ADVERTISEMENT

Advantages and difficulties linked to tablets in the classroom: 50 teachers confide in them (continued)

Continuation of the small survey of teachers concerning tablets in the classroom. Today, we analyze the answers to the question: What is the biggest difficulty you have encountered when implementing tablets in the classroom?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Continuation of the small survey of teachers concerning tablets in the classroom. Today, we analyze the answers to the question: What is the biggest difficulty you have encountered when implementing tablets in the classroom?

(continuation of yesterday's article)

 

Question 2: What is the greatest difficulty that you have encountered when installing tablets in the classroom, regardless of the number?

At the top of the list, and obviously, comes the accessibility of the wireless network and the problems related to too low Internet speed. Network-related difficulties make backing up jobs complicated or sometimes impossible. Those who do not have access to the network clearly feel deprived of an important variable in the use of tablets. Without Internet access, several applications are not functional, the communication possibilities of the students are limited, and these teachers are obliged to bring the tablets to their homes to manage the applications and the sharing of the students' productions.

Second, anything to do with rules of use seems to cause some serious headaches for some teachers. Many of them have to constantly monitor their students who often branch off from the task at hand in favor of a less educational use of the tablet, such as sending messages or playing games.

Finally, the educational and technical support does not seem quite up to date, given the novelty of this tool. Integrating tablets into the classroom requires a huge investment of time and posture change on the part of teachers, and teachers would appreciate being better supported in finding interesting applications and creating educational activities. The desire to project the screen of the tablets on the TNI is present among the majority of teachers, however the environment seems less ready to offer the necessary assistance to install the software and the peripheral hardware which allow it.

Reading these testimonials, we understand that these teachers show a real desire to change their practice and benefit their students. We thank them for this sharing imbued with truth and through which we can better understand this desire to motivate their students using the tablets, despite the moments of discouragement that may arise.

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Brigitte Léonard
Brigitte Leonard
Brigitte Léonard teaches elementary cycle 1 at Campus Mont-Tremblant, at the CS des Laurentides. Passionate about the world of technology and recognized as an “Apple Distinguished Teacher” (ADE), she shares her discoveries and work on her blog: http://brigitteprof.brigitteleonard.com

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Avantages et difficultés liés aux tablettes en classe : 50 enseignants se confient (suite)

Suite de la petite enquête auprès d'enseignants concernant les tablettes en classe. Aujourd’hui, nous analysons les réponses à la question : Quelle est la plus grande difficulté que vous ayez rencontrée lors de l'implantation des tablettes en classe?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Suite de la petite enquête auprès d’enseignants concernant les tablettes en classe. Aujourd’hui, nous analysons les réponses à la question : Quelle est la plus grande difficulté que vous ayez rencontrée lors de l’implantation des tablettes en classe?

(suite de l’article d’hier)

 

Question 2 : Quelle est la plus grande difficulté que vous ayez rencontrée lors de l’implantation des tablettes en classe, peu importe le nombre?

En tête de liste, et de façon évidente, vient l’accessibilité au réseau sans fil et les problèmes reliés à un débit Internet trop faible. Les difficultés liées au réseau rendent la sauvegarde des travaux compliquée voire parfois impossible. Ceux qui n’ont pas accès au réseau se sentent clairement privés d’une variable importante dans l’utilisation des tablettes. Sans accès à Internet, plusieurs applications ne sont pas fonctionnelles, les possibilités de communication des élèves sont limitées, et ces enseignants se voient dans l’obligation d’apporter les tablettes à leur domicile pour gérer les applications et le partage des productions des élèves.

Deuxièmement, tout ce qui a trait aux règles d’utilisation semble causer des casse-tête importants à certains enseignants. Plusieurs d’entre eux doivent surveiller constamment leurs élèves qui, souvent, bifurquent de la tâche demandée au profit d’une utilisation moins pédagogique de la tablette, comme l’envoi de messages ou l’utilisation de jeux.

Finalement, le soutien pédagogique et technique ne semble pas tout à fait au point, vu la nouveauté de cet outil. L’intégration des tablettes en classe demande un investissement énorme de temps et de changement de posture de la part des enseignants, et ceux-ci apprécieraient être mieux soutenus pour la recherche d’applications intéressantes et la création d’activités pédagogiques. Le désir de projeter l’écran des tablettes sur le TNI est présent chez la majorité des enseignants, cependant le milieu semble moins prêt à offrir l’aide nécessaire pour installer les logiciels et le matériel périphérique qui le permettent.

À la lecture de ces témoignages, nous comprenons que ces enseignants font preuve d’un réel désir de changer leur pratique et d’en faire profiter leurs élèves. Nous les remercions pour ce partage empreint de vérité et à travers lequel nous pouvons mieux comprendre ce désir de motiver leurs élèves à l’aide des tablettes, malgré les moments de découragement qui peuvent survenir.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Brigitte Léonard
Brigitte Léonard enseigne au 1er cycle du primaire au Campus Mont-Tremblant, à la CS des Laurentides. Passionnée du monde de la technologie et reconnue comme « Enseignante distinguée Apple » (ADE), elle partage ses découvertes et travaux sur son blogue : http://brigitteprof.brigitteleonard.com

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct