A successful start to the school year: thoughts and expert advice

This week thousands of teachers are discovering the curious and enthusiastic faces of the students they will accompany for the next ten months. Today we offer you an interview with our back-to-school expert.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

This week, thousands of teachers are discovering the curious and enthusiastic faces of the students they will accompany for the next ten months. It is a pivotal moment for both young people and adults. At École branchée, we are starting this school year with great happiness and motivation to offer you varied content adapted to your needs!

Today we offer you an interview with our back-to-school expert. Associate professor in the Department of Specialized Education and Training at UQAM and author of numerous books in the field of education and methodology, Gérald Boutin pursues research on inclusive education, support for new teachers, troubled childhood and the school-family relationship. He agreed to answer our questions in order to provide you with some avenues for action and reflection:

 

Can you tell us about the challenges teachers face at the start of the school year? What do you think are the winning conditions for a successful start to the school year?

The challenges faced by teachers regarding the start of the school year are quite numerous. Among those most often cited by the teachers themselves, let us note that of establishing good contact with children and parents, that of knowing in time the composition of the group of students, and finally that of s. '' ensure that you have the necessary tools for the proper functioning of the class.

Among the winning conditions, priority is given to short, medium and long term preparation. This preparation, if well orchestrated, helps to lower tension and increase self-confidence, which all teachers need given the growing demands on them.

What opportunities accompany this moment of start-up, of renewal?

The start of the new school year is seen by many teachers as an opportunity to set up new ways of approaching their task, to experiment with new approaches. It is an opportunity for renewal, for development. Unfortunately, these opportunities are sometimes reduced for structural reasons: late class assignments, scarcity of support staff, etc.

How is the start of the school year an important period in relation to school perseverance?

Even before returning to class, a good number of school teams looked into the thorny issue of school failure and the dropping out of too many young people. The start of the school year is a good opportunity to review current practices in order to adapt them as best as possible to the needs of the students. Just think of the heterogeneous composition of the classes… School perseverance takes root in the first years of school life. The aphorism " prevent rather than cure »Makes sense here! A good start in preschool and elementary school most of the time ensures the quality of the steps to come.

Tell us about the impact on school success of integrating ICT in education and pedagogy.

The impact of the use of ICTs on academic success is an increasingly debated topic. There are often opposing attitudes, whereas it would be advisable to adopt open and critical positions. The digital wave is here to stay: like any innovation, it has advantages and limits. The teachers, for the most part, seem to me open to this trend, but they rightly demand adequate training. As one observer recalls: “ The role of ICTs should not be overstated, nor should they be belittled ". Wanting, for example, to put ICT before the teacher-learner relationship would be counterproductive… A connected school must retain its status as a human school!

A few days before the start of the school year, teachers often feel nervous and restless? What advice would you like to give them so that they get the most out of this moment?

This excitement and nervousness are part of the game, so to speak. Most of the teachers I know live with this tension, while stressing that over time things take on smaller proportions. It is for everyone to take their marks to ensure a good start. This tension is normal… It concerns everyone: parents, children and of course, teachers and management. It is a feeling of both joy and worry: joy to come back to work after a well-deserved vacation, to experiment with new approaches, to meet colleagues, but also in some cases, worry about the proper functioning of the classroom, adaptation to a new environment.

The literature contains a lot of advice for teachers regarding the start of the school year.

Here is 5 tips for a successful start to school : 

  1. Familiarize yourself with the teaching program to be taught
  2. Find out about the composition of your class or classes (we know that many teachers do not know the composition of their class until very late)
  3. Plan a communication strategy with parents
  4. Plan your educational activities (at least for the first few weeks) in order to be better able to establish good contact with the students
  5. Take the necessary means to manage stress (relaxation, discussion with colleagues, for example) 

 

The École branchée is happy to have been able to count on the collaboration of Professor Gérald Boutin in the preparation of this article on back to school. We invite you to discover the writings of this author, in particular his essay on education published in 2012 by Éditions Nouvelles entitled The school war: between transmission and construction of knowledge.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une rentrée scolaire réussie : réflexions et conseils d’expert

0

Cette semaine, des milliers d’enseignant-e-s découvrent les visages curieux et enthousiastes des élèves qu’ils accompagneront pour les dix prochains mois. C’est un moment charnière tant pour les jeunes que pour les adultes. À l’École branchée, nous entamons cette année scolaire avec beaucoup de bonheur et la motivation de vous offrir du contenu varié et adapté à vos besoins!

Aujourd’hui nous vous proposons une entrevue avec notre expert de la rentrée scolaire. Professeur associé au Département d’éducation et de formation spécialisées de l’UQAM et auteur de nombreux ouvrages dans le champ de l’éducation et de la méthodologie, Gérald Boutin poursuit des recherches sur l’inclusion scolaire, l’accompagnement des nouveaux enseignants, l’enfance en difficulté et la relation école-famille. Il a accepté de répondre à nos questions afin de vous livrer quelques pistes d’action et de réflexion :

 

Parlez-nous des défis auxquels les enseignants doivent faire face à la rentrée scolaire? Quelles sont à votre avis les conditions gagnantes pour vivre une rentrée scolaire réussie?

Les défis à affronter par les enseignant-e-s concernant la rentrée scolaire sont plutôt nombreux. Parmi ceux qui sont le plus souvent cités par les enseignant-e-s eux-mêmes, notons celui d’établir un bon contact avec les enfants et les parents, celui de connaître à temps la composition du groupe d’élèves, et enfin celui de s’assurer d’avoir en main les outils nécessaires à la bonne marche de la classe.

Parmi les conditions gagnantes, on retrouve en priorité une préparation à court, moyen et long terme. Cette préparation, si elle est bien orchestrée, permet de faire baisser la tension et d’augmenter la confiance en soi, ce dont tous les enseignant-e-s ont besoin étant donné les exigences grandissantes envers eux.

Quelles opportunités accompagnent ce moment de démarrage, de renouvellement?

La rentrée scolaire est considérée par plusieurs enseignants comme une occasion de mettre en place de nouvelles façons d’aborder leur tâche, d’expérimenter de nouvelles approches. C’est une occasion de renouvellement, de mise au point. Malheureusement, ces opportunités sont parfois réduites pour des raisons structurelles : attributions tardives des classes, rareté des personnels de soutien, etc.

En quoi la rentrée scolaire est-elle une période importante en lien avec la persévérance scolaire?

Avant même le retour en classe, bon nombre d’équipes-école se sont penchées sur la question épineuse de l’échec scolaire et du décrochage de trop nombreux jeunes. La rentrée scolaire est une bonne occasion de réviser les pratiques courantes afin de les adapter le mieux possible aux besoins des élèves. Pensons seulement à la composition hétérogène des classes… La persévérance scolaire prend racine dès les premières années de la vie scolaire. L’aphorisme « prévenir plutôt que guérir » prend ici tout son sens! Un bon démarrage au préscolaire et au primaire assure la plupart du temps la qualité des étapes à venir.

Parlez-nous de l’impact sur la réussite scolaire de l’intégration des TIC en éducation et en pédagogie.

L’impact de l’usage des TIC sur la réussite scolaire est un sujet de plus en plus débattu. On retrouve des attitudes souvent opposées, alors qu’il conviendrait d’adopter des positions ouvertes et critiques. La vague du numérique est là pour rester : elle a comme toute innovation des avantages et des limites. Les enseignant-e-s, pour la plupart, me semblent ouverts à ce courant, mais ils réclament à juste titre des formations adéquates. Comme le rappelle un observateur : « Il ne faut pas exagérer le rôle des TIC, il ne faut pas les déprécier non plus ». Vouloir, par exemple, faire passer les TIC avant la relation enseignant-apprenant serait contreproductif… Une école branchée doit conserver son statut d’école humaine!

À quelques jours de la rentrée scolaire, les enseignants ressentent souvent de la nervosité et de la fébrilité? Quels conseils aimeriez-vous leur donner afin qu’ils tirent profit au maximum de ce moment?

Cette fébrilité et cette nervosité font partie du jeu, si l’on peut dire. La plupart des enseignant-e-s que je connais vivent cette tension, tout en soulignant qu’avec le temps les choses prennent des proportions moins importantes. Il s’agit pour chacun de prendre ses marques pour s’assurer d’un bon départ. Cette tension est normale… Elle concerne tout le monde : parents, enfants et bien sûr, enseignants et direction. C’est un sentiment à la fois de joie et d’inquiétude : joie de revenir au travail après des vacances bien méritées, d’expérimenter de nouvelles approches, de rencontrer les collègues, mais aussi dans certains cas, inquiétude concernant le bon fonctionnement de la classe, l’adaptation à un nouvel environnement.

La littérature contient de nombreux conseils adressés aux enseignants concernant la rentrée scolaire.

Voici 5 conseils pour vivre une rentrée scolaire réussie : 

  1. Se familiariser avec le programme d’enseignement à dispenser
  2. Se renseigner sur la composition de sa classe ou de ses classes (on sait que plusieurs enseignant-e-s ne connaissent que très tardivement la composition de leur classe)
  3. Prévoir une stratégie de communication avec les parents
  4. Planifier ses activités éducatives (du moins pour les premières semaines) afin d’être mieux en mesure d’établir un bon contact avec les élèves
  5. Prendre les moyens nécessaires pour gérer son stress (détente, échange avec des collègues, par exemple) 

 

L’École branchée est heureuse d’avoir pu compter sur la collaboration du professeur Gérald Boutin dans la préparation de cet article sur la rentrée scolaire. Nous vous invitons à découvrir les écrits de cet auteur, notamment son essai sur l’éducation publié en 2012 chez Éditions Nouvelles intitulé La guerre des écoles : entre transmission et construction des connaissances.

Commentaires

Vous avez aimé lire cet article?

Recevez gratuitement l'Hebdo de l'École branchée en ligne!