ADVERTISEMENT

3 strategies for developing citizenship in the digital age at school

At the opening of the Digital Education Summit, Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis and Alexandre Lanoix proposed three strategies for developing citizenship in the digital age at school. We present them to you.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

At the opening of the Digital Education Summit, Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis and Alexandre Lanoix proposed three strategies for developing citizenship in the digital age at school. We present them to you.

Our Digital education summit opened on May 5 with a conference by Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis of the RÉCIT National Service, Human Development field, and Alexandre Lanoix of the Université de Montréal. 

From the beginning, they reminded us of the importance, as citizens, of taking an interest in the issues of the digital world in order to stay in control. "We need to be aware of how it works, we need to be on the lookout for new things. Digital is not in a parallel universe. It's real life."

For young people, it has never been easier to be active and engaged citizens. Thanks to social networks, content is easily shared, ideas circulate quickly, for better or for worse... This is why it is now necessary to accompany young people in the development of their citizenship.

"There must be a dialogue between the school's culture and that of the student. The school must help young people build their vision of the world, develop their power of action and structure their identity," said Alexandre Lanoix.

Quote from the introduction: "No one educates others, no one educates himself alone, men educate themselves together through the world." Paulo Freire

How can schools help young people develop citizenship in the digital age?

Here are the 3 strategies proposed by the speakers.

  1. Accept that you don't have all the answers
    • This involves:
      1. to educate instead of prohibit, 
      2. model behaviors with students (e.g., develop search strategies with them).
    • The objective: That they become citizens capable of thinking for themselves, creative in finding solutions, open and willing to question themselves.
  2. Develop a digital culture
    • This involves: 
      1. develop numerical skills (with reference to the Framework for Digital Competence),
      2. to discuss digital issues with them.
    • The goal: That they become curious citizens, aware of the impacts of digital uses on the community, capable of creating, collaborating, communicating and solving problems with digital technology.
  3. Invite students to the table
    • This means:
      1. involve students in decisions (e.g., co-create classroom rules with them)
      2. offer them (real) choices (to develop a sense of responsibility and autonomy)
    • The goal: That they become citizens who are capable of making decisions and taking responsibility for them, who are able to take part in social deliberations, who are convinced that they can make a difference.

"School is a privileged place to exercise one's power of action. Let's give young people that opportunity," said Annie Turbide.

"We are all learning, adults and children alike, we are developing our citizenship in the digital age, together", concluded Alexandre Lanoix.

The opening event was streamed live on Facebook. It is possible to watch it again.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

3 stratégies pour développer la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique à l’école

En ouverture du Sommet du numérique en éducation, Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis et Alexandre Lanoix ont proposé trois stratégies pour développer la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique à l’école. On vous les présente.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

En ouverture du Sommet du numérique en éducation, Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis et Alexandre Lanoix ont proposé trois stratégies pour développer la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique à l’école. On vous les présente.

Le Sommet du numérique en éducation s’est ouvert le 5 mai dernier par une conférence de  Alexandre Chenette, Annie Turbide, Marjorie Paradis du Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne, et Alexandre Lanoix de l’Université de Montréal. 

Dès le départ, ils ont rappelé l’importance, comme citoyen, de s’intéresser aux enjeux de l’univers numérique afin de garder le contrôle. « Nous devons être conscients de la façon dont ça fonctionne, nous devons être à l’affût des nouveautés. Le numérique n’est pas dans un univers parallèle. C’est la vraie vie. »

Pour les jeunes, il n’a jamais été aussi facile d’être des citoyens actifs et engagés. Grâce aux réseaux sociaux, le contenu se partage facilement, les idées circulent rapidement, pour le meilleur et pour le pire… C’est pourquoi il est désormais nécessaire d’accompagner les jeunes dans le développement de leur citoyenneté.

« Il doit y avoir un dialogue entre la culture de l’école et celle de l’élève. L’école doit aider les jeunes à construire leur vision du monde, à développer leur pouvoir d’action et structurer leur identité », a fait valoir Alexandre Lanoix.

Citation en exergue : « Personne n’éduque autrui, personne ne s’éduque seul, les hommes s’éduquent ensemble par l’intermédiaire du monde. » Paulo Freire

Comment l’école peut-elle aider les jeunes à développer la citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique?

Voici les 3 stratégies proposées par les conférenciers.

  1. Accepter de ne pas détenir toutes les réponses
    • Cela implique :
      1. d’éduquer au lieu d’interdire, 
      2. de modéliser des comportements avec les élèves (ex. développer des stratégies de recherche avec eux).
    • L’objectif : Qu’ils deviennent des citoyens capables de penser par eux-mêmes, créatifs pour trouver des solutions, ouverts et enclins à se remettre en question.
  2. Développer une culture du numérique
    • Cela implique : 
      1. de développer des habiletés numériques (en se référant au Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique),
      2. d’aborder les enjeux du numérique avec eux.
    • L’objectif : Qu’ils deviennent des citoyens curieux, conscients des impacts des usages du numérique sur la collectivité, capables de créer, collaborer, communiquer et résoudre des problèmes avec le numérique.
  3. Inviter les élèves à la table
    • Cela veut dire :
      1. impliquer les élèves dans les décisions (ex. cocréer les règles de vie de la classe avec eux),
      2. leur offrir de (vrais) choix (visant à développer le sens des responsabilités et l’autonomie).
    • L’objectif : Qu’ils deviennent des citoyens aptes à prendre des décisions et d’en assumer la responsabilité, capables de prendre part aux délibérations sociales, qui ont la conviction qu’ils peuvent changer les choses.

« L’école est un lieu privilégié pour exercer son pouvoir d’action. Donnons cette possibilité aux jeunes », a affirmé Annie Turbide.

« Nous sommes tous en train d’apprendre, adulte comme enfant, nous développons notre citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique, ensemble », a conclu Alexandre Lanoix.

L’activité d’ouverture a été diffusée en direct sur Facebook. Il est possible de la revisionner.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :