ADVERTISEMENT

Times change ... and so do the equipment

(previous section) Teachers have their benchmarks. Over the years, many have used various teaching methods offered by publishing houses. Do they feel even more confident with a textbook […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

(previous section)

Teachers have their benchmarks. Over the years, many have used various teaching methods offered by publishing houses. Do they feel even more confident with a printed manual, its answer key and its reproducible cards? However, in this school year 2011-2012, the publishing houses offer much more.

"The first instinct of teachers goes to print," explains Caroline Viel, editor at Modulo. But so much the better if there is web access and a digital version! With the advent of IWBs, teachers need digital content. Now that's almost the norm: most of our new projects have a paper version and a digital version. "

Same story with ERPI. "When you design a collection, you immediately integrate the digital component, confirms Vivianne Chénier, Director of Research and Development. Both components are planned at the same time, both in terms of design and budget."

On the Grand Duke side, the digital material was first designed in support of a printed collection already approved by the teaching material approval office (BAMD) at MELS. “What we are developing was directly linked to these collections. We are now developing digital material for all of our new publications, ”says Virginie Chatard, Publishing Director.

Textbook publishers have therefore multiplied their approaches in recent years. Some offer USB drives, web spaces, or even stand-alone platforms as complements to printed material. All these options have their advantages and disadvantages and remain at the choice of teachers.

If the USB key was popular lately, it seems that it was just the first step towards digital for publishing houses. Admittedly, the key did not require an annual renewal and could be carried around everywhere. On the other hand, its content remained exclusively in the hands of the teacher and could hardly be accessible to the students or updated. The three editors consulted by Infobourg seem to be abandoning it for new products.

At Éditions Grand Duc, we offer independent digital tools to download. “This allows the teacher to work offline, wherever they want, without worrying about an Internet connection problem at school or at home. He no longer has to worry about having his USB key with him ”.

At Modulo, we favored web access. “The web supplement becomes interesting for a subject that moves like the news. Map and data updates are made easy. However, it is quite a change in philosophy to design products that must constantly evolve over time. "

At ERPI, we access digital content online. This makes it possible to consult the manual from any computer connected to the Internet, without downloading. The students see their backpack lighter, because they have all their tools in hand to do their homework at home.

To read more

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie Beaupré
Julie beaupre
Julie is a primary ICT educational advisor and RÉCIT resource person at the Commission scolaire des Affluents. Also, blogger here and the.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les temps changent… et le matériel aussi

(section précédente) Les enseignants ont leurs repères. Plusieurs ont utilisé, au fil des ans, diverses méthodes d’enseignement proposées par les maisons d’édition. Se sentent-ils encore plus confiants avec un manuel […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

(section précédente)

Les enseignants ont leurs repères. Plusieurs ont utilisé, au fil des ans, diverses méthodes d’enseignement proposées par les maisons d’édition. Se sentent-ils encore plus confiants avec un manuel imprimé, son corrigé et ses fiches reproductibles? Pourtant, en cette année scolaire 2011-2012, les maisons d’édition offrent bien davantage.

« Le premier réflexe des enseignants va à l’imprimé, explique Caroline Viel, éditrice chez Modulo. Mais tant mieux s’il y a un accès web et une version numérique! Avec l’avènement des TBI, les enseignants ont besoin de contenus numériques. Maintenant, c’est presque la norme : la plupart de nos nouveaux projets ont une version papier et une version numérique. »

Même son de cloche chez ERPI. « Lorsqu’on conçoit une collection, on intègre tout de suite le volet numérique, confirme Vivianne Chénier, directrice de la recherche et du développement On prévoit les deux volets en même temps, tant au niveau de la conception que du budget ».

Du côté de Grand Duc, le matériel numérique a d’abord été conçu en appui d’une collection imprimée déjà approuvée par le bureau d’approbation du matériel didactique (BAMD), au MELS. « Ce que nous développons était en lien direct avec ces collections. Nous développons maintenant du matériel numérique pour toutes nos nouvelles publications », mentionne Virginie Chatard, la directrice des éditions.

Les éditeurs de manuels scolaires ont donc multiplié leurs approches depuis les dernières années. Certains offrent des clés USB, des espaces Web ou même des plateformes autonomes comme compléments au matériel imprimé. Toutes ces options ont leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients et demeurent au choix des enseignants.

Si la clé USB avait la cote dernièrement, il semble que ce n’était qu’un premier pas vers le numérique pour les maisons d’édition. Certes, la clé ne nécessitait pas de réabonnement annuel et pouvait être trimballée partout. Par contre, son contenu demeurait exclusivement entre les mains de l’enseignant et pouvait difficilement être accessible aux élèves ou mis à jour. Les trois éditeurs consultés par Infobourg semblent la délaisser pour de nouveaux produits.

Aux Éditions Grand Duc, on offre des outils numériques autonomes à télécharger. « Cela permet à l’enseignant de travailler hors ligne, où il veut, sans craindre un problème de connexion Internet à l’école ou à la maison. Il n’a plus à se préoccuper d’avoir sur lui sa clé USB ».

Chez Modulo, on a privilégié un accès Web. « Le complément web devient intéressant pour un sujet qui bouge comme l’actualité. Les mises à jour de cartes et de données sont facilitées. Toutefois, c’est tout un changement de philosophie que de concevoir des produits qui doivent évoluer constamment avec le temps. »

Chez ERPI, on accède aux contenus numériques en ligne. Cela permet de consulter le manuel à partir de n’importe quel ordinateur relié à Internet, sans téléchargement. Les élèves voient ainsi leur sac à dos allégé, car ils ont tous leurs outils en main pour faire leurs devoirs à la maison.

Pour lire la suite

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Julie Beaupré
Julie est conseillère pédagogique TIC au primaire et personne-ressource RÉCIT à la Commission scolaire des Affluents. Aussi, blogueuse ici et .

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct