ADVERTISEMENT

How to help students develop learning strategies

It is a fact, the more young people advance in their schooling, the more the complexity of the concepts and the workload increase. At the time of an exam, they may be confused by the amount of material to be revised. Here is how a teacher decided to support her students in the development of learning strategies.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

It is a fact, the more young people advance in their school career, the more the complexity of the concepts and the workload increase. When studying for an exam, they may find themselves confused by the amount of material to review. Developing study strategies can be learned! A teacher has decided to support her students in this process.

Annick Martel is a science teacher in the third year of secondary school at l'Horizon high school in Lévis. This year is decisive for students who start the 2e cycle. In the sciences in particular, the workload is at a high level and, above all, new for many students.

“Students are usually used to reading their notes several times to prepare for an exam. At this stage of the school career, it no longer works. They have to develop other tips for studying. Knowing how to study is not innate, you have to show them these tips ”.

For several years now, Ms. Martel has been supporting her students more systematically to present them with different study strategies (flash cards, door memory aid, word-image association, mental maps, etc.). She saw the difference in their results. This encouraged her to persevere in this direction and even to structure an official workshop which she offered for the first time this year to her students. 

This workshop was also in tune with the context of hybrid teaching. “Students and teachers, we have lost our bearings with the decrease in contacts. Before, pupils in difficulty, I could follow them more closely. Now I'm losing sight of them a bit, but I don't want to let them down. I tell myself that by giving them tips to study, they will be better equipped to succeed. ”

In the end, she hopes that the young people can experiment with different study strategies and find the ones that work best for them. Also, these achievements will then follow them throughout their school career, whether teaching is done online or at school.

Ms. Martel's inspirations 

Carrefour education also suggests you the webinar given by Steve Masson at PRECA.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Comment aider les élèves à développer des stratégies d’apprentissage

Publié le :

C’est un fait, plus les jeunes avancent dans leur parcours scolaire, plus la complexité des notions et la charge de travail augmentent. Au moment d’un examen, ils peuvent être désemparés devant la quantité de matière à réviser. Voici comment une enseignante a décidé d’accompagner ses élèves dans le développement de stratégies d'apprentissage.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

C’est un fait, plus les jeunes avancent dans leur parcours scolaire, plus la complexité des notions et la charge de travail augmentent. Au moment d’étudier en vue d’un examen, ils peuvent se retrouver désemparés devant la quantité de matière à réviser. Développer des stratégies d’études, ça s’apprend! Une enseignante a décidé d’accompagner ses élèves dans cette démarche.

Annick Martel est enseignante de sciences en troisième année du secondaire à l’École secondaire l’Horizon, à Lévis. Cette année est déterminante pour les élèves qui entament le 2e cycle. En sciences particulièrement, la charge de travail atteint un niveau élevé et, surtout, nouveau pour bien des élèves.

« Les élèves ont généralement l’habitude de lire leurs notes plusieurs fois pour se préparer à un examen. Rendu à cette étape du parcours scolaire, ça ne fonctionne plus. Ils doivent développer d’autres trucs pour réviser. Savoir étudier, ce n’est pas inné, il faut leur montrer ces trucs ».

Depuis quelques années, Mme Martel accompagne de façon plus systématique ses élèves pour leur présenter différentes stratégies d’études (cartes éclairs, aide-mémoire à portes, association de mots-images, cartes mentales, etc.). Elle a vu la différence dans leurs résultats. Cela l’a encouragé à persévérer dans cette voie et même à structurer un atelier officiel qu’elle a offert pour la première fois cette année à ses élèves. 

Cet atelier tombait d’ailleurs à point avec le contexte d’enseignement hybride. « Élèves et enseignants, nous avons perdu nos repères avec la diminution des contacts. Avant, les élèves en difficulté, je pouvais les suivre de plus près. Maintenant, je les perds un peu de vue, mais je ne veux pas les laisser tomber. Je me dis qu’en leur donnant des trucs pour étudier, ils seront mieux outillés pour réussir.»

Au final, elle espère que les jeunes pourront expérimenter différentes stratégies d’étude et trouver celles qui leur conviennent le mieux. Aussi, ces acquis les suivront ensuite pendant tout leur parcours scolaire, que l’enseignement se fasse en ligne ou à l’école.

Les inspirations de Mme Martel 

Carrefour éducation vous suggère ausso le webinaire donné par Steve Masson au PRECA.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!