What is an information medium?

Updated on

As part of the "How do we make information" series, a collaboration between Agence Science-Presse and École branchée, we answer the question: What is a news media?

ATTENTION: If you are browsing the English version of our site, you will probably see an automatic translation of this guide. 😱 You can change the language from the menu in the header of the site or consult our English language guides here.

The main activities aim to:

Discipline(s)/Subject(s):

As part of the series “How do we make information”, the result of a collaboration between Agence Science-Presse and École branchée, we are now answering the question what is 'a news medium and we also nod to Global Media and Information Literacy (MIL) Week.

👀 Background

Celebrated for eight years now, World MIL Week is being held this year from October 24 to 31, 2020. It is the occasion for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and all its partners to take stock and highlight the progress made in achieving the objective of “media and information education for all”.

“World Media and Information Literacy Week and its two flagship events, the MIL and Intercultural Dialogue Conference and the Youth Agenda Forum, call for the organization of local events around the world in order to promote the links between media and information education and all disciplines and professions. "

UNESCO, 2020

Resist disinfodemia

This year's theme, “Resisting disinfodemia,” highlights methods we can use to combat disinformation and strategies to disentangle right from wrong:

"In this way, IME - along with global citizenship education - can help advance the Sustainable Development Goals by equipping citizens with the knowledge, skills, values, and practices necessary to engage as critical thinking citizens in societies. These skills can empower citizens to engage in media development, access to information and knowledge for all, and freedom of expression, all of which have implications for winning the war on misinformation."

UNESCO, 2020

The term "disinfodemia" is formed from the words "infodemia" and "disinformation". Infodemia characterizes the unprecedented phenomenon of the spread of information of all kinds about COVID-19 on the web. Medical misinformation, conspiracy theories, rumors of government measures, hijacked photos and videos, attempted scams or hoaxes, false information about the pandemic is spreading faster than the virus itself. 

“More than ever, conspiracy theories are popular. The charlatans who sell fake miracle cures are rubbing their hands. Fake news puts on their best clothes. And all of this is particularly worrying at a time when correct and accurate information is nothing more or less than a matter of life and death. "

La Presse, April 5, 2020

Sorting out information and disinformation in this ocean of content can be quite an achievement today. People need to be reassured, to know all the answers, to have a feeling of control over the situation. In these times of crisis, it's easy to let emotions get the best of your senses. This is why we find so much content with questionable intentions that can lead to different cognitive biases, thereby altering critical judgment. Some gurus and charlatans therefore take advantage of the situation to influence and rally as many people as possible to their cause.

“Adherence to certain conspiracy theories is often more widespread among young people. This can be explained in particular by the fact that they are more inclined to shun traditional media and to get information on social media. "

La Presse, April 5, 2020

News media

News media have unique cogs that set them apart from other players, such as Facebook, YouTube, bloggers and influencers. This is because the information disseminated by the news media has a direct impact on laws, human rights, politicians, the environment, etc. And unlike other platforms and players, they can be held responsible if they spread false news.

At a time when the media landscape may seem saturated, it is particularly important to understand how the news media work and to know the strict rules they must follow.

You can download here an infographic which will help your students to remember what news media is and to distinguish it from social media such as Facebook or YouTube.

 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

At the end of these activities, students will be able to identify and recognize the role and place of the news media in society.

Disciplines and levels targeted

-French (2nd cycle of secondary)

Read and enjoy a variety of texts

  • Make a critical judgment: take a step back from the text by relying on cultural and media references which confirm the credibility or admissibility of a source or information.

-ECR (1st cycle of secondary)

Theme: autonomy

  • Conditions of autonomy: critical judgment, common sense,
    moral responsibility, the ability to choose, authenticity, etc.
  • Name benchmarks that support and enrich ethical reflection on autonomy.

Dialogue form

  • Conversation, discussion, debate.

Suggested digital tools

  • Make an infographic: Canva
  • Discuss, debate through a podcast: Anchor
  • Analyze a speech on social media: YouTube, Twitter,
    Facebook, etc.
  • Develop a creative scenario: Clips, Sketches

Objectives of the activities

  • Make an infographic that highlights the most important rules in journalism.
  • Debate on the place and role of social media in our society.
  • Analyze the discourse of certain controversial media and reflect on their impact on citizens.
  • Create a scenario exposing behavior that goes against the journalistic code of ethics.

☝️ Activity quiz!

Here is a test what your students can do to sharpen their skills in telling right from wrong. For each post, they do need to remember to check the statement, source and image. Good quiz!


☝️ Activities: What is a news medium?

On the menu of this activity sheet:

  • Exercise 1: On the Internet, find a journalistic code of ethics. To which federation, association or organization does it belong? Which rule seems most important to you? Explain your choice.
  • Exercise 2: Why do you think Instagram, Facebook, YouTube and other social platforms are not considered news media?
  • Exercise 3: Setting the scene
  • Exercise 4: Read the following three situations involving a journalist. Which of these behaviors violates the journalistic code of ethics?

🔎 ABOUT THIS SPECIAL SERIES

Through eight pedagogical sheets, students will be put in the shoes of a journalist and carry out activities specially created to enlighten them on various facets of news production in the age of social networks. 

The design of the various educational sheets was made possible thanks to the collaboration between theScience-Press Agency and École branchée. Each sheet contains a theoretical part on a specific subject relating to the production of information, in addition to activities that tend to develop various disciplinary and digital skills in the student.

Check out the other guides in this special feature:

Sheet #1: Information vs opinion

Sheet #2: How to recognize a reliable news site

Sheet #3: Journalistic sources

Sheet #4: Confirmation bias

Sheet #5: How to recognize hidden advertising

File #7: Scientific information

Sheet #8: Disinformation

🗞 SCOOP! SUBSCRIBE!

To get the suggestions for educational activities, you must subscribe to SCOOP! or be a staff member of a member institution!

Add to favorites (0)

Search for activities >

The search engine allows you to search by keyword, level, learning area, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Back to the home page >

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! activity guides and resources to discover

ANNONCE

Qu’est-ce qu’un média d’information?

Mis à jour le

Dans le cadre de la série « Comment fabrique-t-on de l’information », fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Agence Science-Presse et l’École branchée, nous répondons aujourd'hui à la question : Qu'est-ce qu'un média d'information?

Les activités principales visent :

Discipline(s) / Matière(s) :

Dans le cadre de la série « Comment fabrique-t-on de l’information », fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Agence Science-Presse et l’École branchée, nous répondons aujourd’hui à la question qu’est-ce qu’un média d’information et nous faisons également un clin d’oeil à la Semaine mondiale de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information (EMI).

👀 Le contexte

Célébrée depuis maintenant huit ans, la Semaine mondiale de l’EMI se tient cette année du 24 au 31 octobre 2020. C’est l’occasion pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) et tous ses partenaires de faire le point et de souligner les avancements dans l’atteinte de l’objectif « éducation aux médias et à l’information pour tous ».

« La Semaine mondiale de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information et ses deux événements phares, la Conférence EMI et du dialogue interculturel et le Forum de l’agenda des jeunes, appellent à l’organisation de manifestations locales dans le monde entier afin de promouvoir les liens entre l’éducation aux médias et à l’information et l’ensemble des disciplines et des professions. »

UNESCO, 2020

Résister à la désinfodémie

Le thème de cette année, « Résister à la désinfodémie », met en lumière les méthodes que nous pouvons utiliser pour combattre la désinformation et les stratégies pour démêler le vrai du faux :

« De cette façon, l’EMI – avec l’éducation à la citoyenneté mondiale – peut aider à progresser vers les objectifs de développement durable en dotant les citoyens des connaissances, des compétences, des valeurs et des pratiques nécessaires pour s’engager en tant que citoyens à la pensée critique dans les sociétés. Ces compétences peuvent donner aux citoyens les moyens de s’impliquer dans le développement des médias, l’accès à l’information et au savoir pour tous, et la liberté d’expression, qui ont tous des répercussions sur la manière de gagner la guerre contre la désinformation. »

UNESCO, 2020

Le terme « désinfodémie » est formé à partir des mots « infodémie » et « désinformation ». L’infodémie caractérise le phénomène sans précédent de propagation d’informations de toutes sortes concernant la COVID-19 sur le Web. Désinformation médicale, théories du complot, rumeurs sur les mesures gouvernementales, photos et vidéos détournées, tentatives d’arnaques ou canulars, les fausses informations concernant la pandémie se propagent plus rapidement que le virus lui-même. 

« Plus que jamais, les théories du complot ont la cote. Les charlatans qui vendent de faux remèdes miracles se frottent les mains. Les fausses nouvelles mettent leurs plus beaux habits. Et tout ça est particulièrement inquiétant à une époque où l’information juste et rigoureuse n’est ni plus ni moins qu’une question de vie ou de mort. »

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

Faire la part des choses entre information et désinformation dans cet océan de contenu peut s’avérer être un exploit actuellement. Les gens ont besoin d’être rassurés, de connaître toutes les réponses, d’avoir une impression de contrôle sur la situation. En ces temps de crise, il est facile de laisser les émotions prendre le dessus sur la raison. C’est pourquoi nous retrouvons autant de contenu aux intentions douteuses qui peut mener à différents biais cognitifs, altérant du même coup le jugement critique. Certains gourous et charlatans profitent donc de la situation pour influencer et rallier un maximum de gens à leur cause.

« L’adhésion à certaines théories conspirationnistes est souvent plus répandue chez les jeunes. Cela s’explique notamment par le fait qu’ils ont davantage tendance à bouder les médias traditionnels et à s’informer dans les médias sociaux. »

La Presse, 5 avril 2020

Les médias d’information

Les médias d’information ont des rouages bien particuliers qui les distinguent des autres joueurs, comme Facebook, YouTube, les blogueurs et les influenceurs. C’est que l’information diffusée par les médias d’information a un impact direct sur les lois, les droits de la personne, les politiciens, l’environnement, etc. Et contrairement aux autres plateformes et joueurs, ils peuvent être tenus responsables s’ils diffusent une fausse nouvelle.

À l’heure où le paysage médiatique peut paraître saturé, il est particulièrement important de bien comprendre le fonctionnement des médias d’information et de connaître les règles strictes qu’ils doivent respecter.

Vous pouvez télécharger ici une infographie qui aidera vos élèves à se rappeler ce qu’est un média d’information et de le distinguer du média social tel que Facebook ou YouTube.

 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Au terme de ces activités, l’élève sera en mesure d’identifier et reconnaître le rôle et la place du média d’information dans la société.

Disciplines et niveaux visés

-Français (2e cycle du secondaire)

Lire et apprécier des textes variés

  • Porter un jugement critique : prendre du recul par rapport au texte en s’appuyant sur des repères culturels et médiatiques qui confirment le caractère crédible ou recevable d’une source ou d’une information.

-ECR (1er cycle du secondaire)

Thème : l’autonomie

  • Des conditions de l’autonomie : le jugement critique, le bon sens, la
    responsabilité morale, la capacité de choisir, l’authenticité, etc.
  • Nommer des repères qui soutiennent et enrichissent la réflexion éthique sur l’autonomie.

Forme de dialogue

  • Conversation, discussion, débat.

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Réaliser une infographie : Canva
  • Discuter, débattre à travers un balado : Anchor
  • Analyser un discours sur un média social : YouTube, Twitter,
    Facebook, etc.
  • Élaborer une mise en situation créative : Clips, Sketches

Objectifs des activités

  • Réaliser une infographie qui met en lumière les règles les plus importantes en journalisme.
  • Débattre sur la place et le rôle des médias sociaux dans notre société.
  • Analyser le discours de certains médias controversés et réfléchir à leur portée sur les citoyens.
  • Créer une mise en situation exposant un comportement qui va à l’encontre du code de déontologie journalistique.

☝️ Activité quiz!

Voici un test que vos élèves peuvent faire pour aiguiser leurs compétences à distinguer le vrai du faux. Pour chaque publication, ils ne doivent se rappeler de vérifier l’énoncé, la source et l’image. Bon quiz!


☝️ Activités : Qu’est-ce qu’un média d’information?

Au menu de cette fiche d’activités :

  • Exercice 1 : Sur Internet, trouvez un code de déontologie journalistique. À quelle fédération, association ou organisation appartient-il? Quelle règle vous semble la plus importante? Expliquez votre choix.
  • Exercice 2 : Selon vous, pourquoi Instagram, Facebook, YouTube et d’autres plateformes sociales ne sont-elles pas considérées comme des médias d’information?
  • Exercice 3 : Mise en situation
  • Exercice 4 : Lisez les trois situations suivantes mettant en scène un journaliste. Lequel de ces comportements va à l’encontre du code de déontologie journalistique?

🔎 À PROPOS DE CETTE SÉRIE SPÉCIALE

À travers huit fiches pédagogiques, les élèves seront amenés à se placer dans la peau d’un journaliste et à réaliser des activités créées spécialement pour les éclairer sur diverses facettes de la production de l’information à l’ère des réseaux sociaux. 

La conception des différentes fiches pédagogiques a été rendue possible grâce à la collaboration entre l’Agence Science-Presse et l’École branchée. Chaque fiche renferme une partie théorique sur un sujet précis touchant la production d’information, en plus d’activités qui tendent à développer diverses compétences disciplinaires et numériques chez l’élève.

Consultez les autres guides de ce dossier spécial :

Fiche #1 : Information vs opinion

Fiche #2 : Comment reconnaître un site d’information fiable

Fiche #3 : Les sources journalistiques

Fiche #4 : Le biais de confirmation

Fiche #5 : Comment reconnaître la publicité cachée

Fiche #7 : L’information scientifique

Fiche #8 : Désinformateurs

🗞 SCOOP! ABONNEZ-VOUS!

Pour obtenir les suggestions d'activités pédagogiques, vous devez vous abonner à SCOOP! ou faire partie du personnel d'un établissement membre!

Outils pratiques

Marquer comme favori (0)

Télécharger un graphique SSA

PDF : Ce que je sais, ce que je veux savoir, ce que j'ai appris.

Recherche d'activités >

Trouvez une activité par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Retour à la page d'accueil >

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir