ADVERTISEMENT

1.4 million jobs to be filled by 2019 - The challenge lies in basic training

MONTREAL, June 15, 2011 / CNW Telbec / - Basic training, namely secondary V, is a prerequisite for enrolling in the best professional secondary programs and technical programs at CEGEP.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

MONTREAL, June 15, 2011 / CNW Telbec / - Basic training, namely secondary V, is a prerequisite for enrolling in the best professional secondary programs and technical programs at CEGEP. The contribution of these two streams is essential to fill the 1.4 million jobs that will have to be filled by 2019. However, nearly one in two adults in Quebec suffers from serious deficiencies in reading and writing, and none new measure is not planned to alleviate this serious problem.

This is one of the main findings of the Mouvement québécois des adults en formation (MQAF) at the end of the national meeting on the harmonization of training and employment, which was held on June 13 and 14 in Quebec City.

In the work in workshops, the MQAF recalled a glaring anomaly in the adult education system: while general secondary and vocational secondary have more than 250,000 adults and the university, around 75,000, there are all of them. at most 35,000 throughout the college network.

The fault is not with the establishments, but with the Ministry of Education, which perpetuates the system of closed budgetary envelopes at the college level. It is illogical that it is easier for an adult, even without a diploma, to be admitted to a university than to enroll in a CEGEP.

For Ms. Catherine Jasmin, who represented the MQAF at this event, "it is inconsistent to recall the great challenge of filling hundreds of thousands of jobs in a few years when the door to college studies is barely open for adults".

Ms. Jasmin, however, retains some positive elements of this meeting, including the promise of the Minister of Employment and Social Solidarity, Ms. Julie Boulet, to create a one-stop shop for the recognition of prior learning. She also noted that the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sport, Ms. Line Beauchamp, announced increased efforts to develop distance education and the implementation of information technologies in high school. She also indicated that students enrolled in a program leading to an attestation of vocational studies (AEP) will henceforth be eligible for financial assistance, which was not the case until now. The MQAF demanded this measure.

Finally, we note that the entire training-employment harmonization strategy does not include any significant budgetary allocation. It is therefore a question of doing more with less, as the commonplace says, an imperative whose outcome is at the very least uncertain.

To learn more about the MQAF, visit the website www.mqaf.qc.ca.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

1,4 million d’emplois à pourvoir d’ici 2019 – Le défi passe par la formation de base

MONTRÉAL, le 15 juin 2011 /CNW Telbec/ - La formation de base, soit le secondaire V, constitue une préalable pour s'inscrire dans les meilleurs programmes professionnels du secondaire et les programmes techniques du cégep.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

MONTRÉAL, le 15 juin 2011 /CNW Telbec/ – La formation de base, soit le secondaire V, constitue une préalable pour s’inscrire dans les meilleurs programmes professionnels du secondaire et les programmes techniques du cégep. La contribution de ces deux filières est essentielle pour combler les 1,4 million d’emplois qui seront à pourvoir d’ici 2019. Or, près d’un adulte sur deux au Québec souffre de sérieuses lacunes en lecture et en écriture, et aucune nouvelle mesure n’est prévue pour atténuer ce grave problème.

Tel est l’un des principaux constats du Mouvement québécois des adultes en formation (MQAF) au terme de la rencontre nationale sur l’harmonisation formation-emploi, qui s’est tenue les 13 et 14 juin à Québec.

Dans les travaux en ateliers, le MQAF a rappelé une anomalie criante dans le système d’éducation des adultes : alors que le secondaire général et le secondaire professionnel comptent plus de 250 000 adultes et l’université, environ 75 000, on en dénombre tout au plus 35 000 dans tout le réseau collégial.

La faute n’en est pas aux établissements, mais bien au ministère de l’Éducation, qui perpétue le système d’enveloppes budgétaires fermées au collégial. Il est illogique qu’il soit plus facile pour un adulte, même sans diplôme, d’être admis dans une université que de s’inscrire dans un cégep.

Pour Mme Catherine Jasmin, qui représentait le MQAF à cet événement, « il est incohérent de rappeler le grand défi de combler des centaines de milliers d’emplois en quelques années alors que la porte des études collégiales est à peine entrebâillée pour les adultes ».

Mme Jasmin retient cependant quelques éléments positifs de cette rencontre, dont la promesse de la ministre de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale, Mme Julie Boulet, de créer un guichet unique de reconnaissance des acquis. Elle note aussi que la ministre de l’Éducation, des Loisirs et du Sport, Mme Line Beauchamp a annoncé des efforts accrus pour développer la formation à distance et l’implantation des technologies de l’information au secondaire. Elle a aussi indiqué que les étudiants inscrits dans un programme menant à une attestation d’études professionnelles (AEP) seront dorénavant admissibles à l’aide financière, ce qui n’était pas le cas jusqu’à maintenant. Le MQAF revendiquait cette mesure.

Enfin, on note que toute la stratégie d’harmonisation formation-emploi ne comporte aucune allocation budgétaire significative. Il s’agit donc de faire plus avec moins, comme le dit le lieu commun, un impératif dont le résultat est pour le moins incertain.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le MQAF, on peut consulter le site www.mqaf.qc.ca.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :