Lexibar: a product to discover to help students with a learning disability

In Canada, about two to three children per classroom have written language disorders such as dysphasia or dyslexia.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Montreal, July 2, 2015 - In Canada, approximately two to three children per classroom have written language disorders such as dysphasia or dyslexia. These learning disabilities are often misunderstood because the symptoms are not always obvious to recognize. The school career then becomes difficult for the pupil: drop in school results, loss of interest in school, loss of self-confidence, anxiety, dropping out of school.

It is in response to this situation that the Quebec company HAYLEM Technologies has recently marketed the Lexibar. It is a specialized bilingual help software for all people with writing and reading difficulties. The technology specifically addresses the most common mistakes made by these people with the help of a word predictor and text-to-speech.

Word prediction, based on phonetics and spelling, allows students to take control of their writing, correct their spelling, and hear what they write. All this with the aim of reducing the risk of dropping out of school and increasing the autonomy and self-confidence of the student.

HAYLEM Technologies is a technology company founded in 2008 in the greater Montreal area. Its field of activity is mainly based on the learning disabilities sector. The company owns Lexibar technology and has a specific objective: to help young people learn by allowing them to use a specialized tool, whether at home or at school.

Lexibar is software that has been developed over 5 years with the help of the National Research Center of Canada as well as local speech therapists. The technology has over 80,000 words and over 20,000 illustrations. Text-to-speech offers 21 different voices in order to hear the different suggestions of the word and guide towards the correct word to use. It is possible to try a full free version for 30 days.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Lexibar : un produit à découvrir pour aider les élèves ayant un trouble d’apprentissage

Au Canada, environ deux à trois enfants par salle de classe présentent des troubles du langage écrit tels que la dysphasie ou la dyslexie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Montréal, 2 juillet 2015 – Au Canada, environ deux à trois enfants par salle de classe présentent des troubles du langage écrit tels que la dysphasie ou la dyslexie. Ces troubles d’apprentissages sont souvent mal compris car les symptômes ne sont pas toujours évidents à reconnaitre. Le parcours scolaire devient alors difficile pour l’élève: baisse des résultats scolaires, perte d’intérêt pour l’école, perte de confiance en soi, anxiété, décrochage scolaire.

C’est en réponse à cette situation que l’entreprise québécoise HAYLEM Technologies commercialise depuis peu le Lexibar. Il s’agit d’un logiciel d’aide bilingue spécialisé pour toutes personnes ayant des difficultés d’écriture et de lecture. La technologie répond spécifiquement aux erreurs les plus courantes effectuées par ces personnes à l’aide d’un prédicteur de mots et d’une synthèse vocale.

La prédiction de mots, basée sur la phonétique et l’orthographe, permet aux élèves de prendre le contrôle de leur écriture, de corriger leur orthographe et d’entendre ce qu’ils écrivent. Tout ceci dans le but de diminuer les risques de décrochage scolaire et d’augmenter l’autonomie et la confiance en soi de l’élève.

HAYLEM Technologies est une entreprise technologique fondée en 2008 dans la grande région de Montréal. Son champ d’activités repose principalement sur le secteur des troubles d’apprentissage. L’entreprise est propriétaire de la technologie Lexibar et vise un objectif précis : aider le jeune à apprendre en lui permettant d’avoir recours à un outil spécialisé, que ce soit à la maison ou à l’école.

Lexibar est un logiciel qui a été développé pendant 5 ans avec l’aide du Centre national de recherche du Canada ainsi que des orthophonistes locaux. La technologie est dotée de plus de 80 000 mots et plus de 20 000 illustrations. La synthèse vocale offre 21 voix différentes afin d’entendre les différentes suggestions du mot et guider vers le bon mot à utiliser. Il est possible d’essayer une version gratuite complète durant 30 jours.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!