Montreal Canadiens: 110 years of history in 2019

Published / Updated on

In 2019, the Montreal Canadiens blew out 110 candles on their blue, white and red birthday cake. So it was in 1909 that it all began for the most prestigious, the most successful and the oldest team in the National Hockey League. Insights into a history filled with significant events.

In 2019, the Canadiens hockey club, its original name, blew out 110 candles on its blue, white and red birthday cake. So it was in 1909 that it all began for the most prestigious, the most successful and the oldest team in the National Hockey League.

“[She] won 24 Stanley Cups. This is the North American League record. In North America, only the Yankees, the New York baseball team has won more titles in its sport than the Montreal Canadiens. "

Source: Agora Sports, January 10, 2018

Continuing to stir up passions even after 110 years of history, the Montreal Canadiens remain a very strong Quebec emblem and remain the subject of debate par excellence for thousands of families gathered around a game on Saturday night. The whole of Quebec lives to the rhythm of this sport which is undoubtedly the favorite of young and old alike during our long and harsh winters.

“Skating and hockey fans are pampered in Montreal. The city has more than 260 outdoor rinks and ice rinks, eight of which have a refrigerated surface, and there are 34 municipal arenas. But for true hockey fans, one lane is enough to start a game with neighborhood friends. "

Source: À nous Montréal, January 22, 2018

Your challenge

Find the player who has collected the most points in his career in the Canadiens' uniform. Then, are you able to name a player from the current edition of the team (2019-2020) who is among the 55 best scorers in the history of CH? Good research!

 
GENERAL PRESENTATION

Disciplines and levels targeted

Geography Lower secondary

  • Knowledge related to the study of a metropolis

History 1st cycle of secondary

  • Techniques used: Make a timeline

Plastic arts

  • Create media images

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Develop and mobilize your information culture
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Collaborate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • RWT Timeline
  • Google earth
  • Can go
  • Quizz.biz

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to learn more about the rich history of the Montreal Canadiens.

Objectives of the activities

  • Trace key events in the history of the Canadiens by creating a timeline using RWT Timeline.
  • Explore the metropolis of Quebec (Montreal) using Google Earth and focus on the amenities near the Bell Center.
  • Imagine a new jersey for the Montreal Canadiens and create it using the Canva app.
  • Test your knowledge of the Montreal Canadiens and create a quiz.
SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

ACTIVITY 1: 110 years of history

The Montreal Canadiens have a history rich in emotions and filled with significant events. The role of the pupil in activity 1 is to create a timeline with the online tool Timeline. Easy to use, you can organize your frieze by date, time or event. In the way that suits them, the students will have to retrace the significant phases of the history of the Canadiens and to highlight them in their project. They will be able to add a title, a description and an image to each section of their timeline.

Information will be collected on the historic site of the Montreal Canadiens. In the “Great moments” section, you will have access to more than a hundred events that marked the team. Students will need to explore these moments and choose 10 moments to incorporate into their timeline. It may be interesting to choose an element in each of the decades (one in 1910, one in 1920 and so on until 2010).

Once completed, the timeline can be saved on the computer, printed, or shared on social media.

ACTIVITY 2: Discovering downtown Montreal

In Activity 2, students will use Google earth to, on the one hand, locate downtown Montreal and, on the other hand, explore the surroundings of the Bell Center with the 3D and Street View functions. The learners will be asked to indicate the arrangements which relate to the particularities of the metropolis under study.

A collaborative document (Middlespot, Google Doc) could be created in parallel, where students would annotate their observations of the different characteristics by grouping them by topic. For example, around the Bell Center, we observe the presence of a highway, skyscrapers, commercial arteries, a public transport service, etc. Students will then be able to think about the uses of all these arrangements around the Canadiens arena.

Knowing that there are more than 20,000 spectators who go there about twice a week, are the proposed facilities optimal? Learners can give their point of view on the situation and suggest changes to be made by entering them in the document created beforehand. They may, for example, mention a lack of parking or the need for more lanes to enter or exit the city center quickly.

ACTIVITY 3: Blue-white-red through time

The Montreal Canadiens' blue-white-red uniform has undergone several changes over the years. Still worn with pride and honor by more than 800 players now, the Canadiens logo remains one of the most prestigious, all professional sports combined.

In activity 3, students will be asked to reinvent the team logo. To do this, the site Can go offers a wide range of designs, shapes, backgrounds and fonts to create an original sweater. Just before the creation, young people can go and get inspiration from all of the Canadiens' old jerseys that are available. here.

You can share the white template below with your students, which they can later upload to the Canva site. From this blank template, they will only have to add all the elements they want to make it the new template for the team. You will have to find the colors blue-white-red as well as elements reminiscent of hockey and the city of Montreal (or Quebec as a whole). We must not stray too far from the models that have been offered for 110 years, hence the importance of looking at them before starting to create.

The last step could be sharing on social networks. You could tweet the works of the students by identifying the @CanadiansMTL and thus have the chance to be seen by members of the Canadian organization and all their subscribers.

FOR FURTHER

The website Quizzbiz contains several questionnaires on the Montreal Canadiens. Students can then have fun by testing their knowledge on their favorite team. This platform also allows the creation of quizzes by the students. You could therefore ask them to invent a questionnaire based on the research carried out in any of the activities in this guide. Students will be able to collaborate in developing questions and try out their friends' quizzes.

TO KNOW MORE

Montreal Canadiens
The Canadian Encyclopedia, October 3, 2018

Montreal Forum
Memory of Montrealers, January 20, 2016

The hat trick
Memory of Montrealers, January 20, 2016

Maurice Richard
Memory of Montrealers, January 19, 2016

Our history
The historic site of the Montreal Canadiens, 2008

Official website of the Montreal Canadiens
NHL, 2017

Sports and Winter Carnival in Montreal in the 19th Century
Memory of Montrealers, January 19, 2016

Classification of activities:

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

En 2019, le Club de hockey Canadien, de son nom d’origine, soufflera 110 bougies sur son gâteau d’anniversaire bleu, blanc et rouge. C’est donc en 1909 que tout débuta pour la plus prestigieuse, la plus titrée et la plus ancienne équipe de la Ligue nationale de hockey.

« [Elle] a ainsi remporté 24 Coupes Stanley. Il s’agit du record de la Ligue nord-américaine. En Amérique du Nord, seuls les Yankees, l’équipe new-yorkaise de baseball a remporté plus de titres dans son sport que les Canadiens de Montréal. »

Source : Agora Sports, 10 janvier 2018

Continuant de soulever les passions même après 110 ans d’histoire, les Canadiens de Montréal demeurent un emblème québécois très fort et restent le sujet de débat par excellence de milliers de familles réunies autour d’une partie le samedi soir. Le Québec en entier vit au rythme de ce sport qui est, sans conteste, le favori des petits comme des grands lors de nos longs et rigoureux hivers.

« Les amateurs de patin et de hockey sont choyés à Montréal. La ville compte plus de 260 patinoires et ronds de glace extérieurs, dont huit avec une surface réfrigérée, et il y a 34 arénas municipaux. Mais pour les vrais fans de hockey, une ruelle suffit pour commencer une partie avec les amis du voisinage. »

Source : À nous Montréal, 22 janvier 2018

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves d’en apprendre davantage sur la riche histoire des Canadiens de Montréal.


Objectifs

  • Retracer les événements marquants de l’histoire du Canadien en créant une ligne du temps à l’aide de Timeline.
  • Explorer la métropole du Québec (Montréal) à l’aide de Google Earth et s’attarder aux aménagements près du Centre Bell.
  • Imaginer un nouveau chandail pour les Canadiens de Montréal et le créer à l’aide de l’application Canva.
  • Tester vos connaissances sur les Canadiens de Montréal et créer un quiz.

Géographie 1er cycle du secondaire

  • Connaissances liées à l’étude d’une métropole

Histoire 1er cycle du secondaire

  • Techniques utilisées : Réaliser une ligne du temps

Arts plastiques

  • Créer des images médiatiques

Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : 110 ans d’histoire

Les Canadiens de Montréal ont une histoire riche en émotions et remplie d’événements marquants. Le rôle de l’élève dans l’activité 1 est de créer une frise chronologique avec l’outil en ligne Timeline. Facile à utiliser, vous pouvez organiser votre frise par date, par temps ou par évènement. De la façon qui leur convient, les élèves auront à retracer les phases marquantes de l’historique du Canadien et à les mettre en évidence dans leur projet. Ils pourront ajouter un titre, une description ainsi qu’une image à chacune des sections de leur ligne du temps.

La collecte d’informations s’effectuera sur le site historique des Canadiens de Montréal. Dans la section, « Grands moments », vous aurez accès à plus d’une centaine d’événements ayant marqué l’équipe. Les élèves devront explorer ces moments et en choisir 10 qu’ils intégreront à leur ligne du temps. Il peut être intéressant de choisir un élément dans chacune des décennies (un en 1910, un en 1920 et ainsi de suite jusqu’en 2010).

Une fois terminée, la frise chronologique peut être enregistrée sur l’ordinateur, imprimée ou partagée sur les réseaux sociaux.

ACTIVITÉ 2 : À la découverte du centre-ville de Montréal

Dans l’activité 2, les élèves utiliseront Google Earth pour, d’une part, situer le centre-ville de Montréal et, d’autre part, explorer les alentours du Centre Bell avec les fonctions 3D et Street View. Les apprenants seront amenés à indiquer les aménagements qui relèvent des particularités de la métropole à l’étude.

Un document collaboratif (Middlespot, Google Doc) pourrait être créé en parallèle, où les élèves annoteraient leurs observations des différentes caractéristiques en les regroupant par thème. Par exemple, autour du Centre Bell, nous observons la présence d’une autoroute, de gratte-ciel, d’artères commerciales, d’un service de transport en commun, etc. Les élèves pourront ensuite réfléchir aux utilités de tous ces aménagements autour de l’aréna des Canadiens.

En sachant qu’il y a plus de 20 000 spectateurs qui s’y rendent environ deux fois par semaine, est-ce que les aménagements proposés sont optimaux? Les apprenants peuvent donner leur point de vue sur la situation et proposer des modifications à apporter en les inscrivant dans le document créé au préalable. Ils peuvent, par exemple, mentionner un manque de stationnements ou la nécessité d’avoir plus de voies pour entrer ou sortir du centre-ville rapidement.

ACTIVITÉ 3 : Le bleu-blanc-rouge à travers le temps

L’uniforme bleu-blanc-rouge des Canadiens de Montréal a subi plusieurs transformations au fil des années. Toujours porté avec fierté et honneur par plus de 800 joueurs maintenant, le logo du Canadien demeure un des plus prestigieux, tout sport professionnel confondu.

Dans l’activité 3, les élèves seront amenés à réinventer le logo de l’équipe. Pour ce faire, le site Canva offre un large éventail de modèles, de formes, de fonds et de polices pour ainsi créer un chandail original. Juste avant la création, les jeunes peuvent aller s’inspirer de tous les anciens modèles de chandails du Canadien qui sont disponibles ici.

Vous pouvez partager le gabarit blanc ci-dessous à vos élèves, qu’ils pourront par la suite téléverser sur le site Canva. À partir de ce modèle vierge, ils n’auront qu’à ajouter tous les éléments qu’ils désirent pour en faire le nouveau modèle de l’équipe. Vous devrez y retrouver les couleurs bleu-blanc-rouge ainsi que des éléments rappelant le hockey et la ville de Montréal (ou le Québec dans son ensemble). Il ne faut pas trop s’éloigner des modèles qui ont été proposés depuis 110 ans, d’où l’importance d’aller les regarder avant de débuter la création.

La dernière étape pourrait être celle du partage sur les réseaux sociaux. Vous pourriez tweeter les oeuvres des élèves en identifiant le @CanadiensMTL et ainsi avoir la chance d’être vus par des membres de l’organisation du Canadien et tous leurs abonnés.


Pour aller plus loin

Le site Web Quizzbiz renferme plusieurs questionnaires sur les Canadiens de Montréal. Les élèves pourront alors s’amuser en testant leurs connaissances sur leur équipe préférée. Cette plateforme permet également la création de quiz par les élèves. Vous pourriez donc leur demander d’inventer un questionnaire en se basant sur les recherches effectuées dans l’une ou l’autre des activités de ce guide. Les élèves pourront collaborer dans l’élaboration des questions et essayer les quiz de leurs amis.


Pour en savoir plus

Canadiens de Montréal
L’encyclopédie canadienne, 3 octobre 2018

Forum de Montréal
Mémoire des Montréalais, 20 janvier 2016

Le tour du chapeau
Mémoire des Montréalais, 20 janvier 2016

Maurice Richard
Mémoire des Montréalais, 19 janvier 2016

Notre histoire
Le site historique des Canadiens de Montréal, 2008

Site officiel des Canadiens de Montréal
NHL, 2017

Sports et Carnaval d’hiver à Montréal au XIXe siècle
Mémoire des Montréalais, 19 janvier 2016

Commentaires

Recevez les sujets des nouveaux guides chaque semaine

Maxime Laflamme est conseiller pédagogique et responsable des guides pédagogiques SCOOP! à l’École branchée. Il possède un baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire de l’Université de Sherbrooke et poursuit un diplôme de 2e cycle en gestion scolaire à l’Université Laval. Il transmet sa passion pour la technologie éducative dans divers lieux d’enseignement au Québec à travers des formations, des ateliers et des conférences.