ADVERTISEMENT

Crossed perspectives between Quebec and Belgium: The recognition and valorization of the teaching profession in everyday life

Being a teacher is "the most beautiful job in the world", many people who practice it will tell you without hesitation. It is a demanding profession, with its share of pain, joy and unforgettable experiences. For many, it would have been impossible to choose another career path. However, and the observation is the same whether you are in Belgium or in Quebec, the profession suffers from a deep devaluation, which even drives away future candidates.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

This article was co-authored with Laurent Di Pasquale as part of a partnership with theEduLAB.

Being a teacher is "the most beautiful job in the world", many people who practice it will tell you without hesitation. It is a demanding profession, with its share of pain, joy and unforgettable experiences. For many, it would have been impossible to choose another career path. 

However, and the observation is the same whether you are in Belgium or Quebec, the profession suffers from a profound devaluation, which even drives away future candidates. With increasingly difficult working conditions, the instability of first jobs and the precariousness of annual contracts, the profession has a bad reputation (rightly or wrongly).

In Belgium, for example, one in five teachers leaves teaching within the first five years. According to a study conducted by the University of Mons in 2020-2021, as many as 34 % in Belgium had thought of leaving the profession. 

In Quebec, the statistics are a cut and paste. The situation is the same. Add to this the fact that the Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la formation et la profession enseignante (CRIFPE) estimates that 40 % of Quebec teachers will gradually leave their profession for retirement by 2030. Will the next generation of teachers be there despite the lack of recognition of the profession?

However, in Belgium and Quebec, there are examples of initiatives aimed at enhancing the value of the profession, counter-examples that are strikingly positive! In this text, we offer you our analysis to show you that yes, the teaching profession can be valued in many ways! 

1) The valorization of education through official channels

Belgium is a small country, but with a multitude of official actors (sometimes too many!). This can be a constraint for many subjects, but on the contrary it is a good opportunity for teachers to be valued in various ways. 

Thus, let us note first of all the projects " Digital School "of the Walloon region. The objective of this program is to equip schools and provide them with digital material for students every year, based on the project of one or more teachers. Regularly, the different projects and the teachers who carry them are highlighted through Facebook page and the Digital School Project website. 

This valorization reaches its peak during a well-known event in Belgium: Ludovia (a concept coming straight to us of our French friends). During these three days, which take place at the beginning of November, different teachers with projects in their classes have the opportunity to come and exchange and present their achievements to their colleagues from all over Wallonia (but also from France, Switzerland, and sometimes much further away!). 

The Wallonia-Brussels Federation is for its part the largest organizing power for education in Belgium. And it also participates in the effort of valorization through his Facebook pagebut also via its E-Classroom platform, where it also promotes many teachers and educational practices.  

Finally, various contests and awards allow teachers to showcase the positive actions they have accomplished. Every year, for example, the Queen Paola Prize awards various educational projects and their teachers, who have shown themselves to be particularly creative and effective in dealing with complex situations. 

https://fb.watch/gxgRZW2E0s/

In Quebec, the Ministry of Education (MEQ) is implementing various initiatives aimed at promotion of the teaching professionThis is a great way to get to know the people who work in the field, such as Teachers' Week, which takes place in February of each year. A Strategy for Valuing School Personnel was also published in 2022. "Acting on the valorization of school personnel will ultimately contribute to fostering staff retention, strengthening their commitment and mobilization, and making careers in education more attractive," the MEQ states in the introduction. 

With this strategy, the ministry is planning several measures that should allow the profession to shine more brightly and support teachers in their daily work. For example, a reference framework for the professional integration of teachers, support for the professional development of school personnel and the establishment of an annual Day for the Valorization of School Personnel. As the strategy is relatively new, it remains to be seen how it will be implemented.

Furthermore, Order of Excellence in Educationcreated in 2018, allows the Quebec government to recognize the merits of certain actors in the field of education and higher education in Quebec each year. 

The unions representing teachers in Quebec have also been behind a number of initiatives to raise awareness, such as the series of videos Teacher's life which presents funny scenes from the professional life of teachers and their repercussions on their personal life. It is essentially a public relations operation to show the working conditions of teachers. 

2) To be valued by one's environment

In Quebec, the promotion of teaching comes mainly from the various groups that offer showcases to those who implement promising or innovative projects in their classrooms. During annual conferences and symposiums, teachers can submit proposals for conferences and workshops. They then have the opportunity to present their projects, share their learning and inspire other teachers to do the same. 

For example, the annualAssociation Québécoise des Utilisateurs d'Outils technologiques à des fins Pédagogiques et Sociales (AQUOPS), the Digital education summitCongress, theQuebec Association of Elementary Teachers (AQEP) and other disciplinary conferences (French, mathematics, science and technology, etc.).

Also, let's remember that École branchée is a media entirely dedicated to education whose mission includes, among other things, the promotion of positive experiences of teachers in the digital age.  

Finally, there are various communities of practice that allow Quebec teachers to exchange with each other and to grow professionally. This is notably the case with theNetworked school which offers several activities and communities of practice that culminate in the annual knowledge transfer event. Another example is the entrepreneurial classes that come together to celebrate at the annualIDEAfor example. In the same spirit, in Belgium, initiatives such as the learning community (eduLAB and UMONS) allow teachers from different backgrounds to share their practices on a regular basis and online.  

On the other hand, despite these opportunities to publicize their projects, many teachers are still reluctant to step outside the classroom. Perhaps some contexts are less conducive than others to encouraging teachers who step out of the box to showcase their achievements. However, we believe that every opportunity is a good one to showcase your accomplishments!

In Belgium, the same observation can be made: although teachers often do beautiful things and class projects that deserve to be known, it is clear that (too) few have the desire to make them known. Wouldn't it first be necessary to take a more positive approach to criticism of one's own teaching actions and to be open to improvement and comments from one's peers? 

Thus, there will be no lack of opportunities to positively present one's ideas for activities and achievements.

To be valued in one's environment sometimes takes time, and a lot of energy. Sometimes the saying "no man is a prophet in his own country" is still true, but you have to persevere to contradict it!

3) Turn to social networks to fill the gap? 

In order to value the teaching profession in a different way, more and more teachers (like Laurent, the co-author of these lines!) are turning to social networks to make their work known. What a pleasure to be (finally) listened to, to have a positive and constructive feedback on what we do and to build a network of collaborators by the same token!

When Laurent started on social networks with his page Ed.Tech: ICT and new pedagogical practicesHis goal was to compile various tips and resources that he felt would be useful to his colleagues. Since then, it has really served as a sounding board for him to express himself! 

In Belgium, he is not the only one. So, here is a small list of teachers that we warmly recommend you to follow in order to benefit from advice, resources, and a great dose of pedagogical creativity! 

In Belgium, it happens on Facebook: 

In Quebec, go on Twitter (or elsewhere) with : 

  • 1 App per day (Teacher Sylvain Duclos is omnipresent on all platforms!)
  • Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette (an elementary school teacher with a thousand ideas)
  • Mr. Social Universe (high school social studies teacher, Mathieu Mercier)
  • The service geek (the pedagogical advisor Alexandra Coutlée, now part of the École branchée team, presents her technological discoveries for the class)
  • Jessy rodrigue (Educational consultant in technology integration)

All of them have one thing in common: the immense desire to share and help their colleagues (direct or indirect). And what if the secret of valorization was there? To have the desire to help and positively advance the teaching community with a capital E? Here, everyone has found a way to value their work and to transmit their passion for teaching to others.

4) Teachers' use of digital technology to build communities

If we look closely at the profile of the teachers mentioned above, almost all of them have this same point in common: the use of digital technology in their classrooms. Is this an obligation in order to be valued in the teaching profession? Not necessarily. 

Digital technology is only a tool at our disposal, it must be remembered, to carry out very human actions. Thus, it is above all their values, their commitment and their desires that will sooner or later allow teachers to be more valued in their function. The use of digital technology as a means of communication opens up new frontiers to shine outside the usual networks.

Thus, and on a global scale, the latest winners of the " Global Teacher Prize "were first and foremost teachers who were resilient in their profession to get students to progress (with or without digital). 

However, let's not hide it: mastering digital tools and developing innovative projects allows some teachers to shine more quickly. And you, do you want to shine or make your colleagues shine? What are the means implemented in your environments or on which you can act to enhance the profession and thus reverse the spiral of demobilization that is felt at the moment? Share them with us: info@ecolebranchee.com

In closing, we hope that you have had as much pleasure as we have in discovering these differences between European and Quebec practices.

See you soon for a new column Regards croisés entre la Belgique et le Québec!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Regards croisés entre le Québec et la Belgique : La reconnaissance et la valorisation de la profession enseignante au quotidien

Être enseignant, c’est le « le plus beau métier du monde », vous diront sans hésiter de nombreuses personnes qui le pratiquent. C’est une profession exigeante, avec son lot de peines, de joies, d’expériences inoubliables. Pour plusieurs, il aurait été impossible de choisir une autre voie professionnelle. Cependant, et le constat est le même que l’on se trouve en Belgique ou au Québec, la profession souffre d’une profonde dévalorisation, qui fait même fuir les futurs candidats.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Cet article a été corédigé avec Laurent Di Pasquale dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec l’EduLAB.

Être enseignant, c’est le « le plus beau métier du monde », vous diront sans hésiter de nombreuses personnes qui le pratiquent. C’est une profession exigeante, avec son lot de peines, de joies, d’expériences inoubliables. Pour plusieurs, il aurait été impossible de choisir une autre voie professionnelle. 

Cependant, et le constat est le même que l’on se trouve en Belgique ou au Québec, la profession souffre d’une profonde dévalorisation, qui fait même fuir les futurs candidats. Conditions de travail de plus en plus difficiles, instabilité des premiers emplois, précarité dans l’attribution des contrats annuels, la profession a mauvaise presse (à tort ou à raison).

En Belgique par exemple, un enseignant sur cinq quitte l’enseignement dans les 5 premières années. Selon une étude menée par l’Université de Mons en 2020-2021, ils étaient même en Belgique jusqu’à 34 % à avoir pensé quitter la profession. 

Au Québec, les statistiques sont du copier-coller. La situation est la même. Ajoutons à cela le fait que le Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la formation et la profession enseignante (CRIFPE) estime que 40 % des enseignants québécois quitteront progressivement leur profession en vue de leur retraite d’ici à 2030. La relève sera-t-elle au rendez-vous malgré le manque de valorisation de la profession?

Tant du côté de la Belgique que du Québec, il existe pourtant des exemples d’initiatives visant à valoriser la profession, des contre-exemples qui frappent par leur positivisme! Dans ce texte, nous vous livrons notre analyse pour vous montrer que oui, la profession enseignante peut être valorisée de bien des manières! 

1) La valorisation de l’enseignement par les voies officielles

La Belgique est un petit pays, mais avec une multitude d’acteurs officiels (parfois trop, d’ailleurs!). Cela peut représenter une contrainte pour bien des sujets, mais il s’agit au contraire d’une bonne occasion pour les enseignantes et les enseignants d’être valorisés de diverses manières. 

Ainsi, notons tout d’abord les projets « École numérique » de la région Wallonne. Celui-ci a pour objectif d’équiper les écoles et de leur fournir tous les ans du matériel numérique à destination des élèves, porté par le projet d’un ou plusieurs enseignants. Régulièrement, les différents projets, et les enseignants qui les portent, sont ainsi mis en lumière à travers la page Facebook et le site Web du projet École numérique. 

Cette valorisation atteint son paroxysme lors d’un événement bien connu en Belgique : Ludovia (un concept nous venant tout droit de nos amis Français). Durant ces trois jours qui se déroulent début novembre, différents enseignants porteurs de projets au sein de leurs classes ont l’occasion de venir échanger et présenter leurs réalisations auprès de leurs collègues venus de toute la Wallonie (mais également de France, Suisse, et parfois bien plus loin!). 

La Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles est pour sa part le plus grand pouvoir organisateur de l’enseignement en Belgique. Et elle participe aussi à l’effort de valorisation à travers sa page Facebook, mais également via sa plateforme E-Classe, où elle promeut également de nombreux enseignants et pratiques éducatives.  

Enfin, différents concours et prix permettent aux membres du personnel enseignant de faire rayonner les actions positives qu’ils ont pu accomplir. Tous les ans par exemple, le prix Reine Paola récompense différents projets pédagogiques et leurs enseignants, qui se montrés particulièrement créatifs et efficaces pour faire face à des situations complexes. 

https://fb.watch/gxgRZW2E0s/

Au Québec, le ministère de l’Éducation (MEQ) met en place différentes initiatives visant la valorisation de la profession enseignante, comme la Semaine des enseignantes et des enseignants qui se déroule en février de chaque année. Une Stratégie visant à valoriser le personnel scolaire a aussi été publié en 2022. « Agir sur la valorisation du personnel scolaire contribuera, à terme, à favoriser la fidélisation du personnel, à renforcer son engagement et sa mobilisation et à rendre les carrières en éducation plus attrayantes », indique le MEQ dans l’introduction. 

Avec cette stratégie, le ministère prévoit plusieurs mesures qui devraient permettre de faire davantage briller la profession et en plus de soutenir les enseignants dans leur travail au quotidien. À titre d’exemple, mentionnons le déploiement d’un cadre de référence pour l’insertion professionnelle du personnel enseignant, le soutien au développement professionnel du personnel scolaire et la mise en plus d’une Journée annuelle de la valorisation du personnel scolaire. La Stratégie étant relativement nouvelle, il reste à voir la façon dont elle sera appliquée.

De plus, l’Ordre de l’excellence en éducation, créée en 2018, permet au gouvernement québécois de reconnaître les mérites de certains acteurs du milieu de l’éducation et de l’enseignement supérieur au Québec à chaque année. 

Les syndicats représentant les enseignants au Québec sont aussi à l’origine de différentes initiatives de valorisation, comme la série de capsules vidéos Vie de prof qui présente des scènes cocasses de la vie professionnelle des enseignants et leurs répercussions sur leur vie personnelle. Il s’agit essentiellement d’opération de relations publiques permettant de témoigner des conditions de travail des enseignants. 

2) Être valorisé par son propre milieu

Au Québec, la valorisation de l’enseignement vient surtout des différents regroupements qui offrent des vitrines à ceux qui mettent en place des projets porteurs ou innovants dans leur classe. Ainsi, lors des congrès et colloques annuels, les enseignants peuvent soumettre des propositions de conférences et d’ateliers. Ils ont alors l’occasion de présenter leurs projets, de partager leurs apprentissages et d’inspirer d’autres enseignants à faire de même. 

À titre d’exemple, notons le colloque annuel de l’Association Québécoise des Utilisateurs d’Outils technologiques à des fins Pédagogiques et Sociales (AQUOPS), le Sommet du numérique en éducation, le congrès de l’Association québécoise des enseignantes et des enseignants du primaire (AQEP) et autres congrès disciplinaires (français, mathématiques, sciences et technologies, etc.).

Aussi, rappelons que l’École branchée est un média entièrement dédié à l’éducation dont la mission comprend, entre autres, un volet de valorisation d’expériences positives des enseignantes et des enseignants à l’ère du numérique.  

Enfin, il existe différentes communautés de pratique permettant aux enseignants du Québec d’échanger entre eux et de s’épanouir professionnellement. C’est notamment le cas avec l’École en réseau qui offre plusieurs activités et communautés de pratique qui culminent à l’occasion de l’événement annuel de transfert de connaissances. Pensons aussi aux classes entrepreneuriales qui se rassemblent pour célébrer à l’occasion du congrès annuel d’IDÉE, par exemple. Dans le même esprit, en Belgique, des initiatives telles que la communauté apprenante (eduLAB et UMONS) permettent à des enseignants de différents milieux de pouvoir partager leurs pratiques de manière régulière et en ligne.  

Par contre, malgré ces possibilités de faire connaître publiquement leurs projets, plusieurs enseignants hésitent encore à sortir de la classe. Peut-être certains contextes sont-ils moins favorables que d’autres pour inciter les enseignants qui sortent un peu de la boîte à mettre en valeur leurs réalisations. Pourtant, nous croyons que toutes les occasions sont bonnes de faire briller celles-ci!

En Belgique même constat : si les enseignants réalisent souvent de belles choses, et des projets de classe qui méritent d’être connus, force est de constater que (trop) peu ont l’envie de les faire connaître. Ne serait-il pas d’abord nécessaire d’appréhender plus positivement une critique envers ses propres actions pédagogiques et de savoir s’ouvrir à l’amélioration et à la remarque de la part de ses pairs? 

Ainsi, les occasions ne manqueront pas de pouvoir présenter positivement ses idées d’activités, ses réalisations.

Être valorisé dans son milieu prend parfois du temps, et beaucoup d’énergie. Il arrive encore que le dicton « nul n’est prophète en son pays » soit juste, mais il faut persévérer pour le contredire!

3) Se tourner vers les réseaux sociaux pour combler le manque? 

Afin de valoriser autrement la profession enseignante, de plus en plus d’enseignants (tel Laurent, le coauteur de ces lignes!) se tournent vers les réseaux sociaux pour faire connaître leur travail. Quel plaisir d’être (enfin) écouté, d’avoir un retour positif et constructif sur ce que l’on fait et de se construire un réseau de collaborateurs par le fait même!

Lorsque Laurent s’est lancé sur les réseaux sociaux avec sa page Ed.Tech : TIC et nouvelles pratiques pédagogiques, il avait pour objectif de compiler différents conseils et ressources qu’il jugeait utiles pour ses collègues. Depuis, cela lui a réellement servi de caisse de résonance pour pouvoir s’exprimer! 

En Belgique, il n’est pas le seul. Ainsi, voici une petite liste d’enseignantes et d’enseignants que nous vous recommandons chaleureusement de suivre pour pouvoir à la fois bénéficier de conseils, de ressources, et d’une grande dose de créativité pédagogique! 

En Belgique, ça se passe sur Facebook : 

Au Québec, rendez-vous sur Twitter (ou ailleurs) avec : 

  • 1 App par jour (l’enseignant Sylvain Duclos est omniprésent sur toutes les plateformes!)
  • Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette (une enseignante au primaire aux mille idées)
  • Monsieur Univers social (l’enseignant au secondaire en univers social, Mathieu Mercier)
  • La Geek de service (la conseillère pédagogique Alexandra Coutlée, maintenant dans l’équipe de l’École branchée, présente ses découvertes technos pour la classe)
  • Jessy Rodrigue (conseillère pédagogique en intégration des technologies)

Tous et toutes ont un point commun : l’immense envie de partager et d’aider leurs collègues (directs ou indirects). Et si le secret de la valorisation était là? Avoir envie d’aider et de faire progresser positivement la communauté enseignante avec un grand E? Ici, chacun a su trouver une manière de valoriser son travail et de transmettre sa passion pour l’enseignement aux autres.

4) L’usage du numérique par les enseignants pour se bâtir des communautés

Si l’on regarde attentivement le profil des enseignants mentionnés plus haut, presque tous ont ce même point commun : l’usage du numérique et des nouvelles technologies dans leurs classes. Serait-ce une obligation afin d’être valorisé dans son métier d’enseignant? Pas forcément. 

Le numérique n’est qu’un outil à notre disposition, faut-il le rappeler, pour réaliser des actions bien humaines. Ainsi, ce sont avant tout leurs valeurs, leur engagement et leurs envies qui permettront tôt ou tard de faire en sorte que les enseignantes et les enseignants seront davantage valorisés dans leur fonction. L’usage du numérique comme moyen de communication ouvre néanmoins de nouvelles frontières pour pouvoir briller hors des réseaux habituels.

Ainsi, et à l’échelle mondiale, les derniers gagnants du prix « Global Teacher Prize » étaient avant tout des enseignants et enseignantes qui faisaient preuve de résilience dans leur profession pour amener les élèves à progresser (avec ou sans numérique). 

Cependant, ne nous le cachons pas : maîtriser les outils numériques et développer des projets innovants permet de mettre plus rapidement en lumière certains enseignants. Et vous, avez-vous envie de briller ou de faire briller vos collègues? Quels sont les moyens mis en place dans vos milieux ou sur lesquels vous pouvez agir pour valoriser la profession et ainsi renverser la spirale de démobilisation qui se fait sentir en ce moment? Partagez-nous-les : info@ecolebranchee.com

En terminant, nous espérons que vous avez eu autant de plaisir que nous à découvrir ces différences entre les pratiques européennes et québécoises.

On se retrouve bientôt pour une nouvelle chronique Regards croisés entre la Belgique et le Québec!

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :