ADVERTISEMENT

LÜ reinvents physical activity with video games

SAGA presents LÜ, a new interactive play area with the ambition of revolutionizing physical activity by combining it with a natural ally for young people: video games.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

SAGA, a Quebec company in the field of augmented reality, presented LÜ, a new interactive play area with the ambition to revolutionize physical activity by pairing it with a natural ally for young people: video games.

Thanks to its technology, which combines augmented reality and Internet of Things technologies with human behavior, LÜ transforms gymnasiums into interactive playgrounds.

“Video games and physical activity are often opposed. We are therefore proud to present LÜ, a platform that combines physical activity and video game learning. This twinning opens the door to a new world of possibilities and allows our young people to discover the pleasure of physical activity, in a world that resembles them ”, underlines Vincent Routhier, president of SAGA and architect of the LÜ concept.

Thus, from May, schools, day camps, sports complexes, community centers and event organizations will be able to rent or buy LÜ on the website of the company and transform their recreational spaces into interactive play areas.

To see LÜ in action, watch the video.

WHAT IS LÜ?
LÜ is an intelligent space environment that understands and responds to player behaviors and interactions in real time. Thanks to the information transmitted by its 3D cameras installed on the ceiling, LÜ directs the playing areas by projecting various interactive elements on the walls, to which the players must react. Real-time synchronized lighting and sound systems provide an immersive experience for participants, making them feel like a character in the game they are playing.

To date, LÜ has developed around ten games and many more will be added to the offering over the coming months.

SAGA has also developed a partnership with the company Solotech which will be able to support LÜ development thanks to its network and expertise.

LÜ DOES HIS CLASSES
The Externat St-Jean Berchmans elementary and preschool in Quebec City was an essential strategic partner for LÜ's final development, welcoming the platform prototype from its inception.

“We are always looking for new ways to get our young people moving and to motivate them in the face of their school career. LÜ allowed us to do both. We could not help but open the doors of our gymnasium wide for the SAGA team to come and test and refine the platform, ”explains Alain Roy, General Manager of the Externship.

To learn more about LÜ, we invite you to visit the website at http://www.lu-gym.com.

 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

LÜ réinvente l’activité physique avec le jeu vidéo

SAGA présente LÜ, une nouvelle aire interactive de jeu ayant pour ambition de révolutionner l'activité physique en y jumelant un allié naturel auprès des jeunes : le jeu vidéo.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

SAGA, une entreprise québécoise dans le domaine de la réalité augmentée, a présenté LÜ, une nouvelle aire interactive de jeu ayant pour ambition de révolutionner l’activité physique en y jumelant un allié naturel auprès des jeunes : le jeu vidéo.

Grâce à sa technologie qui jumèle les technologies de réalité augmentée et d’Internet des objets aux comportements humains, LÜ permet de transformer les gymnases en terrains de jeu interactifs.

« Les jeux vidéo et l’activité physique sont souvent mis en opposition. Nous sommes donc fiers de présenter LÜ, une plateforme qui combine l’activité physique et l’apprentissage au jeu vidéo. Ce jumelage ouvre la porte à un nouveau monde de possibilités et permet à nos jeunes de découvrir le plaisir de l’activité physique, dans un univers qui leur ressemble », souligne Vincent Routhier, président de SAGA et architecte du concept LÜ.

Ainsi, dès le mois de mai, écoles, camps de jour, complexes sportifs, centres communautaires et organismes événementiels pourront louer ou acheter LÜ sur le site Internet de l’entreprise et transformer leurs espaces récréatifs en aires de jeu interactives.

Pour voir LÜ en action, visionnez la vidéo.

LÜ, C’EST QUOI ?
LÜ est un environnement spatial intelligent qui comprend et réagit aux comportements et aux interactions des joueurs en temps réel. Grâce à l’information transmise par ses caméras 3D installées au plafond, LÜ dirige les aires de jeu en projetant différents éléments interactifs sur les murs, auxquels les joueurs doivent réagir. Les systèmes d’éclairage et de son synchronisés en temps réel offrent une expérience immersive aux participants, leur donnant l’impression d’être un personnage du jeu auquel ils jouent.

À ce jour, LÜ a développé une dizaine de jeux et de nombreux autres s’ajouteront à l’offre au courant des prochains mois.

SAGA a d’ailleurs développé un partenariat avec l’entreprise Solotech qui pourra appuyer le développement LÜ grâce à son réseau et son expertise.

LÜ FAIT SES CLASSES
L’école primaire et préscolaire l’Externat St-Jean Berchmans de la ville de Québec a été un partenaire stratégique indispensable au développement final de LÜ, en accueillant le prototype de la plateforme dès ses premiers balbutiements.

« Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons de faire bouger nos jeunes et de les motiver face à leur parcours scolaire. LÜ nous a permis de faire les deux. Nous ne pouvions faire autrement qu’ouvrir les portes de notre gymnase toutes grandes pour que l’équipe de SAGA vienne tester et peaufiner la plateforme », explique M. Alain Roy, directeur général de l’Externat.

Pour en savoir plus sur LÜ, nous vous invitons à consulter le site Internet au http://www.lu-gym.com.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!