5 tips for creating your educational YouTube channel

With distance education, more and more teachers are producing video clips. Have you thought about using YouTube to stream them? Here are 5 tips to do it effectively!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

More and more teachers are producing small video clips. Many are still looking for the best way to make them available to their students. YouTube can be the solution. And no need to turn into a professional “youtuber” to reach the target.

Several reasons lead teachers to produce videos: explaining concepts, sharing precise information, explaining an approach, exercises to be carried out, giving feedback on assignments, etc. Most of the time, these are capsules produced informally and intended exclusively for their students. 

On the other hand, sending these capsules by email or sharing them on collaboration platforms (such as Teams, Classroom, etc.) can quickly become complex due to the size limits of files and attachments.

“Creating a YouTube channel is a simple and effective option for teachers. Young people already spend a lot of time watching videos on this platform. They know her well. And contrary to what many fear, the videos will not be accessible to all users, unless you want to! », Indicates Maxime Laflamme, educational advisor at École branchée.

Thus, it is sufficient to share with students and / or their parents the URL of the channel, the link of a reading list or the link to the videos to the play.

Maxime also offers five tips for a well-organized educational channel. 

1. Create playlists 

In order to avoid that your videos are presented only as a long jumble list, it is better to create playlists (playlists) to organize videos by topic, subject or other. This greatly simplifies the consultation afterwards.

2. Video visibility: Not listed

When downloading a video, it is possible to select the option “Not listed” as the visibility choice. Thus, the video will be accessible only to those who have the link to the video. It will not be accessible to YouTube users doing research, for example.

3. Write your own subtitles or generate them automatically

Subtitles can be generated automatically when downloading a video. You must then choose the language of these subtitles. For more personalization, it is possible to write your own subtitles. These make it possible to contribute to the accessibility of a video for all. 

4. Turn off ads to keep students focused

Ads are abundant on YouTube and sometimes very disparate. It may be a good idea to turn off the ads to prevent students from seeing more or less relevant ones that might distract them from the purpose of the video.

5. Create moments of interaction in the video using the "comment" function

It is possible to draw attention to specific segments of a video or simply divide it by chapter. To do this, just add a public comment in which we enter the precise time to pay attention during the video (for example: "1:34"). Automatically, this time indication will become clickable in the commentary and the students will be able to easily and quickly go to the necessary place in the video. For this function to be possible, you must keep the Comments option enabled when creating a video.

Need some inspiration?

Also, to get started easily on YouTube, Carrefour education offers:

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

5 astuces pour créer votre chaîne YouTube pédagogique

Avec l'enseignement à distance, de plus en plus d’enseignants produisent des capsules vidéo. Avez-vous pensé à utiliser YouTube pour les diffuser? Voici 5 astuces pour le faire efficacement!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

De plus en plus d’enseignants produisent de petites capsules vidéo. Plusieurs cherchent encore la meilleure façon de les rendre disponibles pour leurs élèves. YouTube peut devenir la solution. Et nul besoin de se transformer en « youtubeur » professionnel pour atteindre la cible.

Plusieurs raisons amènent les enseignants à produire des vidéos : expliquer des notions, partager des informations précises, expliquer une démarche, des exercices à réaliser, faire une rétroaction sur des travaux, etc. Il s’agit, la plupart du temps, de capsules réalisées de façon informelle et destinées exclusivement à leurs élèves. 

Par contre, l’envoi de ces capsules par courriel ou leur partage dans les plateformes de collaboration (telles que Teams, Classroom, etc.) peut devenir rapidement complexe en raison des limites de poids des fichiers et des pièces jointes.

« La création d’une chaîne YouTube représente une option simple et efficace pour les enseignants. Les jeunes passent déjà beaucoup de temps à visionner des vidéos sur cette plateforme. Ils la connaissent bien. Et contrairement à ce que plusieurs craignent, les vidéos ne seront pas accessibles à tous les utilisateurs, sauf si vous le souhaitez! », indique Maxime Laflamme, conseiller pédagogique à l’École branchée.

Ainsi, il suffit de partager aux élèves et/ou à leurs parents le lien URL de la chaîne, le lien d’une liste de lecture ou le lien vers les vidéos à la pièce.

Maxime propose d’ailleurs cinq astuces pour qu’une chaîne pédagogique bien organisée. 

1. Créer des listes de lecture 

Afin d’éviter que vos vidéos soient présentées seulement comme une longue liste pêle-mêle, il est préférable de créer des listes de lecture (playlists) pour organiser les vidéos par thème, par matière ou autres. Cela simplifie énormément la consultation par la suite.

2. Visibilité des vidéos : Non répertoriée

Lors du téléchargement d’une vidéo, il est possible de sélectionner l’option « Non répertoriée » comme choix de visibilité. Ainsi, la vidéo sera accessible uniquement à ceux qui ont le lien vers la vidéo. Elle ne sera pas accessible pour les utilisateurs de YouTube qui font des recherches, par exemple.

3. Écrire ses propres sous-titres ou les générer automatiquement

Les sous-titres peuvent être générés automatiquement lors du téléchargement d’une vidéo. Il faut alors choisir la langue de ces sous-titres. Pour plus de personnalisation, il est possible de rédiger vos propres sous-titres. Ceux-ci permettent de contribuer à l’accessibilité d’une vidéo pour tous. 

4. Désactiver les publicités pour garder la concentration des élèves

Les publicités sont abondantes sur YouTube et parfois très disparates. Il peut être judicieux de désactiver les publicités afin d’éviter que les élèves en voient de plus ou moins pertinentes qui risqueraient de les déconcentrer de l’objectif de la vidéo.

5. Créer des moments d’interaction dans la vidéo grâce à la fonction « commentaire »

Il est possible d’attirer l’attention sur des segments précis d’une vidéo ou de simplement la diviser par chapitre. Pour ce faire, il suffit d’ajouter un commentaire public dans lequel on inscrit le temps précis où il faut porter attention durant la vidéo (par exemple : « 1:34 »). Automatiquement, cette indication de temps deviendra cliquable dans le commentaire et les élèves pourront facilement et rapidement se rendre à l’endroit nécessaire dans la vidéo. Pour que cette fonction soit possible, il faut garder l’option Commentaires activée lors de la création d’une vidéo.

Besoin d’inspiration?

Aussi, pour démarrer facilement sur YouTube, Carrefour éducation vous propose :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct