A silent debate on Twitter, anyone?

Is it possible to debate a subject in writing? Marie Germain, a teacher at Sainte-Claire school in Longueuil, has demonstrated this over the past few years with her students. In doing so, she also makes them aware of the ethical use of social networks. She invites all classes who wish to experiment on Twitter from April 11 to 14, 2022.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Is it possible to debate a subject in writing? Marie Germain, a teacher at Sainte-Claire school in Longueuil, has demonstrated this over the past few years with her students. In doing so, she also makes them aware of the ethical use of social networks. She invites all classes who wish to experiment on Twitter from April 11 to 14, 2022.

A silent debateA chat is a live exchange on a social network, Twitter in this case, about a given topic. Questions are launched with a keyword to group them together (#dbts22) and other users are invited to respond with their opinions. A debate lasts about an hour. "It is an opportunity to learn how to express one's opinion in a respectful manner, to present counter-arguments in response to others, in short, to contribute to a debate without hindering the dialogue and by showing open-mindedness", explains the teacher of the 3e elementary school. In fact, at the end of the debate, students will be asked to consider whether the debate changed their opinion on the topic under discussion.

To remove or not to remove the historical monuments?

Over the past few weeks, classes from around the world have been invited to officially register for the debate. Students in registered classes were given the opportunity to vote on which topic will be debated live on Twitter.

They had three options: do hauls on social networks have a place, should historic monuments be removed because they symbolize racism, should commercial hunting be banned? In the end, it was the second choice that prevailed, this video from MAJ de Radio-Canada as a prelude to the discussion. "It's a pretty serious topic and it shows that young people are interested in social issues," says the teacher.

The six questions that will be used to fuel the discussion are already available on the Silent Debate website, as well as directions for responding by identifying yourself and the question you are answering. Those who wish to prepare their students for the most formative experience possible can use other resources to to be better prepared and documents specific to the debate available on the same site.

Open to all

You do not need to be officially registered to participate in the debate. Any person or class with a Twitter account can participate. To join the discussion, simply follow the keyword #dbts22 during the official debate periods from April 11-14, 2022, which will be announced shortly. Follow the Twitter account of Mrs. Germain's class for upcoming details.

"Twitter is an extraordinary platform for exchange and its educational potential is enormous. Young people can express themselves in writing, which is less engaging than the images and video that are posted on other platforms. It's also a time to learn how to use social networks in a way that respects others," concludes Marie Germain.

École branchée previously reported on the first edition of the Silent Debate held in 2013: To your keyboards for a silent debate!


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
1- Act as an ethical citizen in the digital age
6- Communicate using digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un débat silencieux sur Twitter, ça vous dit?

Débattre d’un sujet par écrit, c’est possible? Marie Germain, enseignante à l’école Sainte-Claire de Longueuil, en a fait la démonstration au cours des dernières années avec ses élèves. Ce faisant, elle les sensibilise aussi à l’usage éthique des réseaux sociaux. Elle lance l’invitation à toutes les classes qui souhaitent expérimenter sur Twitter du 11 au 14 avril 2022.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Débattre d’un sujet par écrit, c’est possible? Marie Germain, enseignante à l’école Sainte-Claire de Longueuil, en a fait la démonstration au cours des dernières années avec ses élèves. Ce faisant, elle les sensibilise aussi à l’usage éthique des réseaux sociaux. Elle lance l’invitation à toutes les classes qui souhaitent expérimenter sur Twitter du 11 au 14 avril 2022.

Un débat silencieux, c’est un échange en direct sur un réseau social, Twitter dans le cas présent, à propos d’un sujet donné. Des questions sont lancées avec un mot-clic pour les regrouper (#dbts22) et les autres utilisateurs sont invités à répondre en donnant leur opinion. Un débat dure environ une heure. « C’est l’occasion d’apprendre à exprimer son opinion dans le respect de l’autre, à présenter des contre-arguments en réponse aux autres, bref, à alimenter un débat sans entraver le dialogue et en faisant preuve d’ouverture d’esprit », explique l’enseignante du 3e cycle du primaire. D’ailleurs, au terme du débat, les élèves seront invités à se demander si celui-ci a fait changer leur opinion sur le sujet débattu.

Enlever ou pas les monuments historiques?

Au cours des dernières semaines, les classes de partout sur la planète ont été invitées à s’inscrire officiellement au débat. Les élèves des classes inscrites ont eu la possibilité de voter pour le choix du sujet qui sera débattu en direct sur Twitter.

Trois options s’offraient à eux : est-ce que les « haul » sur les réseaux sociaux ont leur place?, Devrait-on enlever les monuments historiques parce qu’ils symboliseraient le racisme?, Devrait-on bannir la chasse commerciale? Finalement, c’est le deuxième choix qui l’a emporté, cette vidéo de MAJ de Radio-Canada servant de prémisse à la discussion. « Un sujet somme toute assez sérieux qui témoigne du fait que les jeunes s’intéressent à des enjeux de société », fait remarquer l’enseignante.

Les six questions qui serviront à alimenter les échanges sont déjà disponibles sur le site Web du Débat silencieux, ainsi que les indications pour répondre en s’identifiant et en identifiant la question à laquelle on répond. Ceux qui désirent préparer leurs élèves à vivre l’expérience la plus formatrice possible peuvent utiliser d’autres ressources pour mieux se préparer et des documents spécifiques au débat accessibles sur le même site.

Ouvert à tous

Nul besoin d’être inscrit officiellement au débat pour pouvoir y participer. Toute personne ou classe disposant d’un compte Twitter peut y prendre part. Pour se joindre à la discussion, il suffit de suivre le mot-clic #dbts22 lors des périodes de débat officiel qui se dérouleront du 11 au 14 avril 2022 et qui seront annoncés sous peu. Suivez le compte Twitter de la classe de Mme Germain pour connaître les détails à venir.

« Twitter est une extraordinaire plateforme d’échange et son potentiel pédagogique est énorme. Les jeunes peuvent s’exprimer par écrit, ce qui est moins engageant que les images et la vidéo que l’on dépose sur les autres plateformes. De même, c’est le moment d’apprendre à utiliser les réseaux sociaux dans le respect de l’autre », conclut Marie Germain.

L’École branchée avait déjà parlé de la première édition du Débat silencieux qui s’était tenu en 2013 : À vos claviers pour un débat silencieux!


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
1- Agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique
6- Communiquer à l’aide du numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :