ADVERTISEMENT

Tragédie de Lac-Mégantic - The Hauts-Cantons School Board receives the Gold Medal of the Order of Merit from the FCSQ

On the occasion of the gala kicking off its conference which is taking place today and tomorrow on the topic Qualified student. Added value, the Federation of Quebec School Boards (FCSQ) paid tribute to the Hauts-Cantons School Board, which played a leading role during the Lac-Mégantic tragedy, by awarding it the Gold Medal of the Order of Merit.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

QUÉBEC, June 12, 2014 / CNW Telbec / - On the occasion of the gala to kick off its conference which is taking place today and tomorrow on the theme Qualified student. Added value, the Federation of Quebec School Boards (FCSQ) paid tribute to the Hauts-Cantons School Board, which played a leading role during the Lac-Mégantic tragedy, by awarding it the Gold Medal of the Order of Merit. This distinction recognizes in particular the leadership of the recipient, his influence, his commitment, his thoroughness and the work he has done to promote the cause of education.

On July 6, the municipality of Lac-Mégantic was struck by an unprecedented tragedy, which marked all of Quebec. 47 people died and part of the city center was destroyed following the derailment of a train carrying cars filled with light crude oil.

Support for disaster victims and authorities

Despite the distress and chaos, help was organized quickly and among the front-line responders was the Hauts-Cantons School Board, which quickly opened the Polyvalente de Lac-Mégantic to accommodate the victims. . Up to 300 people stayed at the high school, but the school board's support for its community during this tragedy also resulted in the loan of premises to the municipality, the police and firefighters as well as to certain businesses. in order to ensure the smooth running of several essential services.

A disrupted return to school

The Hauts-Cantons School Board also took up the challenge of organizing the start of the new school year in a record time of two weeks, thanks to the full collaboration of the staff. She also made sure to put in place support measures for staff and students who felt the need.

“Even today, the school board is involved in the reconstruction of the municipality, thus testifying to its essential role in the socio-economic development of its community,” said FCSQ president Josée Bouchard.

30 years at the service of the FCSQ

The FCSQ also awarded the Gold Medal of the Order of Merit to Denis Pouliot, for his 30 years of service to the Federation, notably as Director of Communications and Public Affairs.

The Federation of Quebec School Boards brings together the vast majority of French-language school boards in Quebec as well as the Commission scolaire du Littoral. School boards are local governments that ensure the academic success of more than one million students by providing educational services at the elementary, secondary, vocational training and adult levels. They also offer efficient and essential services, particularly in terms of human resources and material and financial resources. In addition, school boards are responsible for distributing resources equitably between their establishments and making safe school transportation accessible at all times.

SOURCE Federation of Quebec School Boards (FCSQ)

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Tragédie de Lac-Mégantic – La Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons reçoit la Médaille d’or de l’Ordre du mérite de la FCSQ

À l'occasion du gala donnant le coup d'envoi à son colloque qui se déroule aujourd'hui et demain sur le thème Élève qualifié. Valeur ajoutée, la Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec (FCSQ) a rendu hommage à la Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons qui a joué un rôle de premier plan lors de la tragédie de Lac-Mégantic, en lui décernant la Médaille d'or de l'Ordre du mérite.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

QUÉBEC, le 12 juin 2014 /CNW Telbec/ – À l’occasion du gala donnant le coup d’envoi à son colloque qui se déroule aujourd’hui et demain sur le thème Élève qualifié. Valeur ajoutée, la Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec (FCSQ) a rendu hommage à la Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons qui a joué un rôle de premier plan lors de la tragédie de Lac-Mégantic, en lui décernant la Médaille d’or de l’Ordre du mérite. Cette distinction reconnaît notamment le leadership du récipiendaire, son influence, son engagement, sa rigueur et le travail qu’il a effectué pour favoriser la cause de l’éducation.

Le 6 juillet dernier, la municipalité de Lac-Mégantic a été frappée par une tragédie sans précédent, qui a marqué tout le Québec. 47 personnes sont décédées et une partie du centre-ville a été détruite à la suite du déraillement d’un train transportant des wagons remplis de pétrole brut léger.

Un soutien aux sinistrés et aux autorités

Malgré la détresse et le chaos, les secours se sont organisés rapidement et parmi les intervenants de première ligne se trouvait la Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons qui a procédé rapidement à l’ouverture de la Polyvalente de Lac-Mégantic afin d’accueillir les sinistrés. Jusqu’à 300 personnes ont séjourné à la polyvalente, mais le soutien de la commission scolaire à sa communauté lors de cette tragédie s’est aussi traduit par le prêt de locaux à la municipalité, aux policiers et aux pompiers ainsi qu’à certaines entreprises afin d’assurer le bon déroulement de plusieurs services essentiels.

Une rentrée scolaire perturbée

La Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons a également relevé le défi d’organiser la rentrée scolaire en un temps record de deux semaines, grâce à l’entière collaboration du personnel. Elle s’est aussi assuré de mettre en place des mesures d’accompagnement pour le personnel et les élèves qui en ressentaient le besoin.

« Aujourd’hui encore, la commission scolaire est impliquée dans la reconstruction de la municipalité, témoignant ainsi de son rôle incontournable dans le développement socio-économique de son milieu », a souligné la présidente de la FCSQ, Josée Bouchard.

30 ans au service de la FCSQ

La FCSQ a également remis la Médaille d’or de l’Ordre du mérite à Denis Pouliot, pour ses 30 ans de services à la Fédération, notamment comme directeur des communications et des affaires publiques.

La Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec regroupe la vaste majorité des commissions scolaires francophones du Québec ainsi que la Commission scolaire du Littoral. Les commissions scolaires sont des gouvernements locaux qui veillent à la réussite scolaire de plus d’un million d’élèves en assurant des services éducatifs au primaire, au secondaire, en formation professionnelle et à l’éducation des adultes. Elles offrent aussi des services efficaces et essentiels, notamment en matière de ressources humaines et de ressources matérielles et financières. De plus, les commissions scolaires ont la responsabilité de répartir équitablement les ressources entre leurs établissements et de rendre accessible, en tout temps, un transport scolaire sécuritaire.

SOURCE Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec (FCSQ)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct