ADVERTISEMENT

Times are changing ... for the better

(previous section) Do digital textbooks really offer added value? Are teachers happy there? The teachers consulted see advantages in integrating these new teaching materials by […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

(previous section)

Do digital textbooks really offer added value? Are teachers happy there?

The teachers consulted see advantages in integrating these new teaching materials in the classroom. Marie-Josée Lavoie, in first year, likes to obtain in a few clicks the tools necessary to answer the instructions according to the context and the difficulties encountered by her students. “My toolbox contains what I need. It stays there, close at hand. For example, I have hands and chips to illustrate numbers or tens and hundreds that can burst with a click. In addition to being visual, it is very pleasant. Thanks to these virtual tools, my cleaning is done! She laughs.

This teacher also likes being able to modify the data included in a problem solving to adapt the tasks to the abilities of her students. The stronger ones can therefore obtain a more difficult problem and do a modeling in front of their comrades who will in turn be able to carry out an easier problem situation. Among the other advantages noted, she mentions the reproducible files available in PDF or .doc. This last format allows him to open the form using his word processing software to personalize the content according to his needs.

On the side of the editors, we are trying different approaches to improve the traditional textbook. For its part, Grand DUC, like other publishing houses, offers these reproducible files in modifiable format which are popular with teachers. The editor is also working on the textbook to be projected, which offers the student a direct visual reference to the page of his textbook. Another feature offered by Grand DUC is self-correcting online testing. The student can log in at home and complete a homework questionnaire. The results are then transmitted directly to his teacher, alleviating the latter's correction task.

In his promotional video, ERPI says it is making an effort to simplify the planning of high school teachers. To do this, it gives them tools at their fingertips: a search tool to find a concept in a digital manual, direct links to access complementary material, tools to highlight or enlarge parts of pages, mark pages. favorites and even share annotations in digital student textbooks.

On the Modulo side, books in digital format can be projected at the TBI and leafed through in front of the students. Related documents that support the content are grafted into it. “What does not require interactivity is offered in PDF format, but what is interactive is programmed in HTML format,” says Caroline Viel. Let's quote their brand new Cyberaltas, a complement to the traditional atlas which provides updated maps and data, digital content to be projected and activities to test knowledge.

To read more

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie Beaupré
Julie beaupre
Julie is a primary ICT educational advisor and RÉCIT resource person at the Commission scolaire des Affluents. Also, blogger here and the.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les temps changent… en mieux

(section précédente) Les manuels scolaires numériques offrent-ils vraiment une valeur ajoutée? Les enseignants y trouvent-ils leur compte? Les enseignants consultés voient des avantages à intégrer ces nouveaux matériels didactiques en […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

(section précédente)

Les manuels scolaires numériques offrent-ils vraiment une valeur ajoutée? Les enseignants y trouvent-ils leur compte?

Les enseignants consultés voient des avantages à intégrer ces nouveaux matériels didactiques en classe. Marie-Josée Lavoie, en première année, aime obtenir en quelques clics les outils nécessaires pour répondre aux consignes selon le contexte et les difficultés rencontrées par ses élèves. « Mon coffre à outils contient ce dont j’ai besoin. Il reste là, à portée de main. Par exemple, je dispose de mains et de jetons pour illustrer les nombres ou de dizaines et de centaines qui peuvent éclater à l’aide d’un clic. En plus d’être visuel, c’est très plaisant. Grâce à ces outils virtuels, mon ménage reste fait! » rigole-t-elle.

Cette enseignante aime aussi le fait de pouvoir modifier les données incluses dans une résolution de problème pour adapter les tâches aux habiletés de ses élèves. Les plus forts peuvent donc obtenir un problème plus difficile et faire un modelage devant leurs camarades qui pourront réaliser à leur tour une situation problème plus facile. Parmi les autres avantages notés, elle mentionne les fiches reproductibles disponibles en PDF ou en .doc. Ce dernier format lui permet d’ouvrir la fiche à l’aide de son logiciel de traitement de texte de personnaliser le contenu en fonction de ses besoins.

Du côté des éditeurs, on tente différentes approches pour bonifier le manuel scolaire traditionnel. Pour sa part, Grand DUC, offre, comme d’autres maisons d’édition, ces fiches reproductibles en format modifiable qui ont la cote auprès des enseignants. L’éditeur travaille également sur le manuel à projeter qui offre à l’élève un repère visuel direct de la page de son manuel. Les tests en ligne autocorrectifs sont une autre des fonctionnalités offertes par Grand DUC. L’élève peut se connecter chez lui et remplir un questionnaire en devoir. Les résultats sont alors transmis directement à son enseignant, allégeant la tâche de correction de ce dernier.

Dans sa vidéo promotionnelle, ERPI dit faire un effort pour simplifier la planification des enseignants du secondaire. Pour ce faire, il leur offre des outils à portée de main : un outil de recherche pour trouver un concept dans un manuel numérique, des liens directs pour accéder au matériel complémentaire, des outils pour surligner ou agrandir des parties de page, marquer les pages favorites et même partager les annotations dans les manuels numériques des étudiants.

Du côté de Modulo, les livres en format numérique peuvent être projetés au TBI et feuilletés devant les élèves. On y greffe des documents connexes qui appuient le contenu. « Ce qui ne nécessite pas d’interactivité est offert en format PDF, mais ce qui est interactif est programmé en format HTML », mentionne Caroline Viel. Citons leur tout nouveau Cyberaltas, un complément à l’atlas traditionnel qui fournit des cartes et des données mises à jour, des contenus numériques à projeter et des activités pour tester les connaissances.

Pour lire la suite

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Julie Beaupré
Julie Beaupré
Julie est conseillère pédagogique TIC au primaire et personne-ressource RÉCIT à la Commission scolaire des Affluents. Aussi, blogueuse ici et .

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :