ADVERTISEMENT

A global competition for video creativity in math and science

The global Breakthrough Prize “Junior Challenge” competition invites 13 to 18 year olds to submit original science videos until October 10, 2016.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The global Breakthrough Prize “Junior Challenge” competition invites 13 to 18 year olds to submit original science videos until October 10, 2016.

The Breakthrough Prize Foundation launched in early September 2016 the 2e edition of its annual junior challenge. Do you have students who are particularly gifted in math or science? The Breakthrough Junior Challenge is a global competition that aims to encourage the creative imagination on fundamental concepts in the science of life, physics and mathematics. A sort of video science fair! It is notably supported by the famous Khan Academy and funded, among others, by Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg.

The " Breakthrough Junior Challenge aims to encourage the next generation of scientists and leaders to help us visualize scientific principles in innovative and new ways, ”says Dr. Priscilla Chan, one of the organizers. “As we learned last year, the unique perspectives and new ideas of these students can teach us about the importance of complex scientific principles in our daily lives. "

See the launch video Breakthrough Junior Challenge.

And the website: www.breakthroughjuniorchallenge.org

 

how to participate to the contest?

To participate, young people aged 13 and 18 are invited to produce original videos of a maximum duration of 5 minutes. They should illustrate a concept or theory of the science of life, physics and mathematics. Submissions will be judged on the students' ability to explain complex scientific ideas in the most stimulating, illustrative and creative way. The deadline for submission is October 10, 2016. You must first register to participate in www.breakthroughjuniorchallenge.org.

 

Prizes for the winner, his teacher and his school!

A laureate will receive a scholarship worth 250,000 $. Also, the science teacher who inspired the winner will win 50,000 $. Finally, the winner's school will also receive a state-of-the-art scientific laboratory, worth 100,000 $.

 

Watch the winning video of last year's contest

Last year's winning submission was won by Ryan Chester, 18, of North Royalton High School in Ohio, USA. The video was titled "Here are some interesting ways to understand special theory of relativity and what it means over time" (Some Cool Ways to Understand the Special Theory of Relativity and What It Means About Time). She explores Albert Einstein's special theory of relativity. She was recognized by the jury for her ingenuity, clarity and creativity. The video gained worldwide appeal and received nearly four million views online.

 

Source: press release

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un concours mondial de créativité vidéo en maths et sciences

Le concours mondial Breakthrough Prize « Junior Challenge » invite les 13 à 18 ans à soumettre des vidéos scientifiques originales jusqu'au 10 octobre 2016.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Le concours mondial Breakthrough Prize « Junior Challenge » invite les 13 à 18 ans à soumettre des vidéos scientifiques originales jusqu’au 10 octobre 2016.

La Fondation Breakthrough Prize a lancé au début du mois de septembre 2016 la 2e édition de son défi junior annuel. Vous avez des élèves particulièrement doués en mathématiques ou en sciences? Le Breakthrough Junior Challenge est un concours mondial qui vise à encourager l’imagination créatrice sur les concepts fondamentaux de la science de la vie, de la physique et des mathématiques. Une sorte d’expo-sciences en vidéo! Il est notamment soutenu par la fameuse Khan Academy et financé, entres autres, par le fondateur de Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg.

Le « Breakthrough Junior Challenge vise à encourager la prochaine génération de scientifiques et de leaders à nous aider à visualiser les principes scientifiques par des moyens innovants et inédits », explique la Dre Priscilla Chan, l’une des organisatrices. « Tel que nous l’avons appris l’année dernière, les perspectives uniques et les nouvelles idées de ces étudiants peuvent nous enseigner sur l’importance de principes scientifiques complexes dans notre vie quotidienne. »

Voyez la vidéo de lancement du Breakthrough Junior Challenge.

Et le site Web : www.breakthroughjuniorchallenge.org

 

Comment participer au concours?

Pour participer, les jeunes de 13 et 18 ans sont invités à produire des vidéos originales d’une durée maximale de 5 minutes. Elles doivent illustrer un concept ou une théorie de la science de la vie, de la physique et des mathématiques. Les soumissions seront évaluées en fonction de la capacité des étudiants à expliquer des idées scientifiques complexes de la manière la plus stimulante, illustrative et créative. La date limite pour la soumission est le 10 octobre 2016. Il faut d’abord s’inscrire pour participer à www.breakthroughjuniorchallenge.org.

 

Des prix pour le gagnant, son prof et son école!

Un lauréat recevra une bourse d’études d’une valeur de 250 000 $. Aussi, le professeur de science qui aura inspiré le lauréat remportera 50 000 $. Enfin, l’établissement scolaire du lauréat recevra également un laboratoire scientifique à la fine pointe de la technologie, d’une valeur de 100 000 $.

 

Voyez la vidéo gagnante du concours de l’an dernier

La soumission gagnante de l’année dernière a été remportée par Ryan Chester, 18 ans, de l’école secondaire North Royalton High School, en Ohio (Etats-Unis). La vidéo était intitulée « Voici quelques façons intéressantes de comprendre la théorie de la relativité restreinte et ce que cela signifie sur le temps » (Some Cool Ways to Understand the Special Theory of Relativity and What It Means About Time). Elle explore la théorie de la relativité restreinte d’Albert Einstein. Elle a été reconnue par le jury pour son ingéniosité, sa clarté et sa créativité. La vidéo a connu un attrait mondial et reçu près de quatre millions de vues en ligne.

 

Source : communiqué

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :