What are the informational skills of future teachers?

Montreal - The APSDS Colloquium entitled Growing, Learning, Understanding: Imagining a Continuum of Informational Skills in Elementary and Secondary School took place on November 4 at the Palais des Congrès. Designed for school staff working in libraries, this event took place within the framework of the second congress of documentary circles. Infobourg attended one of the workshops of the conference.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Montreal - The APSDS Symposium entitled Growing, learning, understanding: imagining a continuum of information skills in elementary and secondary schools took place on November 4 at the Palais des Congrès. Intended for school staff working in libraries, this event took place within the framework of the second congress of documentary circles. Infobourg attended one of the workshops of the conference.

Thierry karsenti, of the Canada Research Chair in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in Education and Gabriel Dumouchel, doctoral student in educational psychology at the University of Montreal, shared the results of a study on information skills future teachers and the potential impact of these results on primary and secondary students.

To begin, Mr. Karsenti clarified his vision of the teaching profession and that of librarian by qualifying them as “2 solitudes”. According to him, there is a lack of interaction between these professionals who both work with students with the same objective, that of helping young people in the search and analysis of information.

Access to information was then discussed. According to Karsenti, this is no longer a problem nowadays even as some statistics have overturned the idea that students in disadvantaged areas do not have access to information.

Moreover, it is only natural to think that teachers have to be skilled with technologies in order to be able to teach their students how to use them. Mr. Dumouchel therefore presented the results of a study conducted among future teachers. This shows that teaching students perceive themselves to be very good at teaching information skills to students. This impression stems from the fact that they use the computer, the Internet and search engines every day, in a proportion of 91%. In addition, they think they are critical of the information they find on the Web. However, the majority of them are unable to name a scientific search engine such as Google Scholar and only 45% verify whether the information found on the Internet is true.

The conclusion of the study is therefore that future teachers think they are competent to teach young people information skills since they seek information on the Web every day. But in fact, the results also show that they do not master the skills necessary to adequately teach this skill to young people.

This conference demonstrated that the models of what information skills training should be do not take into account the reality of young people. Also, according to Karsenti and Dumouchel, it is essential that schools soon begin to rigorously teach information skills to young people, as is currently done in California. In fact, information skills training is mandatory for students in this state. The relationship between teachers and librarians also needs to be improved and this can be done by creating partnerships. This would allow the two professions to come out of their loneliness and finally work together to train young people in information skills.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Quelles sont les compétences informationnelles des futurs enseignants?

Montréal - Le Colloque de l’APSDS intitulé Grandir, apprendre, comprendre : imaginer un continuum de compétences informationnelles au primaire et au secondaire avait lieu le 4 novembre dernier au Palais des Congrès. Conçu pour le personnel des milieux scolaires œuvrant en bibliothèque, cet événement se déroulait dans le cadre du deuxième congrès des milieux documentaires. L’Infobourg a assisté à un des ateliers du colloque.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Montréal – Le Colloque de l’APSDS intitulé Grandir, apprendre, comprendre : imaginer un continuum de compétences informationnelles au primaire et au secondaire avait lieu le 4 novembre dernier au Palais des Congrès. Destiné au personnel des milieux scolaires œuvrant en bibliothèque, cet événement se déroulait dans le cadre du deuxième congrès des milieux documentaires. L’Infobourg a assisté à un des ateliers du colloque.

Thierry Karsenti, de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) en éducation et Gabriel Dumouchel, doctorant en psychopédagogie à l’Université de Montréal, ont partagé les résultats d’une étude concernant les compétences informationnelles des futurs enseignants et de l’impact potentiel de ces résultats sur les élèves du primaire et du secondaire.

Pour débuter, Monsieur Karsenti a précisé sa vision de la profession d’enseignant et celle de bibliothécaire en les qualifiant de « 2 solitudes ». Selon lui, il manque d’interaction entre ces professionnels qui travaillent tous deux avec les élèves dans un même objectif, celui d’aider les jeunes dans la recherche et l’analyse d’information.

Par la suite, l’accès à l’information a été abordé. Selon Karsenti, celle-ci n’est vraiment plus un problème de nos jours même que certaines statistiques ont renversé l’idée que les élèves en milieu défavorisé n’ont pas accès à l’information.

De plus, il est tout naturel de penser que les enseignants doivent être habiles avec les technologies afin de pouvoir enseigner à leurs élèves comment s’en servir. Monsieur Dumouchel a donc présenté les résultats d’une étude menée auprès des futurs enseignants. Celle-ci démontre que les étudiants en enseignement se perçoivent comme étant très compétents pour enseigner les compétences informationnelles aux élèves. Cette impression découle du fait qu’ils utilisent l’ordinateur, Internet et les moteurs de recherche tous les jours, dans une proportion de 91%. De plus, ils se pensent critiques vis-à-vis l’information qu’ils trouvent sur le Web.  Cependant, la majorité d’entre eux sont incapables de nommer un moteur de recherche scientifique tel que Google Scholar et seulement 45% vérifient si l’information trouvée sur Internet est véridique.

La conclusion de l’étude est donc que les futurs enseignants se pensent compétents pour enseigner aux jeunes les compétences informationnelles puisqu’ils cherchent de l’information sur le Web tous les jours. Mais en fait, les résultats démontrent aussi qu’ils ne maîtrisent pas les habiletés nécessaires pour enseigner cette compétence de façon adéquate aux jeunes.

Cette conférence a démontré que les modèles de ce que devrait être la formation aux compétences informationnelles ne tiennent pas compte de la réalité des jeunes. Aussi, selon Karsenti et Dumouchel, il est essentiel que les écoles commencent sous peu à enseigner rigoureusement les compétences informationnelles aux jeunes, comme cela est présentement fait en Californie. En fait, la formation aux compétences informationnelles est obligatoire pour les élèves de cet État. Il faut également améliorer la relation entre les enseignants et les bibliothécaires et cela peut se faire en créant des partenariats. Cela permettrait aux deux professions de sortir de leur solitude et enfin de travailler ensemble à la formation des compétences informationnelles des jeunes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!