ADVERTISEMENT

Support your young person in their plans for the future

The current situation is not without effect on young people and on the planning of their plans for the future. Here are some resources to help parents support their child during this important time in their life.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
By Mireille Moisan, co
OCCOQ

The current situation is not without effect on young people and on the planning of their plans for the future. These projects, linked to anxiety-provoking choices for some, find themselves in a storm of uncertainties that upsets young people as much as their parents. However, help is available to support her child during this important period of his life, despite the adverse effects of the pandemic.

"Sensitive" choices

From the end of primary school and beyond secondary studies, young people are called upon to make choices in line with their interests and aptitudes. They can be difficult to do because of the impact they have on their academic progress. These choices also affect personal aspects that are sometimes difficult to identify, such as their strengths, values, professional aspirations, etc. Making choices takes time and a necessary introspection.

Despite the uncertainty, the majority of young people will soon have to determine projects that are close to their hearts and in which they can flourish and live their adult life to the fullest. The role of parents is important in the orientation process for young people, even more so in these difficult times. That being said: parents do not carry the choice of young people on their shoulders! It is impossible to have answers to all the questions and it is normal to admit it and talk about it… Acknowledging it is also a step in the right direction!

A few tips

Even if at the moment the societal discourse is rather dark, it is possible to shed some light on it. As a parent, there are constructive strategies that can be used to help young people see things more clearly. Here are some examples.

  • Take the time to listen : daily activities are conducive to discussions: in the car, cleaning the dishes, watching TV, your youngster talks to you and informs you about what he likes, what he doesn't like, his passions, his interests. These conversations give clues to elements of his personality, his aspirations and his concerns.
  • Reflect to him his good moves, his strengths : your youngster passed a difficult exam? Does he miss his sport? Found a job? Talk it over! More than ever, it is important to give positive and constructive feedback, while recognizing that the situation is not easy for anyone. It is very rewarding for a young person to remember what he is good at and you are the best person to express his qualities, his strengths, his aptitudes.
  • Encourage her to explore : Although the traditional open house activities no longer take place face-to-face, it is possible to view videos or program presentations on most post-secondary institutions' websites. Likewise, several internships in the workplace can be carried out in compliance with health guidelines. Mentoring and exploring job areas is easily done online. Exploring helps fuel your youngster's thinking. Also, discussions with you can be very interesting and meaningful about the choices to be made.
  • Show understanding : young people have their own interests and make choices that do not always correspond to what we would like for them. In times of crisis, these choices are even more uncertain and do not necessarily rest on as much thought as possible. If your youngster is interested in a profession that you don't like, it is important not to denigrate this choice. Rather, find out what attracts him, discuss it openly. You can also search the web for the said profession to find out more.
  • Be patient : some young people have no idea what they want to do later and that's quite normal! It is for this reason that exploration is important, it is normal AND HEALTHY for a young person to seek, to change his mind, to question himself. This process helps him get to know himself better. And since the perfect choice does not exist, let us swap the notion of "choice" by that of " projects " in the plural! Which is much more constructive and less restrictive or threatening.

In short, use the means available to help your child identify a little more who he is. And there is help! The guidance counselor is the ideal professional to integrate this exploration into a process of self-discovery.

The guidance counselor: a plus in times of uncertainty

Guidance counselors accompany students on their journey to help them become aware of their aptitudes, personality traits, values and interests, in order to enable them to make appropriate choices and find their place in society. It is never too late to consult, clarify everything or readjust the educational path.

In recent weeks, the means to reach young people have multiplied in several schools and post-secondary institutions. Whether through the creation of digital tools, online questionnaires, virtual experiences, videoconferences or others, guidance counselors are there to support young people and their parents.

A site to help parents in Quebec

The Order of Guidance Counselors of Quebec (OCCOQ) has designed Espaceparents.org, a site to equip parents on this subject. An online guidance counselor can also answer their questions and concerns directly on this site.

Some examples of websites to support virtual exploration.

Carrefour education also offers Landmarks, the official site for educational and professional information.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Accompagner son jeune dans ses projets d’avenir

La situation actuelle n’est pas sans effet sur les jeunes et sur la planification de leurs projets d’avenir. Voici quelques ressources pour aider les parents à accompagner leur enfant pendant cette période importante de sa vie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Par Mireille Moisan, c.o.
OCCOQ

La situation actuelle n’est pas sans effet sur les jeunes et sur la planification de leurs projets d’avenir. Ces projets, reliés à des choix anxiogènes pour certains, se trouvent dans une tempête d’incertitudes qui bouleverse les jeunes autant que leurs parents. Toutefois, de l’aide existe pour accompagner son enfant pendant cette période importante de sa vie, malgré les effets indésirables de la pandémie.

Des choix « sensibles »

Dès la fin du primaire et au-delà des études secondaires, les jeunes sont appelés à faire des choix en lien avec leurs intérêts et aptitudes. Ils peuvent être difficiles à faire en raison de l’impact qu’ils ont sur leur cheminement scolaire. Aussi ces choix touchent à des aspects personnels et parfois difficilement identifiables, tels que leurs forces, leurs valeurs, leurs aspirations professionnelles, etc. Faire des choix demande du temps et une introspection nécessaire.

Malgré l’incertitude, la majorité des jeunes devront prochainement déterminer des projets qui leur tiennent à cœur et dans lesquels ils pourront s’épanouir et vivre pleinement leur vie d’adulte. Le rôle des parents est important dans le cheminement d’orientation du jeune, encore plus en ces temps difficiles. Ceci étant dit : les parents ne portent pas le choix des jeunes sur leurs épaules! Il est impossible d’avoir réponse à toutes les questions et c’est normal de se l’avouer et d’en parler… Le reconnaître est d’ailleurs un pas dans la bonne direction!

Quelques astuces

Même si en ce moment le discours sociétal est plutôt sombre, il est possible d’y mettre un peu de lumière. En tant que parent, on peut utiliser des stratégies constructives pour aider les jeunes à y voir plus clair. Voici quelques exemples.

  • Prendre le temps d’écouter : les activités quotidiennes sont propices à des discussions : en voiture, en essuyant la vaisselle, en écoutant la télé, votre jeune vous parle et vous informe sur ce qu’il aime, ce qu’il n’aime pas, ses passions, ses intérêts. Ces conversations donnent des indices sur des éléments de sa personnalité, sur ses aspirations et ses préoccupations.
  • Lui refléter ses bons coups, ses forces : votre jeune a réussi un examen difficile? Il s’ennuie de son sport? A trouvé un emploi? Parlez-en! Plus que jamais, il est important de faire des commentaires positifs et constructifs, tout en admettant que la situation n’est facile pour personne. Il est très gratifiant pour un jeune de se rappeler en quoi il est bon et vous êtes la personne la mieux placée pour lui exprimer ses qualités, ses forces, ses aptitudes.
  • L’encourager à explorer : bien que les activités traditionnelles de portes ouvertes n’aient plus lieu en présentiel, il est possible de visionner des vidéos ou des présentations des programmes sur la plupart des sites web des établissements postsecondaires. De même, plusieurs stages en milieu de travail sont réalisables dans le respect des consignes sanitaires. Le mentorat et l’exploration des domaines d’emploi sont facilement réalisables en ligne. Explorer permet d’alimenter la réflexion de votre jeune. Aussi, les discussions en votre compagnie peuvent s’avérer très intéressantes et significatives sur les choix à prendre.
  • Se montrer compréhensif : les jeunes ont des intérêts qui leur sont propres et font des choix qui ne correspondent pas toujours à ce que l’on voudrait pour eux. En période de crise, ces choix sont encore plus incertains et ne reposent pas nécessairement sur une réflexion aussi approfondie qu’elle pourrait l’être. Si votre jeune s’intéresse à une profession qui ne vous plaît pas, il est important de ne pas dénigrer ce choix. Informez-vous plutôt de ce qui l’attire, discutez-en en faisant preuve d’ouverture. Vous pouvez également chercher sur le web ladite profession pour en savoir davantage.
  • Se montrer patient : certains jeunes n’ont aucune idée de ce qu’ils souhaitent faire plus tard et c’est tout à fait normal! C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que l’exploration est importante, il est normal ET SAIN pour un jeune de chercher, de changer d’idée, de se questionner. Cette démarche l’aide à mieux se connaître. Et puisque le choix parfait n’existe pas, troquons la notion de « choix » par celle de « projets » au pluriel! Ce qui est beaucoup plus constructif et moins contraignant ou menaçant.

Bref, utilisez les moyens accessibles pour aider votre enfant à identifier un peu plus qui il est. Et il y a de l’aide! Le conseiller d’orientation est le professionnel tout indiqué pour intégrer cette exploration dans un processus de découverte de soi.

Le conseiller d’orientation : un plus en période d’incertitude

Les conseillers d’orientation accompagnent les élèves dans leur cheminement pour les aider à prendre conscience de leurs aptitudes, traits de personnalité, valeurs et intérêts, afin de leur permettre de faire des choix appropriés et de trouver leur place au sein de la société. Il n’est jamais trop tard pour consulter, clarifier le tout ou réajuster le cheminement scolaire.

Au cours des dernières semaines, les moyens pour rejoindre les jeunes se sont multipliés dans plusieurs écoles et établissements postsecondaires. Que ce soit par la création d’outils numériques, de questionnaires en ligne, d’expériences virtuelles, de vidéoconférences ou autres, les conseillers d’orientation sont là pour soutenir les jeunes et leurs parents.

Un site pour aider les parents du Québec

L’Ordre des conseillers et conseillères d’orientation du Québec (OCCOQ) a conçu Espaceparents.org, un site pour outiller les parents à ce sujet. Un conseiller d’orientation en ligne peut également répondre à leurs questions et préoccupations directement sur ce site.

Quelques exemples de sites Internet pour soutenir l’exploration virtuelle.

Carrefour éducation vous propose également Repères, le site officiel de l’information scolaire et professionnelle.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!