ADVERTISEMENT

3 steps to successful backward planning

The beginning of the school year means lesson planning for teachers. Have you ever thought about starting with assessment? Backward planning would be appropriate to promote learning (Wiggins & McTighe, 1998). This planning should focus on three main areas: the assessment objectives (learning targets) to be achieved, the assessment methods to be chosen, and the instructional methods to be used.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (1)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Constance Denis, Doctor of Education and Pedagogical Consultant in Technology Integration, Université de Sherbrooke, and Stéphanie Loiselle, Director of Pedagogical Development, Zelexio.

The beginning of the school year means lesson planning for teachers. Have you ever thought about starting with assessment? Backward planning would be appropriate to promote learning (Wiggins & McTighe, 1998). This planning should focus on three main areas: the assessment objectives (learning targets) to be achieved, the assessment methods to be chosen, and the instructional methods to be used.

In pedagogical alignment (Biggs, 1995), we start with the learning targets and move towards the pedagogical methods. We question the objectives to be reached and how to teach so that the learners can reach them. We then ask ourselves about the evaluation methods. How to evaluate in a manner consistent with the pedagogical methods used?  

Backward planning mixes up this order by focusing attention on assessment procedures before pedagogical ones. The idea here is to put assessment at the service of learning. We need to think about sustainable learning before anything else. It is essential to think about how to assess content in order to ensure and promote this sustainability.

Imagine a teacher showing learners laboratory techniques in a theoretical manner and the assessment associated with that theory being a manipulative activity. It would be very difficult to argue that this planning is coherent and that the instructional modalities properly prepare learners for the assessment. Assessment is not an end in itself, but a tool for learning. It allows us to establish the strengths and challenges of each individual in relation to their progress. It is trivial that assessment is in line with the instructional modalities. 

And how can we ensure such coherence? By planning the evaluation methods before the pedagogical methods. Here are some ideas for backward planning:

Step 1: Identify learning targets

What do you want students to remember about your course? If you were to run into them in 2, 5, or 10 years, what would you like them to remember? What are the essential skills?

If you consider a particular item to be a must-have, it makes sense to include it in your evaluation and teaching activities, which is why it should be planned first. Your essentials should also be linked to the learning objectives. You can add enrichment elements to your courses, but should you necessarily evaluate everything?

Step 2: Determine your evaluation procedures

What evidence do you have that allows you to make a professional judgment about whether training targets have been met? Is this evidence reliable and objective? What choices do you have for assessment (interview, creative project, essay, etc.)? Can you give learners the opportunity to choose their assessment modality from a range to make the assessment enjoyable and effective? In what situation will the student have to implement the learning in an authentic context?

Regardless of the decisions made regarding assessment modalities, it is fundamental to construct descriptive assessment rubrics before planning instructional modalities (Leroux & Mastracci, 2015). How do we distinguish between acceptable and excellent achievement? What are the essential elements and those that distinguish a marked competence? 

By constructing your grids in advance, it will be easier to make the evaluation criteria and observable indicators known to the learners. They will have a greater sense of control over their evaluation and will be more motivated (Viau, 1997). While you are building your descriptive grids, start thinking about the feedback associated with this evaluation. How can you suggest ways to take them further? By thinking about these last aspects in advance, your teaching will be influenced by your reflection and your pedagogical alignment will be more coherent.

Step 3: Determine the teaching methods

How do we consciously divide the teaching time and weighting of each essential element? What could be seen at home as a prerequisite? How do we implement instructional differentiation to include the whole class? What elements should be taught because of relevance but not necessarily assessed? What activities should be selected to promote the best possible learning?

As a result of the first two planning steps, your instructional vision is clearer. You know exactly where to take learners and how to check their progress. All that remains is to think about how to get there. The important thing is consistency in teaching. If you have determined that the assessment will be a case study, it is essential to include learning activities involving case studies. Each activity should have a purpose and if it doesn't, why keep it in your planning? Cut out the extraneous and focus on the relevance of each instructional modality.

Now that you've started thinking about your planning, get the tools you need to make your job easier. The platform Zelexio allows the construction of dynamic evaluation grids adapted to your needs, sharing them with learners, self-assessment and more. 

References :

Wiggins, G. & McTighe, J. (1998). What is backward design? In Understanding by Design (1 ed., pp. 7-19). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Merrill Prentice Hall. Retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20160721163755/http://www.fitnyc.edu/files/pdfs/Backward_design.pdf

La planification à rebours, Virtuose Éducation, https://virtuoseeducation.com/blog/2021/04/10/planification-a-rebours/

In addition :

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

3 étapes pour réussir sa planification à rebours

Début d’année scolaire rime avec planification de cours chez le personnel enseignant. Avez-vous déjà pensé à commencer par l’évaluation? Une planification à rebours serait de mise pour favoriser l’apprentissage (Wiggins et McTighe, 1998).  Cette planification doit se faire sur trois axes principaux : les objectifs d’évaluation (cibles d’apprentissage) à atteindre, les modalités d’évaluation à choisir et les modalités (méthodes) pédagogiques à préconiser.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (1)
ANNONCE

Par Constance Denis, docteure en éducation et conseillère pédagogique en intégration des technologies, Université de Sherbrooke, et Stéphanie Loiselle, directrice du développement pédagogique, Zelexio.

Début d’année scolaire rime avec planification de cours chez le personnel enseignant. Avez-vous déjà pensé à commencer par l’évaluation? Une planification à rebours serait de mise pour favoriser l’apprentissage (Wiggins et McTighe, 1998).  Cette planification doit se faire sur trois axes principaux : les objectifs d’évaluation (cibles d’apprentissage) à atteindre, les modalités d’évaluation à choisir et les modalités (méthodes) pédagogiques à préconiser.

Dans l’alignement pédagogique (Biggs, 1995), on part des cibles d’apprentissage pour aller vers les modalités pédagogiques. On se questionne sur les objectifs à atteindre et comment enseigner pour que les apprenants puissent les atteindre. On se questionne ensuite sur les modalités d’évaluation. Comment évaluer de manière cohérente avec les modalités pédagogiques mises de l’avant?  

La planification à rebours mélange cet ordre en focalisant l’attention sur les modalités d’évaluation avant celles pédagogiques. L’idée ici est de mettre l’évaluation au service de l’apprentissage. On doit penser aux apprentissages durables avant toute chose. Il est primordial de réfléchir à la manière d’évaluer un contenu afin d’assurer et de favoriser cette durabilité.

Imaginez un enseignant qui montre à ses apprenants les techniques de laboratoire de manière théorique et que l’évaluation associée à cette théorie est une activité de manipulation. Il serait très difficile d’affirmer que cette planification est cohérente et que les modalités pédagogiques préparent correctement les apprenants à l’évaluation. L’évaluation n’est pas une finalité, mais bien un outil d’apprentissage. Elle permet d’établir les forces et les défis de chacun en lien avec leur progression. Il est trivial que l’évaluation soit dans la même lignée que les modalités pédagogiques. 

Et comment peut-on s’assurer d’une telle cohérence? En planifiant les modalités d’évaluation avant même les modalités pédagogiques. Voici donc quelques pistes de réflexion concernant la planification à rebours:

Étape 1 : Identifier les cibles d’apprentissage

Qu’est-ce que vous voulez que les élèves retiennent de votre cours? Si vous aviez à les croiser dans 2, 5 ou 10 ans, de quoi aimeriez-vous qu’ils se rappellent? Quels sont les savoirs essentiels?

Si, pour vous, tel point est un incontournable, il est logique de le retrouver dans votre évaluation et dans vos activités pédagogiques, d’où la pertinence de le planifier en premier lieu. Vos essentiels doivent aussi être en lien avec les objectifs de formation. Vous pouvez ajouter des éléments d’enrichissement à vos cours, mais devriez-vous nécessairement tout évaluer?

Étape 2 : Déterminer vos modalités d’évaluation

Quelles preuves vous permettent de porter un jugement professionnel sur l’atteinte des cibles de formation? Ces preuves sont-elles fiables et objectives? Quels choix s’offrent à vous pour l’évaluation (entrevue, projet créatif, dissertation, etc.)? Pouvez-vous donner la possibilité aux apprenants de choisir leur modalité d’évaluation parmi un éventail afin de rendre l’évaluation agréable et efficace? Dans quelle situation l’élève aura-t-il à implanter les apprentissages en contexte authentique?

Peu importe les décisions prises concernant les modalités d’évaluation, il est fondamental de construire des grilles descriptives d’évaluation avant de planifier les modalités pédagogiques (Leroux et Mastracci, 2015). Comment distinguer l’atteinte d’un niveau acceptable d’un niveau excellent? Quels sont les éléments essentiels et ceux qui permettent de distinguer une compétence marquée? 

En construisant en amont vos grilles, il sera plus facile de faire connaître les critères d’évaluation et les indicateurs observables aux apprenants. Ceux-ci auront une perception de contrôle augmentée quant à leur évaluation et auront une meilleure motivation (Viau, 1997). Toujours en construisant vos grilles descriptives, commencez à réfléchir à la rétroaction associée à cette évaluation. Comment leur proposer des pistes pour les amener plus loin? En réfléchissant a priori à ces derniers aspects, votre enseignement sera influencé par votre réflexion et votre alignement pédagogique sera plus cohérent.

Étape 3 : Déterminer les modalités pédagogiques

Comment partager sciemment le temps d’enseignement et la pondération de chaque élément essentiel? Qu’est-ce qui pourrait être vu à la maison à titre de préalable? Comment mettre en place une différenciation pédagogique afin d’inclure l’ensemble de la classe? Quels éléments devraient être enseignés à cause de la pertinence sans devoir être nécessairement évalués? Quelles activités devraient être sélectionnées pour favoriser le meilleur apprentissage possible?

À la suite des deux premières étapes de planification, votre vision pédagogique est plus claire. Vous savez exactement où amener les apprenants et comment vérifier leur progression. Il ne reste qu’à réfléchir sur les moyens pour y parvenir. L’important est la cohérence dans son enseignement. Si vous avez déterminé que l’évaluation sera une étude de cas, il est essentiel d’inclure des activités d’apprentissage impliquant des études de cas. Chaque activité doit avoir une raison d’être et si ce n’est pas le cas, pourquoi la garder dans votre planification?  Coupez le superflu et concentrez-vous sur la pertinence de chaque modalité pédagogique.

Maintenant que la réflexion sur votre planification est amorcée, outillez-vous pour vous faciliter la tâche. La plateforme Zelexio permet la construction de grilles d’évaluation dynamiques adaptées à vos besoins, le partage de celles-ci aux apprenants, l’autoévaluation et plus encore. 

Références :

Wiggins, G. & McTighe, J. (1998). What is backward design? In Understanding by Design. (1 ed., pp. 7–19). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Merrill Prentice Hall. Retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20160721163755/http://www.fitnyc.edu/files/pdfs/Backward_design.pdf

La planification à rebours, Virtuose Éducation, https://virtuoseeducation.com/blog/2021/04/10/planification-a-rebours/

En complément :

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :