"Click if you agree", a game to understand the issues of privacy on the Internet

MediaSmarts, Canada's center for media literacy and digital literacy, is launching a new game that aims to help kids ages 12 to 14 make informed decisions while online. Called Click If You Agree, the game teaches them the skills they need to read and understand legal policies on websites and in the software they use.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

MediaSmarts, the Canadian Center for Media Literacy and Digital Literacy, is launching a new game that aims to help 12 to 14 year olds make informed decisions while online. Called Click if you agree, the game teaches them the skills they need to read and understand legal policies on websites and in the software they use.

Different virtual scenarios require finding information in privacy policies and terms of service in order to decide what to do. To get closer to reality, they are inspired by current policies and conditions and written in quasi-legal language. The scenarios reflect common virtual environments popular with young people: a multi-player virtual game, a music store, a photo app, and social media.

Legal documents such as privacy policies (which deal with the use and sharing of personal data) and terms of use (which provide detailed terms of use and are sometimes referred to as "terms of service" ) can be intimidating, even for adults. By reviewing these documents, the user may agree to obligations or a use of their personal information with which they do not feel very comfortable.

“Our research continually shows that the websites, apps and online games used by young Canadians are extremely commercial. So they need to know exactly what they're agreeing to when they sign up to socialize and play, says Jane Tallim, co-executive director of MediaSmarts. Without realizing it, children could provide photos, locations and other sensitive confidential data. "

Young people can play the game online Click if you agree in the company of their parents, who may also need help building their skills in understanding these dense and frequent documents. Teachers can determine how well the game fits into their lesson plans using the charts in the teacher's guide that accompanies it.

 

Source: press release

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

« Clique si tu es d’accord », un jeu pour comprendre les enjeux de la vie privée sur Internet

HabiloMédias, le centre canadien d'éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique, lance un nouveau jeu qui vise à aider les jeunes de 12 à 14 ans à prendre des décisions éclairées lorsqu'ils sont en ligne. Appelé Clique si tu es d'accord, le jeu leur enseigne les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour lire et comprendre les politiques juridiques sur les sites Web et dans les logiciels qu'ils utilisent.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

HabiloMédias, le centre canadien d’éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique, lance un nouveau jeu qui vise à aider les jeunes de 12 à 14 ans à prendre des décisions éclairées lorsqu’ils sont en ligne. Appelé Clique si tu es d’accord, le jeu leur enseigne les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour lire et comprendre les politiques juridiques sur les sites Web et dans les logiciels qu’ils utilisent.

Différents scénarios virtuels demandent de trouver des renseignements dans les politiques de protection de la vie privée et les conditions d’utilisation afin de décider de ce qu’ils doivent faire. Pour s’approche de la réalité, ils sont inspirés des politiques et des conditions courantes et écrits dans un langage quasi-juridique. Les scénarios reflètent des environnements virtuels communs populaires auprès des jeunes : un jeu virtuel à multiples joueurs, un magasin de musique, une application de photos, et un média social.

Les documents juridiques comme les politiques de protection de la vie privée (qui traitent de l’utilisation et du partage de données personnelles) et les conditions d’utilisation (lesquelles fournissent des conditions détaillées d’utilisation et sont parfois appelées « conditions de service ») peuvent être intimidants, même pour les adultes. En examinant ces documents, l’utilisateur pourrait accepter des obligations ou une utilisation de ses renseignements personnels avec lesquelles il ne se sent pas très à l’aise.

« Nos recherches démontrent continuellement que les sites Web, les applications et les jeux en ligne utilisés par les jeunes Canadiens sont extrêmement commerciaux. Ils doivent donc savoir exactement ce à quoi ils consentent lorsqu’ils s’inscrivent pour socialiser et jouer, dit Jane Tallim, codirectrice exécutive de HabiloMédias. Sans le réaliser, les enfants pourraient fournir des photos, des lieux et d’autres données confidentielles sensibles. »

Les jeunes peuvent jouer au jeu en ligne Clique si tu es d’accord en compagnie de leurs parents, lesquels pourraient également avoir besoin d’aide pour renforcer leurs compétences pour comprendre ces documents denses et fréquents. Les enseignants peuvent déterminer dans quelle mesure le jeu s’intègre à leurs plans de leçon à l’aide des tableaux contenus dans le guide de l’enseignant qui l’accompagne.

 

Source : communiqué

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :