ADVERTISEMENT

My virtual 100 % school

Here is the inspiring testimony of Alexandra, pedagogical advisor of a virtual 100 % school. “I have the chance, no, the privilege, to accompany this school team since the beginning of the year, to see them grow in digital mode, but also in educational mode. "

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

When the school year began, I offered to embark on a whole new adventure as an educational advisor: that of supporting the virtual school of my school service center. A school that will run all year round, with all its students and teachers each at their home. They are more than a hundred students and more than forty teachers, remedial teachers, resource teachers and specialists, among others, to be also embarked on this adventure.

At the outset: focus on the affective dimension

At first, not all teachers were comfortable with the idea. After all, just because you have to stay home for health reasons doesn't necessarily mean you have a passion for techno and online teaching ... or that you feel comfortable. with that. The first weeks mainly focused on managing the emotional dimension to prepare for this start of the school year. We therefore bet on each other's strengths, exchanged, discussed, collaborated. 

Shoot a video to introduce our school staff? A few had never used their digital camera to film, let alone shared a video for editing! As one of the teachers at the virtual school put it to me, “a few years before retirement, I'm learning things! "

Give yourself the time to master the technical aspect

Quickly, the fears dissipated with the arrival of the students. Of course, the technical glitches made us stress a bit (and sometimes a lot). “My camera froze, my student can't open and close his microphone, what do I do with my PDF files so that the students can write on them when they all have different devices? ". But each challenge was met, one by one (even if we still have some), thanks to mutual aid, the support of educational and computer services (what would we do without Mr. Serge? !), but also a lot thanks to the ingenuity of the teachers who put themselves in solution mode. It must also be said that they can count on a director who is not afraid to take the plunge and find ways to resolve problems quickly when they arise!

As an educational advisor, I have also been consulted very often. I did my best to accompany, although sometimes I wish I had 4-5 more pairs of arms to respond even faster. What pride to see all these beautiful people evolving in an unfamiliar environment and, let's face it, not always easy. Motivating young people all day to connect and keep learning, while being self-learner, is quite a challenge. But every day, this school team does it.

Do not mistake yourself. I think everyone, students and staff alike would tell you that they would much rather be in class. Myself, I miss my life before where I was entitled to hugs from first graders when I arrived with robots in the classroom! But in virtual terms, we can still experience all kinds of beautiful moments. Like playing bingo online with over 60 elementary school students and teachers in costume on Halloween, hearing super-relevant questions from 4th and 5th graders during a solar system workshop with a guest of the Astrolab of Mont-Mégantic National Park, or to joke with teenagers in Secondary 2 during a workshop on how to take better photos of your work with your cell phone.

Then, take full advantage of the educational possibilities!

And here is one of my most beautiful moments in my career (even if it is very short, since I am starting as an educational advisor). See a teacher who was a little anxious to teach kindergarten from a distance present what she does in front of more than 70 fellow teachers, also in kindergarten, to reassure them about the possibility of having fun teaching online and to share with them its tips and practices!

I'm lucky, no, the privilege, to support this school team since the beginning of the year, to see them grow in digital mode, but also in educational mode. Their questions changed from "Where do I click?" "To" How to evaluate otherwise? ". Because you have to go through a technical end at the beginning of the digital appropriation and, after, you can push the pedagodigital. I see this challenge taken up every day with this great school team. 

Promised, it is done. 

You just have to give yourself the time, be creative and, above all, help each other!


Alexandra invites you to visit her site Profspace!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexandra Coutlée
Alexandra Coutlée
A high school English teacher for 15 years, she then worked as an educational consultant in digital integration and as a resource person for RÉCIT. She is now the coordinator of pedagogical services at École branchée. She has published several pedagogical books and is very active professionally in various initiatives such as Espaceprof, the podcast "La geek de service" and several other projects. Passionate about pedagogy and technology, she networks and shares as much as possible, while always maintaining a learning posture!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

Mon école 100 % virtuelle

Voici le témoignage inspirant d'Alexandra, conseillère pédagogique d'une école 100 % virtuelle. « J’ai la chance, non, le privilège, d’accompagner cette équipe-école depuis le début de l’année, de les voir grandir en mode numérique, mais aussi en mode pédagogique. »
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Lorsque l’année scolaire a débuté, je me suis proposée pour embarquer dans une toute nouvelle aventure en tant que conseillère pédagogique : celle de soutenir l’école virtuelle de mon centre de services scolaire. Une école qui roulera toute l’année, avec tous ses élèves et ses enseignants chacun à leur maison. Ils sont plus d’une centaine d’élèves et plus d’une quarantaine d’enseignants, orthopédagogues, enseignants-ressources et spécialistes, entre autres, à être également embarqués dans cette aventure.

Au départ : miser sur la dimension affective

Au début, ce ne sont pas tous les enseignants qui étaient à l’aise avec l’idée. Après tout, ce n’est pas parce qu’on doit rester à la maison pour des raisons de santé qu’on a nécessairement la passion de la techno et de l’enseignement en ligne… ou qu’on se sent à l’aise avec cela. Les premières semaines ont principalement porté sur la gestion de la dimension affective pour se préparer à cette rentrée. Nous avons donc misé sur les forces de chacun, échangé, discuté, collaboré. 

Tourner une vidéo pour présenter notre personnel-école? Quelques-uns n’avaient jamais utilisé leur appareil numérique pour filmer, et encore moins partagé une vidéo pour en faire un montage! Comme me l’a si bien dit un des enseignants de l’école virtuelle, « à quelques années de la retraite, j’en apprends, des choses! »

Se donner le temps de maîtriser l’aspect technique

Rapidement, les craintes se sont dissipées avec l’arrivée des élèves. Bien sûr, les pépins techniques nous ont fait stresser un peu (et parfois beaucoup). « Ma caméra a figé, mon élève n’arrive pas à ouvrir et fermer son micro, je fais quoi avec mes fichiers PDF pour que les élèves puissent écrire dessus quand tous ont des appareils différents? ». Mais chaque défi a été relevé, un à un (même s’il nous en reste encore certains), grâce à l’entraide, l’appui des services éducatifs et informatiques (qu’est-ce qu’on ferait sans M. Serge!), mais aussi beaucoup grâce à l’ingéniosité des enseignants qui se sont mis en mode solution. Il faut dire aussi qu’ils peuvent compter sur une directrice qui n’a pas peur de se lancer et de trouver des façons de régler les problèmes rapidement quand ils surviennent!

En tant que conseillère pédagogique, on m’a aussi consultée bien souvent. J’ai fait de mon mieux pour accompagner, même si parfois, j’aurais aimé avoir 4-5 autres paires de bras pour répondre encore plus vite. Quelle fierté que de voir tout ce beau monde évoluer dans un environnement inconnu et, disons-le, pas toujours facile. Motiver des jeunes toute la journée à se connecter et à continuer d’apprendre, tout en étant apprenant soi-même, c’est tout un défi. Mais à chaque jour, cette équipe-école le fait.

Ne vous méprenez pas. Je crois que tous, élèves et membres du personnel, vous diraient qu’ils aimeraient bien mieux être en classe. Moi-même, je m’ennuie de ma vie d’avant où j’avais droit à des câlins de la part d’élèves de première année quand j’arrivais avec des robots dans la classe! Mais en virtuel, on peut quand même vivre toutes sortes de beaux moments. Comme jouer au bingo en ligne avec plus de 60 élèves et enseignants du primaire, costumés le jour d’Halloween, entendre les questions ultra pertinentes d’élèves de 4e et 5e année lors d’un atelier sur le système solaire en compagnie d’un invité de l’Astrolab du parc national du Mont-Mégantic, ou encore de blaguer avec des ados de 2e secondaire lors d’un atelier sur comment prendre de meilleures photos de ses travaux avec son cellulaire.

Puis, profiter à fond des possibilités pédagogiques!

Et voici l’un de mes plus beaux moments en carrière (même si elle est bien courte, puisque je débute comme conseillère pédagogique). Voir une enseignante qui était un peu anxieuse d’enseigner la maternelle à distance présenter ce qu’elle fait devant plus de 70 collègues enseignants, aussi en maternelle, pour les rassurer sur la possibilité d’avoir du plaisir à enseigner en ligne et leur partager ses astuces et ses pratiques!

J’ai la chance, non, le privilège, d’accompagner cette équipe-école depuis le début de l’année, de les voir grandir en mode numérique, mais aussi en mode pédagogique. Leurs questions sont passées de « Où je clique? » à « Comment évaluer autrement? ». Parce qu’il faut passer par un bout technique au début de l’appropriation du numérique et, après, on peut pousser le pédagonumérique. Je vois ce défi relevé chaque jour avec cette super équipe-école. 

Promis, ça se fait. 

Il faut simplement se donner le temps, faire preuve de créativité et, surtout, s’entraider!


Alexandra vous invite à visiter son site EspaceProf!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Alexandra Coutléehttp://www.espaceprof.com/
Enseignante d’anglais au secondaire pendant une quinzaine d’années, elle est maintenant conseillère pédagogique en intégration du numérique et personne-ressource du RÉCIT. Elle a publié plusieurs ouvrages pédagogiques et est très active professionnellement, autant dans diverses initiatives telles que Espaceprof, le balado « La geek de service » et plusieurs autres projets. Elle est aussi très active sur les réseaux sociaux. Passionnée de pédagogie et de technologie, elle réseaute et partage le plus possible, tout en conservant toujours une posture d’apprenante!

Prochaines formations en direct