ADVERTISEMENT

3 examples of virtual schools that work

"Virtual school is not for everyone, but let's face it, school is not for everyone either," says Marie-Claude Harnois, executive director of Étude Secours, an online educational service that allows high school students to complete certain core courses. She participated in the presentation of various virtual school projects at the most recent Digital Education Summit.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

"Virtual school is not for everyone, but let's face it, school is not for everyone either," says Marie-Claude Harnois, executive director of Étude Secours, an online educational service that allows high school students to complete certain core courses. She participated in the presentation of various virtual school projects at the most recent Digital Education Summit.

A block of conferences of the 2022 edition of the Digital education summit was reserved for the presentation of virtual school projects. Three distinct initiatives were shared.

In Nova Scotia

The Conseil scolaire acadien provincial (CSAP), which includes Nova Scotia's 22 French-language schools, has offered a virtual school since 2012. The virtual school offers more course choices for students in grades 11 and 12. All courses in the virtual school are available to students in all schools. 

In the schools, a room is reserved for students taking virtual school courses. Registered students can alternate between "regular" courses and online courses. Their timetable is constructed accordingly. For example, 33 % of CSAP students in grades 11 and 12 are taking online courses.

The virtual school team is composed of seven teachers, two designers and one coordinator. Lucie Michaud and Éric Therrien, both designers of digital resources for the school, presented the functioning of the school.

"The courses are prepared in advance for the teachers and are available in the Moodle platform. The courses are conducted synchronously, but the teachers have a facilitating role. Students are expected to progress through the course independently and refer to the teacher when needed. The teachers also conduct individual interviews with students to ensure that they are progressing," they explained.

The key elements

  • Universal Design for Learning (UDL) from the start for all content (video, text, infographics, etc.)
  • Varied pedagogical approaches (investigation, playfulness...)
  • Language and culture sensitive pedagogy (Did you know..., image)
  • Flexibility (guides, checkpoints: you should be there)
  • No exam (accumulation of learning traces)
  • Students participate in course improvement (survey students on course feedback)
  • Contents 100 % digital

Success stories

  • Retention rate (students and teachers)
  • Empowerment of students in their learning - guided learning
  • The success rate
  • A good knowledge of the students
  • The pandemic did not affect school operations
  • All CSAP schools are familiar with the hybrid model.

The presentation

In British Columbia

On the other side of Canada, Florence Pionetti teaches languages (French and Spanish) completely asynchronously to high school students at Abbotsford Virtual School (AVS). Her students include athletic students who cannot attend regular classes, and others who wish to progress more quickly or who have anxiety in the classroom. The school also serves youth from the Northwest Territories and the Yukon who do not have access to French and Spanish classes in their communities.

It relies on communication, diversity of resources and choice of activities to engage them in their learning. Like the CSAP virtual school, it has adopted the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) for lesson preparation.

Winning practices for :

  • Engagement through communication
    • The teacher introduces herself via video.
    • Students must also introduce themselves via video.
    • Meeting opportunities are offered (in person or online, one-on-one or in groups), in addition to mid-semester interviews.
    • The teacher must make her presence felt on an ongoing basis.
  • Commitment through education
    • The language program is based on oral and written, linguistic and cultural skills.
    • The variety and choice of activities (content and format).
    • Students can have their voices heard (opinion and creativity).
    • Collaborative activities are organized.
  • Inclusive and universal course design
    • Differentiation and adaptation are important.
    • Internet access is variable and must be taken into account (provide resources that can be printed).
    • Audiovisual aspects bring value (but consider the previous point).
    • Individualized and personalized monitoring of each student's progress.
    • Support from the learner's "community".

The presentation

In Quebec

Étude Secours is an online educational service that allows high school students to complete certain basic courses (such as French, English, math, science, history). The organization has been officially recognized by the Quebec Ministry of Education as Virtual school for secondary 4 and 5 studentsThis allows the school to deliver the final assessments for the core subjects itself, rather than through partner school service centres. This allows the school to deliver the final assessments for the compulsory subjects itself rather than going through partner school service centers. 

It is possible to start learning at any time of the year. Courses are offered in synchronous or asynchronous format. Schools can contact the organization to register students and students can also register themselves. A link is maintained with the pool school at all times.

During the presentation at the Digital Education Summit, Marie-Claude Harnois presented an overview ofESRA, the new platform developed by Étude Secours. It offers students, teachers and parents a unique place to follow the training and the progress of the learners. Content is available for both asynchronous and synchronous courses. Discussion forums, chat and messaging functions, and a personalized student portfolio are also available.

The ESRA platform is currently being tested by some 1,000 young Quebecers. It will eventually be deployed to all virtual school students. A research team from the University of Sherbrooke is following the young people as they go through the process in order to draw conclusions. 

Constants

Through the three examples, some constants emerge. When it comes to the virtual school, teachers become more like guides and coaches. They must be in discovery mode and listen to their students, in addition to being flexible and creative. Availability is also an important factor.

On the student side, motivation can sometimes be difficult to maintain. "The teacher has to feed the student online to keep them active and motivated. Normally, a student who is well supported succeeds," concluded Ms. Harnois.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

3 exemples d’écoles virtuelles qui fonctionnent

« L’école virtuelle n’est pas faite pour tous les élèves, mais reconnaissons que l’école en présence n’est pas faite pour tous non plus », soutient Marie-Claude Harnois, directrice générale d’Étude Secours, un service éducatif en ligne qui permet aux jeunes du secondaire de compléter certains cours de base. Elle a participé à la présentation de différents projets d’écoles virtuelles à l’occasion du plus récent Sommet du numérique en éducation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

« L’école virtuelle n’est pas faite pour tous les élèves, mais reconnaissons que l’école en présence n’est pas faite pour tous non plus », soutient Marie-Claude Harnois, directrice générale d’Étude Secours, un service éducatif en ligne qui permet aux jeunes du secondaire de compléter certains cours de base. Elle a participé à la présentation de différents projets d’écoles virtuelles à l’occasion du plus récent Sommet du numérique en éducation.

Un bloc de conférences de l’édition 2022 du Sommet du numérique en éducation était réservé à la présentation de projets d’écoles virtuelles. Trois initiatives bien distinctes ont été partagées.

En Nouvelle-Écosse

Le Conseil scolaire acadien provincial (CSAP), qui regroupe les 22 écoles de langue française de la Nouvelle-Écosse, offre une école virtuelle depuis 2012. Celle-ci permet d’offrir plus de choix de cours aux élèves de 11e et 12e année. Tous les cours de l’école virtuelle sont disponibles pour les élèves de toutes les écoles. 

Dans les établissements scolaires, un local est réservé aux élèves qui suivent des cours de l’école virtuelle. Les élèves inscrits peuvent suivre en alternance des cours « réguliers » et des cours en ligne. Leur grille-horaire est construite en conséquence. Ainsi, 33 % des élèves de 11e et 12e année du CSAP suivent des cours en ligne.

L’équipe de l’école virtuelle est composée de sept enseignants, de deux concepteurs et d’une coordination. Lucie Michaud et Éric Therrien, tous deux concepteurs de ressources numériques pour l’école, ont présenté le fonctionnement de l’école.

« Les cours sont préparés à l’avance pour les enseignants et sont disponibles dans la plateforme Moodle. Les cours se déroulent de façon synchrone, mais les enseignants ont un rôle de facilitateur. Les élèves doivent progresser dans le parcours de manière autonome et se réfèrent à l’enseignant en cas de besoin. Les enseignants réalisent aussi des entrevues individuelles avec les élèves pour s’assurer de la progression de leurs apprentissages », ont-ils expliqué.

Les éléments-clés

  • Conception universelle des apprentissages (CUA) dès le départ pour tout le contenu (vidéo, texte, infographie, etc.)
  • Approches pédagogiques variées (enquête, ludification…)
  • Pédagogie sensible à la langue et à la culture (Savais-tu…, image)
  • Flexibilité (guides, points de contrôle : tu devrais être rendu là)
  • Pas d’examen (accumulation de traces d’apprentissage)
  • L’élève participe à l’amélioration des cours (sondage aux élèves sur la rétroaction par rapport aux cours)
  • Contenu 100 % numérique

Les succès

  • Le taux de rétention (élèves et enseignants)
  • La responsabilisation des élèves dans leur apprentissage – apprentissage guidé
  • Le taux de réussite
  • Une bonne connaissance des élèves
  • La pandémie n’a pas affecté le fonctionnement de l’école
  • Toutes les écoles du CSAP connaissent le modèle hybride.

La présentation

En Colombie-Britannique

À l’autre bout du Canada, Florence Pionetti enseigne les langues (français et espagnol) de façon complètement asynchrone à des élèves de niveau secondaire à l’Abbotsford Virtual School (AVS). Des élèves sportifs qui ne peuvent suivre les cours réguliers, et d’autres qui souhaitent progresser plus rapidement ou qui éprouvent de l’anxiété en salle de classe, font partie de ses élèves. Elle accueille également des jeunes des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Yukon qui n’ont pas accès à des classes de français et d’espagnol dans leur milieu.

Elle mise sur la communication, la diversité des ressources et le choix des activités proposées pour les engager dans leurs apprentissages. Tout comme l’école virtuelle du CSAP, elle a adopté la conception universelle des apprentissages pour la préparation des leçons.

Des pratiques gagnantes pour :

  • L’engagement par la communication
    • L’enseignante se présente par vidéo.
    • Les élèves doivent aussi se présenter par vidéo.
    • Des occasions de rencontres sont proposées (en personne ou en ligne, individuelles ou en groupe), en plus d’entrevues de mi-semestre.
    • L’enseignante doit faire sentir sa présence de façon continue.
  • L’engagement par la pédagogie
    • Le programme de langues est basé sur les compétences orales et écrites, linguistiques et culturelles.
    • La variété et le choix d’activités (contenu et format).
    • Les élèves peuvent faire entendre leur voix (opinion et créativité).
    • Des activités collaboratives sont organisées.
  • La conception de cours inclusive et universelle
    • La différenciation et l’adaptation sont importantes.
    • Il faut tenir compte de l’accès à Internet qui est variable (prévoir des ressources qui s’impriment).
    • Les aspects audiovisuels apportent de la valeur (mais tenir compte du point précédent).
    • Le suivi individualisé et personnalisé du progrès de chaque élève.
    • Le soutien de la « communauté » de l’apprenant.

La présentation

Au Québec

Étude Secours est un service éducatif en ligne qui permet aux jeunes du secondaire de compléter certains cours de base (tels que français, anglais, mathématique, sciences, histoire). L’organisation a été reconnue officiellement par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec comme école virtuelle pour les élèves de 4e et 5e secondaire, à l’exclusion du cours d’Éducation physique et à la santé. Cela lui permet de dispenser elle-même les évaluations finales pour les matières obligatoires plutôt que de passer par des centres de services scolaires partenaires. 

Il est possible de commencer l’apprentissage à tout moment de l’année. Les cours sont offerts en formule synchrone ou asynchrone. Les écoles peuvent contacter l’organisation pour inscrire des élèves et ceux-ci peuvent aussi s’inscrire eux-mêmes. Un lien est maintenu avec l’école bassin en tout temps.

Lors de la présentation au Sommet du numérique en éducation, Marie-Claude Harnois a présenté un aperçu d’ESRA, la nouvelle plateforme développée par Étude Secours. Celle-ci offre aux élèves, aux enseignants et aux parents un lieu unique pour suivre les formations et la progression des apprenants. Les contenus y sont disponibles pour les cours asynchrones et les cours synchrones y sont dispensés. Des forums de discussion, des fonctions de clavardage et de messagerie, un portfolio personnalisé de l’élève y sont aussi offerts.

La plateforme ESRA est actuellement expérimentée par quelque 1 000 jeunes québécois. Elle sera éventuellement déployée pour tous les élèves de l’école virtuelle. Une équipe de recherche de l’Université de Sherbrooke suit d’ailleurs les jeunes dans leur parcours afin d’en tirer des conclusions. 

Des constantes

À travers les trois exemples, des constantes ressortent. Lorsqu’il s’agit de l’école virtuelle, les enseignants deviennent davantage des guides et des accompagnateurs. lls doivent se placer en mode découverte et écoute avec leurs élèves, en plus de faire preuve de flexibilité et de créativité. La disponibilité est également un facteur important.

Du côté des élèves, la motivation peut parfois être difficile à maintenir. « L’enseignant doit nourrir l’élève en ligne pour qu’il reste actif et motivé. Normalement, un élève qui est bien accompagné réussit », a conclu Mme Harnois.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :