A look back at the 2017 BETT: some discoveries

Our collaborator shares discoveries made during her visit to BETT, the global digital education fair which was recently held in London.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Our collaborator shares today some of the discoveries she made during her visit to BETT, the global digital education fair which was recently held in London.

The BETT (British Educational Training and Technology Show), a global digital education fair, was held in London from January 25 to 28. This event brought together in four days more than 800 exhibitors, 528 speakers, a number of workshops and 34,500 visitors from 138 countries!

Yesterday i shared general trends that I observed there. Here are some discoveries that caught my attention.

 

The STEAM Village

STEAM Village (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
STEAM Village (Photo: Ninon Louise Lepage)

Thirteen companies exhibited in the space called STEAM Village, including several international companies such as Microsoft, Raspberry Pi and Discovery Education, as well as various startups.

The disciplinary “silos” tending to disappear in education, interdisciplinary learning and collaborative work were encouraged during the workshops presented in this space. Programming and robotics, augmented reality, creation of video games, virtual reality and holograms found their place there.

We were also able to discover the new magazine (Bonjour Monde), dedicated to digital teachers in Great Britain, part of the first issue of which is devoted to the legacy of Seymour Papert, who died last summer. The father of the Logo language was a true visionary. The constructivist theory of education that he defended allows us to better understand how children learn. Applying his ideas on education, creative learning, is not always easy. He advocated project-based pedagogy, encouraged children's passion for a field of work, recognized the intrinsic value of teamwork and the importance of play. He summed up the “four Ps” as follows: projects, passion, peers and play.

 

pi-top

Pi-top au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
pi-top at BETT 2017 (Photo: Ninon Louise Lepage)

pi-top is the winner of the "Edtech Start Up Company of the Year" award at BETT 2017. It is the first do-it-yourself laptop. Building this laptop allows you to understand the basic architecture of the computer. There is a modular rail on which are connected additional modules that make your computer unique. You can replace your microprocessor at the release of a new model. Worksheets, available on the company website, guide the novice step by step to allow him to design complex computer programs and equipment.

pi-top-02
pi-top at BETT 2017 (Photo: Ninon Louise Lepage)

 

BBC micro: bit

Micro:Bit au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
micro: bit at BETT 2017 (Photo: Ninon Louise Lepage)

Our BBC micro: bit is a programmable handheld computer featuring a motion sensor, 25 LED lights and using Bluetooth technology to interact with other digital devices and connect to the Internet. The BBC micro: bit allows you to create a thousand and one creations, ranging from robots to musical instruments. With the micro: bit, you can become a great inventor in no time! The device is the result of a partnership between ARM, Amazon, BBC, British Council, IET, Lancaster University, Microsoft, Nominet and Samsung. A BBC micro: bit is given to all grade 1 studentstime year of secondary school in Great Britain as part of the computer training program. For now, this little wonder is only available in Europe, but it will probably soon be possible to get it from your favorite computer hardware store ...

 

CBSecurepass

CBSecurepass is a system for controlling and managing access to the school for visitors. Its stand-alone touchscreen monitor stores visitor information in an encrypted database. The system takes the visitor's photo, notes the date and time of entry, and prints an ID card for the visitor to wear. In addition to this application, CBSecurepass can provide a complex traffic management system for visitors, students and staff.

 

safeguard

By law, teachers and schools, just like doctors, are required to disclose cases of abuse to the Youth Protection Office. In this sense, safeguard is a digital application facilitating the transmission of files in these sad situations. Teachers can record their doubts and draw on a child's diagram the places where they see injuries or bruises. Over months or weeks, educators can accumulate the observations they need to know whether to intervene.

 

* * *

Come back tomorrow for a report on a very popular conference, that of Sir Ken Robinson!

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise LePage is a pedagogue and museologist who recently came out of premature retirement to be reborn as an educational designation. She has taught at the Université du Québec à Montréal and the Université de Sherbrooke in science education, in addition to working at the Canadian Heritage Information Network as a museology consultant. She also writes for our French friends at Ludomag. She also invites all interested to contact her so that she can talk about you, your students, your school and your particular experiences in digital and computer education.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Retour sur le BETT 2017 : quelques découvertes

Notre collaboratrice partage des découvertes faites lors de sa visite au BETT, salon mondial du numérique en éducation qui s’est tenu récemment à Londres.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaboratrice partage aujourd’hui quelques-unes des découvertes qu’elle a faites lors de sa visite au BETT, salon mondial du numérique en éducation qui s’est tenu récemment à Londres.

Le BETT (British Educational Training and Technology Show), salon mondial du numérique pour l’éducation, s’est tenu à Londres du 25 au 28 janvier dernier. Cette manifestation a réuni en quatre jours plus de 800 exposants, 528 conférenciers, quantité d’ateliers et 34 500 visiteurs venus de 138 pays!

Hier, je partageais les tendances générales que j’y ai observées. Voici maintenant quelques découvertes qui ont retenu mon attention.

 

Le STEAM Village

STEAM Village (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
STEAM Village (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)

Treize entreprises exposaient dans l’espace appelé STEAM Village, dont plusieurs entreprises internationales telles Microsoft, Raspberry Pi et Discovery Education, ainsi que diverses startups.

Les « silos » disciplinaires tendant à disparaître en éducation, l’apprentissage interdisciplinaire et le travail collaboratif étaient favorisés lors des ateliers présentés dans cet espace. Programmation et robotique, réalité augmentée, création de jeux vidéo, réalité virtuelle et hologrammes y trouvaient leur place.

On a pu y découvrir aussi le nouveau magazine (Hello World), dédié aux enseignants spécialistes du numérique en Grande-Bretagne, dont une partie du premier numéro est consacrée à l’héritage de Seymour Papert, décédé l’été dernier. Le père du langage Logo était un véritable visionnaire. La théorie constructiviste de l’éducation qu’il a défendue permet de mieux comprendre comment apprennent les enfants. Appliquer ses idées sur l’éducation, l’apprentissage créateur, n’est pas toujours facile. Il préconisait la pédagogie par projets, encourageait la passion des enfants pour un domaine de travail, reconnaissait la valeur intrinsèque du travail d’équipe et l’importance du jeu. Il résumait ainsi les « quatre P » : projects, passion, peers and play.

 

pi-top

Pi-top au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
pi-top au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)

pi-top est le gagnant du prix « Edtech Start Up Company of the Year » au BETT 2017. Il s’agit du premier portable à faire soi-même. Construire ce portable permet de comprendre l’architecture de base de l’ordinateur. On y trouve un rail modulaire sur lequel se branchent des modules complémentaires qui permettent de rendre son ordinateur unique. On peut remplacer son micro processeur à la sortie d’un nouveau modèle. Des feuilles de travail, disponibles sur le site de la compagnie, guident pas à pas le novice jusqu’à lui permettre de concevoir des programmes et du matériel informatique complexe.

pi-top-02
pi-top au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)

 

BBC micro:bit

Micro:Bit au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)
micro:bit au BETT 2017. (Photo : Ninon Louise Lepage)

Le BBC micro:bit est un ordinateur de poche programmable comprenant un détecteur de mouvement, 25 lumières LED et utilisant la technologie Bluetooth pour interagir avec d’autres appareils numériques et se connecter à Internet. Le BBC micro:bit permet de réaliser mille et une créations, allant de robots jusqu’à des instruments de musique. Avec le micro:bit, on peut devenir un super inventeur en un rien de temps! L’appareil est le résultat d’un partenariat entre ARM, Amazon, BBC, British Council, IET, Lancaster University, Microsoft, Nominet et Samsung. Un BBC micro:bit est donné à tous les élèves de 1ère année du secondaire en Grande-Bretagne dans le cadre du programme de formation à l’informatique. Pour l’instant, cette petite merveille n’est disponible qu’en Europe, mais il sera sans doute bientôt possible de se la procurer chez son marchand de matériel informatique préféré…

 

CBSecurepass

CBSecurepass est un système de contrôle et de gestion d’accès à l’école pour les visiteurs. Son moniteur autonome à écran tactile enregistre les informations relatives au visiteur dans une base de données cryptée. Le système prend la photo du visiteur, note la date et l’heure d’entrée et imprime une carte d’identité qu’il doit porter. Outre cette application, CBSecurepass peut procurer un système complexe de gestion de la circulation des visiteurs, des élèves et du personnel.

 

safeguard

Selon la loi, les enseignants et les écoles, tout comme les médecins, sont dans l’obligation de dévoiler à l’Office de protection de la jeunesse les cas de maltraitance. En ce sens, safeguard est une application numérique facilitant la transmission de dossiers dans ces tristes situations. Le personnel enseignant peut enregistrer ses doutes ainsi que dessiner sur un schéma d’enfant les endroits où il observe des blessures ou des ecchymoses. Au fil des mois ou des semaines, les éducateurs peuvent accumuler les observations nécessaires pour leur permettre de savoir s’il leur faut intervenir.

 

* * *

Revenez demain pour un compte-rendu d’une conférence très courue, celle de Sir Ken Robinson!

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Ninon Louise Lepage
Ninon Louise LePage est pédagogue et muséologue récemment sortie d’une retraite prématurée pour renaître comme désigner pédagogique. Elle a enseigné à l'Université du Québec à Montréal et à l'Université de Sherbrooke en didactique des sciences, en plus de travailler au Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine comme expert-conseil en muséologie. Elle écrit également pour nos amis français chez Ludomag. Elle invite par ailleurs tous les intéressés à la contacter afin qu’elle parle de vous, vos élèves, votre école et vos expériences particulières en éducation au numérique et à l’informatique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :