be able to familiarize themselves with the situation of the beluga thanks to a special file prepared by the magazine The Resourceful. Then, for each name proposed, the students will have to explain their choice. They can also submit a text, a drawing or an audio or video clip to express why it is important to save beluga whales. A guide for teachers, in which is the entry form, is proposed.

This is a great opportunity to integrate concepts of geography, natural sciences, languages and ICT! Start by researching information on the Web in the lab or in the classroom. Choose to accompany your class's suggestions with audio and / or video clips shot using the tools available at school or that your students can bring from home for the occasion. Complement their experience by making awareness posters for your school with an online application like Canva.com. Let them choose the tools with which they feel most comfortable and help each other: your experience will only be easier.

The competition is open to all students in French and English elementary schools in Quebec. The deadline to participate is March 20, 2015 and the names of the belugas adopted by the municipalities bordering the St.Lawrence will be unveiled on April 15.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Concours : Trouvez un nom aux 10 bélugas adoptés par les municipalités riveraines du Saint-Laurent

Les écoles primaires du Québec sont invitées à participer au concours visant à nommer les 10 bélugas adoptés par une quarantaine de municipalités du Québec dans le cadre de la campagne Adoptez un béluga. Une belle occasion d’intégrer les TIC!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Les écoles primaires du Québec sont invitées à participer au concours visant à nommer les 10 bélugas adoptés par une quarantaine de municipalités du Québec dans le cadre de la campagne Adoptez un béluga. Une belle occasion d’intégrer les TIC!

L’objectif du concours est tout simplement de sensibiliser les élèves à la protection du béluga. Ainsi, pour participer et trouver un nom au béluga de leur secteur ou de leur municipalité, les élèves devront s’inspirer de l’histoire particulière de chacun d’eux, racontée dans l’album de famille qui se trouve sur le site Web du concours, notrebeluga.org.

Dans un premier temps, les élèves pourront se familiariser avec la situation du béluga grâce à un dossier spécial préparé par le magazine Les Débrouillards. Ensuite, pour chaque nom proposé, les élèves devront expliquer leur choix. Ils peuvent aussi soumettre un texte, un dessin ou un clip audio ou vidéo pour exprimer pourquoi il est important de sauver les bélugas. Un guide à l’intention des enseignants, dans lequel se trouve le formulaire de participation, est proposé.

Voilà une belle opportunité d’intégrer des concepts de géographie, de sciences de la nature, de langues et les TIC! Débutez par la recherche d’information sur le Web au laboratoire ou en classe. Choisissez d’accompagner les suggestions de votre classe de capsules audio et/ou vidéo tournées à l’aide des outils disponibles à l’école ou que vos élèves pourront apporter de la maison pour l’occasion. Complétez leur expérience en fabriquant des affiches de sensibilisation pour votre école avec une application en ligne comme Canva.com. Laissez-les choisir les outils avec lesquels ils se sentent le plus à l’aise et s’entraider : votre expérience n’en sera que facilitée.

Le concours s’adresse à tous les élèves des écoles primaires francophones et anglophones du Québec. La date limite pour participer est le 20 mars 2015 et les noms des bélugas adoptés par les municipalités riveraines du Saint-Laurent seront dévoilés le 15 avril prochain.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :