19th edition of “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! "

The annual event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Continues its mission: to help young girls discover scientific careers.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

On the eve of its 20th anniversary, the annual event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Pursues with determination its mission: to introduce young Quebec women to 2e and 3e secondary scientific and technological careers that await them.

Through creative activities, demonstrations, workshops and above all, career “shopping”, young girls are encouraged to discover a multitude of university, professional and technical training courses and to become aware of the practical opportunities and the social impact of scientific careers. Participants also have the opportunity to discuss with women engaged in a field related to science.

Presented by the ALCOA Foundation and Hydro-Québec in collaboration with Polytechnique Montréal and the École de technologie supérieure, the 19e This very special day's edition also includes two components designed specifically for school stakeholders and parents.

A spokesperson on

Alongside the event's honorary godmother, meteorologist Ève Christian, young biochemist and science journalist Marianne Desautels-Marissal will play the role of spokesperson.

Ms. Desautels-Marissal, who can be seen and heard on the airwaves of Radio-Canada and Télé-Québec among others, takes on her new role with passion and enthusiasm, she who rightly opted for science studies after participating on one of the days "Girls and science, an electrifying duo! ".

Marianne agreed to join the event because she finds the initiative inspiring, and owes it a lot: “I was in high school and I still remember the little colored papers that we had been given out,” she recalls. It was written there: "Be an electrifying girl! ". I was addressed and invited to consider an original and exciting career in science or technology. This simple message appealed to me so much that I decided to study science! "

After a bachelor's degree in biochemistry and seven years in a laboratory in molecular biology, Marianne chose scientific communication and won the Fernand-Seguin grant in 2014. In the fall of 2016, she published the popular work A thousand billion friends - Understanding and nourishing your microbiome. Marianne is also a volunteer and member of the board of directors of the non-profit organization The Scientifines, which offers homework help and scientific activities to young girls in the southwest of Montreal.

An event (unfortunately) still current

Because the female representation in the world of science and technology is still too low, the day "Girls and science, an electrifying duo! " is still as necessary as when our young spokesperson took part in the Duo.

“Until there is a critical mass of female role models who are successful in these sectors, the Duo will be necessary. Perseverance is also one of the great qualities that make girls excellent in science, says Nathalie Beaudry, the event's instigator ”.

Promoting science and technology to girls has a positive effect for them and for society. Working to increase the representation of women in these fields is an investment which, slowly but surely, will lead us towards a better social balance.

Four cities, two dates, one mission

This year, the event "Girls and science, an electrifying duo! " will take place at two different times in the four usual cities:

  • Saturday February 24, 2018, in Quebec and Rimouski
  • And on Saturday March 17, 2018, in Montreal and Sherbrooke

You can follow the news about the event on Facebook: Montreal, Rimouski, Quebec, Sherbrooke.

It is also possible to discover the programming for each of the cities on the website of the event: Montreal, Quebec, Rimouski, Sherbrooke.

Discover the day "Girls and science, an electrifying duo! " with this video produced in 2015 by the Montreal team.

 

SOURCE Press release

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

19e édition de « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant ! »

L’événement annuel « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant ! » poursuit sa mission : faire découvrir aux jeunes filles les carrières scientifiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

À l’aube de ses 20 ans, l’événement annuel « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant ! » poursuit avec détermination sa mission : faire découvrir aux jeunes Québécoises de 2e et 3e secondaire les carrières scientifiques et technologiques qui les attendent.

À travers des activités créatives, des démonstrations, des ateliers et surtout, du « magasinage » de carrières, les jeunes filles sont amenées à découvrir une multitude de formations universitaires, professionnelles et techniques et à prendre conscience des débouchés pratiques et de la portée sociale des carrières scientifiques. Les participantes ont également l’opportunité de discuter avec des femmes engagées dans un domaine lié aux sciences.

Présentée par la Fondation ALCOA et Hydro-Québec en collaboration avec Polytechnique Montréal et l’École de technologie supérieure, la 19e édition de cette journée bien particulière comporte aussi deux volets conçus expressément pour les intervenants du milieu scolaire et les parents.

Une porte-parole allumée

Aux côtés de la marraine d’honneur de l’évènement, la météorologue Ève Christian, c’est la jeune biochimiste et journaliste scientifique Marianne Desautels-Marissal qui jouera le rôle de porte-parole.

Mme Desautels-Marissal, que l’on peut voir et entendre entre autres sur les ondes de Radio-Canada et de Télé-Québec, endosse son nouveau rôle avec passion et enthousiasme, elle qui a justement opté pour des études en sciences après avoir participé à l’une des journées « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! ».

Marianne a accepté de se joindre à l’événement car elle trouve l’initiative inspirante, et lui doit d’ailleurs beaucoup : « J’étais au secondaire et je me souviens encore des petits papiers colorés qu’on nous avait distribués, se souvient-elle. Il y était écrit : « Sois une fille électrisante! ». On s’adressait à moi et on m’invitait à considérer une carrière originale et excitante en sciences ou en technologie. Ce message tout simple m’a tellement séduite que j’ai opté pour des études en sciences ! »

Après un baccalauréat en biochimie et sept ans en laboratoire en biologie moléculaire, Marianne a fait le choix de la communication scientifique et a remporté la bourse Fernand-Seguin en 2014. À l’automne 2016, elle a publié l’ouvrage de vulgarisation Mille milliards d’amies – Comprendre et nourrir son microbiome. Marianne est aussi bénévole et membre du conseil d’administration de l’organisme à but non-lucratif Les Scientifines, qui offre de l’aide aux devoirs et des activités scientifiques aux jeunes filles du sud-ouest de Montréal.

Un événement (malheureusement) toujours actuel

Parce que la représentation féminine dans l’univers des sciences et des technologies est encore trop faible, la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » est toujours aussi nécessaire qu’à l’époque où notre jeune porte-parole participait au Duo.

« Tant qu’il n’y aura pas une masse critique de modèles féminins qui réussissent dans ces secteurs, le Duo sera nécessaire. La persévérance, c’est aussi une des grandes qualités qui font que les filles sont excellentes dans les sciences, affirme Mme Nathalie Beaudry, l’instigatrice de l’événement ».

La promotion des sciences et des technologies auprès des filles a un effet positif pour elles et pour la société. Travailler à augmenter la représentation des femmes dans ces domaines est un investissement qui, lentement mais sûrement, nous mènera vers un meilleur équilibre social.

Quatre villes, deux dates, une mission

Cette année, l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » aura lieu à deux moments différents dans les quatre villes habituelles :

  • Le samedi 24 février 2018, à Québec et Rimouski
  • Et le samedi 17 mars 2018, à Montréal et Sherbrooke

Vous pouvez suivre les nouvelles au sujet l’événement sur Facebook : Montréal, Rimouski, Québec, Sherbrooke.

Il est également possible de découvrir la programmation pour chacune des villes sur le site Web de l’événement : Montréal, Québec, Rimouski, Sherbrooke.

Découvrez la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » avec cette vidéo réalisée en 2015 par l’équipe de Montréal.

 

SOURCE Communiqué

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :