Posted in:

This digital that has a wide back!

In this opinion piece, Patrick Giroux, professor of educational technologies, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi, Jacques Cool, educational consultant, speaker and trainer, and Stéphane Allaire, professor of educational practices, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi, provide three arguments which can be useful in reaction to any position unreservedly condemning the use of digital technology in education.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Add to favorites (0)

By Patrick Giroux, professor of educational technologies, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi;
Jacques Cool, education consultant, speaker and trainer;
and Stéphane Allaire, professor of educational practices, University of Quebec at Chicoutimi

Digital education is regularly the subject of disputes, even attacks. They come in various forms. A recent letter from the readers' mail (La Presse, January 17, 2022) attacks distance education specifically and digital more generally. She speaks of “the failure of virtual education”, stating that the tech-savvy approach has hit a wall and that digital is associated with negative effects.

From the outset, we recognize that digital education can only be associated with successes. Nevertheless, rather than throwing it out the window, we believe it is necessary to reflect on the situation, to analyze it as a whole in order to understand it globally, and to take a closer look at the scientific literature cited.

The potential of digital technology for teaching and learning cannot be reduced to tools or an analysis that ignores their context of use. Indeed, a classroom is a complex system that involves a few dozen brains in turmoil, in addition to organizational characteristics specific to each school service center and school. This system also involves interactions with tools, including digital tools, which have distinct characteristics and whose mastery varies from one actor to another. To add to the complexity, this system is currently immersed in a socio-politico-economic-sanitary context of unprecedented change. And, just to drive home the point of complexity, the actors involved can have legitimate emotional reactions, which are likely to have an effect on learning.

That being said, three arguments stand out against any position that unreservedly condemns the use of digital technology in education or any form of education that uses digital technology.

1. The school has the responsibility of educating young people and preparing them to live in today's world.

First, there is the essential link uniting the school to society and the school's mission. These arguments have already been developed by two educational advisers from RÉCIT (La Press, January 21, 2022). School is a melting pot of society, which has the particular responsibility of training young people and preparing them for life in today's world. Whatever may be said, digital technology is a key and transforming issue for 21st century society, as are other global phenomena such as climate and geopolitical change. The school has little to do with it, but can it ignore it and overlook a responsibility to educate about the possibilities, challenges and issues that come, in this case, with digital technology?

“In a context where digital is inducing major social, economic and technological changes, the development of skills takes on a broader and more complex dimension, because we must above all prepare for change, and not only respond to it. (Digital Action Plan, Quebec Ministry of Education, 2018)

2. The teacher has a key role to play, that of the architect who deploys the right strategies at the right time.

Secondly, there is the fact that the role of the teacher and other educational stakeholders cannot be ignored. For some reason, some interpret the situation as if they had little or no role to play! Because indeed, in the educational system described above, the teacher, in particular, plays the key role of the architect. He decides how the students will be put in contact with such content or challenge. He also decides how and when he will intervene and give feedback, as well as how to guide and direct the students. The range of strategies that the teacher can use is vast. A well-known one is the frontal and masterful approach. In a somewhat caricatural way, the teacher says that 2 + 2 is 4, asks the class to repeat and continues until it is firmly anchored in each brain. Without condemning it head on, we must recognize that we know the limits of this approach... So many researchers and school workers explore other strategies on a daily basis to offer different and richer learning activities, both in terms of motivation than learning.

Let's go back to the critique of distance education and digital technology. When an educator notices that online teaching has not gone to their satisfaction and concludes that the use of digital technology in the classroom must be reduced, they are making a logical error. Who decided to use digital like this? Has the digital tool imposed itself? In a class that uses a workbook rather than digital, if a student fails, is the workbook blamed? More broadly, who decided whether or not to offer training to the teacher regarding these tools? In what forms and with what recognition? Who financed the purchase of equipment? Who imposed the programs? The teacher works in an ecosystem that he only partially controls. But regardless, the search for culprits is unproductive and will do little for change and the improvement of education. It also risks demotivating key players in our society who work daily for the well-being and education of our children. Better to consider other courses of action.

3. Research should not so much study “if” digital technology contributes to learning, but rather “how” it can do it better. 

The third argument stems from the second and relates more specifically to research. We often quote this or that research that says that digital does not contribute to learning. However, there are also others who conclude that digital can contribute positively. Why? First, because we often forget or neglect the role of the teacher! The question to ask is not so much "does digital technology promote learning?" » than « how can digital technology promote learning? The digital does not have a will of its own. It is the great architect, the teacher, accompanied by other contributors, who decides whether or not to use digital technology, depending on the intended pedagogical intention. And it is therefore important that he knows how to do it! It is also important to take into account the organizational characteristics with which he must deal and which sometimes constrain the uses he (or his student) can make of digital technology. With this in mind, the reading of research works changes. We realize that in experiment Y, we tested the combination of context, tool and strategy XYZ and that this did not have the expected result, while in experiment X, we rather updated I tried the ABC combination of context, tool and strategy and this time it worked better. This level of detail is often drowned out in groupings of studies called meta analyzes or overlooked by readers. 

In our eyes, the conclusions to be drawn from the pandemic and the difficulties encountered with regard to digital technology and distance learning are all other than those that are akin to a condemnation. Can we first realize that many teachers were not sufficiently trained with regard to digital technology, and especially distance education, a very different context from face-to-face teaching where some digital tools are sometimes used? ? A number of research studies have taught us that before thinking about the appropriate educational use of technology, one must first acquire minimal technical skills, then integrate them judiciously into one's personal practices. To this end, a large number of teachers have had to make up for a delay for two years and, what is more, in disaster. They were nevertheless able to accentuate their mastery and their confidence in the face of distance learning and digital technology.

We must then realize that many young Quebecers do not have at home all the tools necessary for distance learning (Internet connection, computer, books, etc.) and that not all families could offer the same child support (because the parents worked away from home rather than at home, because there were four children at home and only two parents, etc.). Nor can we overlook the challenge for students to move, overnight, from a context of organized captivity (the four walls of a class where the majority of activities are timed by the teacher) to a context where they need to be more independent... 

The condemnation of digital is an easy way. It reminds those who were afraid of the consequences of the arrival of the printing press. The alternative, certainly more demanding, consists in pursuing actions to, for example, offer professional development to teachers, improve the organizational conditions that impact their work, pursue research in education to understand how to use the available tools effectively and work to improve the conditions of Quebec families.

Don't tell us it's the fault of digital! He didn't decide anything...

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

ANNONCE
Classé dans :

Ce numérique qui a le dos large!

Dans ce texte d'opinion, Patrick Giroux, professeur en technologies éducatives, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Jacques Cool, consultant en éducation, conférencier et formateur, et Stéphane Allaire, professeur en pratiques éducatives, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, apportent trois arguments qui peuvent être utiles en réaction à toute position condamnant sans réserve l’usage du numérique en éducation.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

🚀

Par Patrick Giroux, professeur en technologies éducatives, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi;
Jacques Cool, consultant en éducation, conférencier et formateur;
et Stéphane Allaire, professeur en pratiques éducatives, Université du Québec à Chicoutimi

Le numérique en éducation fait régulièrement l’objet de contestations, voire d’attaques. Elles se présentent sous diverses formes. Une récente lettre du courrier des lecteurs (La Presse, 17 janvier 2022) s’en prend à l’enseignement à distance de façon spécifique et au numérique de façon plus générale. Elle parle de « l’échec de l’enseignement virtuel », en déclarant que l’approche technophile a heurté un mur et que le numérique est associé à des effets négatifs.

D’entrée de jeu, nous reconnaissons que le numérique en éducation ne peut être associé qu’à des réussites. Néanmoins, plutôt que de le passer à la trappe, il nous semble nécessaire de réfléchir à la situation, de l’analyser dans son ensemble pour la comprendre globalement ainsi que de jeter un œil plus pointu à la littérature scientifique citée.

Le potentiel du numérique pour enseigner et apprendre ne peut être réduit à des outils ni à une analyse qui fait fi de leur contexte d’usage. En effet, une salle de classe est un système complexe qui implique quelques dizaines de cerveaux en ébullition, en plus de caractéristiques organisationnelles propres à chaque centre de services scolaire et école. Ce système implique aussi des interactions avec des outils, dont des outils numériques, qui ont des caractéristiques distinctes et dont la maîtrise varie d’un acteur à l’autre. Pour ajouter à la complexité, ce système baigne actuellement dans un contexte socio-politico-économico-sanitaire d’une mouvance sans précédent. Et, question de bien enfoncer le clou de la complexité, les acteurs impliqués peuvent avoir des réactions émotionnelles légitimes, lesquelles sont susceptibles d’avoir un effet sur l’apprentissage.

Ceci étant dit, trois arguments s’imposent à toute position condamnant sans réserve l’usage du numérique en éducation ou toute forme d’éducation exploitant le numérique.

1. L’école a la responsabilité de former les jeunes et de les préparer à vivre dans le monde actuel.

Il y a d’abord le lien essentiel unissant l’école à la société et la mission de l’école. Ces arguments ont déjà été développés par deux conseillers pédagogiques du RÉCIT (La Presse, 21 janvier 2022). L’école est un creuset de la société, qui a notamment la responsabilité de former les jeunes et de les préparer à vivre dans le monde actuel. Quoiqu’on en dise, le numérique est un enjeu clé et transformateur de la société du 21e siècle, tout comme d’autres phénomènes globaux tels les changements climatiques et géopolitiques. L’école y est pour peu, mais peut-elle en faire fi et passer outre une responsabilité d’éducation aux possibilités, défis et enjeux qui viennent, en l’occurrence, avec le numérique?

« Dans un contexte où le numérique induit d’importantes mutations sur les plans social, économique et technologique, le développement de compétences prend une dimension plus vaste et complexe, car nous devons avant tout préparer le changement, et non seulement y répondre. » (Plan d’action numérique, Ministère de l’Éducation du Québec, 2018)

2. L’enseignant(e) a un rôle clé à jouer, celui de l’architecte qui déploie les bonnes stratégies au bon moment.

En second lieu, il y a le fait que l’on ne peut faire fi du rôle de l’enseignant et des autres intervenants éducatifs. Pour une raison qui nous échappe, certains interprètent la situation comme s’ils avaient peu, voire pas de rôle à jouer! Parce qu’en effet, dans le système éducatif décrit plus haut, l’enseignant, en particulier, joue le rôle clé de l’architecte. Il décide de la façon dont les élèves seront mis en contact avec tel contenu ou tel défi. Il décide aussi de la façon et du moment où il va intervenir et donner de la rétroaction, ainsi que de la façon de guider et d’orienter les élèves. L’ampleur des stratégies auxquelles l’enseignant peut recourir est vaste. Une bien connue est l’approche frontale et magistrale. De façon un peu caricaturale, l’enseignant dit que 2 + 2 font 4, demande à la classe de répéter et poursuit jusqu’à ce que ce soit bien ancré dans chaque cerveau. Sans la condamner à bras raccourcis, il faut reconnaître que l’on connaît les limites de cette approche… Alors plusieurs chercheurs et intervenants des milieux scolaires explorent quotidiennement d’autres stratégies pour offrir des activités d’apprentissage différentes et plus riches, autant en termes de motivation que d’apprentissage.

Revenons à la critique de l’enseignement à distance et du numérique. Quand un éducateur constate que l’enseignement en ligne ne s’est pas déroulé à sa satisfaction et en conclut qu’il faut diminuer l’usage du numérique en classe, il commet une erreur de logique. Qui a décidé d’utiliser le numérique ainsi? L’outil numérique s’est-il imposé? Dans une classe qui utilise un cahier d’exercices plutôt que le numérique, si un élève échoue, blâme-t-on le cahier? Plus largement, qui a décidé d’offrir ou non de la formation à l’enseignant en regard de ces outils? Sous quelles formes et avec quelle reconnaissance? Qui a financé l’achat de matériel? Qui a imposé les programmes? L’enseignant travaille dans un écosystème qu’il ne contrôle que partiellement. Mais peu importe, la recherche de coupables est improductive et fera bien peu pour le changement et l’amélioration de l’éducation. Elle risque, de plus, de démotiver des acteurs essentiels pour notre société qui travaillent quotidiennement au bien-être et à l’éducation de nos enfants. Mieux vaut envisager d’autres pistes d’action.

3. La recherche ne devrait pas tant étudier « si » le numérique contribue à l’apprentissage, mais plutôt « comment » il peut mieux le faire. 

Le troisième argument découle du deuxième et concerne plus spécifiquement la recherche. On cite souvent telle ou telle recherche qui dit que le numérique ne contribue pas à l’apprentissage. Pourtant, on en trouve aussi d’autres qui concluent que le numérique peut y contribuer positivement. Pourquoi? D’abord parce qu’on oublie ou néglige souvent le rôle de l’enseignant! La question à poser n’est pas tant « est-ce que le numérique favorise l’apprentissage? » que « comment le numérique peut-il favoriser l’apprentissage? »  Le numérique n’a pas de volonté propre. C’est le grand architecte, l’enseignant, accompagné d’autres intervenants, qui décide de l’usage ou non du numérique, selon l’intention pédagogique visée. Et il importe donc qu’il sache comment faire! Il importe aussi de tenir compte des caractéristiques organisationnelles avec lesquelles il doit composer et qui contraignent parfois les usages qu’il (ou son élève) peut faire du numérique. En ayant cela en tête, la lecture des travaux de recherche change. On s’aperçoit que dans l’expérimentation Y, on a testé la combinaison de contexte, d’outil et de stratégie XYZ et que cela n’a pas eu le résultat escompté alors que dans l’expérimentation X, on a plutôt mis à l’essai la combinaison de contexte, d’outil et de stratégie ABC et que, cette fois, cela a mieux fonctionné. Ce niveau de détails est souvent noyé dans les regroupements d’études appelés méta analyses ou négligés par les lecteurs. 

À nos yeux, les conclusions à tirer de la pandémie et des difficultés rencontrées en regard du numérique et de l’enseignement à distance sont toutes autres que celles qui s’apparentent à une condamnation. Peut-on d’abord réaliser que plusieurs enseignants n’étaient pas assez formés en regard du numérique, et tout particulièrement de l’enseignement à distance, un contexte fort différent de l’enseignement en présence où l’on utilise parfois quelques outils numériques? Nombre de travaux de recherche nous ont appris qu’avant de penser à l’usage pédagogique adéquat de la technologie, on doit d’abord acquérir des compétences techniques minimales, puis les intégrer judicieusement à ses pratiques personnelles. À cet effet, un grand nombre d’enseignants ont dû pallier un retard depuis deux ans et, qui plus est, en catastrophe. Ils ont néanmoins pu accentuer leur maîtrise et leur confiance face à l’enseignement à distance et au numérique.

Il faut ensuite réaliser que plusieurs jeunes Québécois n’ont pas à la maison tous les outils nécessaires pour faire de l’apprentissage à distance (connexion à Internet, ordinateur, livres, etc.) et que toutes les familles ne pouvaient pas offrir le même soutien aux enfants (parce que les parents travaillaient à l’extérieur plutôt qu’à la maison, parce qu’il y avait quatre enfants à la maison et seulement deux parents, etc.). On ne peut négliger non plus le défi pour les élèves de passer, du jour au lendemain, d’un contexte de captivité organisée (les quatre murs d’une classe où la majorité des activités sont cadencées par l’enseignant) à un contexte où ils doivent faire davantage preuve d’autonomie… 

La condamnation du numérique est une voie facile. Elle rappelle ceux qui avaient peur des conséquences de l’arrivée de l’imprimerie. L’alternative, certes plus exigeante, consiste à poursuivre les actions pour, par exemple, offrir du développement professionnel aux enseignants, améliorer les conditions organisationnelles qui impactent leur travail, poursuivre la recherche en éducation pour comprendre comment utiliser efficacement les outils disponibles et travailler à améliorer les conditions des familles québécoises.

Qu’on ne nous dise pas que c’est la faute du numérique! Il n’a décidé de rien…

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.