Girls are invited to get moving during the Snow Challenge 2013!

On February 15, the 2nd day of the Snow Challenge will take place at Mont Avila, in the Laurentians. The FitSpirit organization invites teenage girls in the region to put aside texting and come and spend an active and rewarding day.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

On February 15, the 2nd day of the Snow Challenge will take place at Mont Avila, in the Laurentians. The FitSpirit organization invites teenage girls in the region to put aside texting and come and spend an active and rewarding day.

In 2011, statistics revealed that only 4 % of young Canadian women and 9 % of young Canadians achieve the weekly physical activity rate recommended by Health Canada. Hoping to make a difference, several organizations are organizing activities to get them moving. This is the case of FitSpirit, whose mission is to help adolescent girls discover the benefits and pleasure that flow from the practice of physical activity in a positive, rewarding environment open to all.

“We believe that this learning will allow them to develop healthy lifestyles based on self-realization,” explains the organization. On January 18, it brought together nearly 600 teenage girls from 14 high schools in Mauricie and the greater Quebec City region on the slopes of the Stoneham Tourist Station, as part of the FitSpirit Snow Challenge.

Despite the winter cold, a DJ and a host warmed up the atmosphere in the “FitSpirit Village” at the foot of the mountain, where the participants were able to enjoy various activities: a photo shoot, giant slate to express their creativity, “ FitSpirit lounge ”, taffy on snow, as well as numerous gifts and prints. The girls also had the chance to ski with 1984 diving gold medalist Sylvie Bernier.

The experience will be repeated at Mont Avila, in the Laurentians region, on February 15. 200 other teenage girls are expected there, bringing the total participation of the 2013 edition of the Challenge to nearly 800 skiers and snowboarders.

In addition to the Snow Challenge, FitSpirit offers teenage girls other activities during the year, including conferences in high schools and the FitClub, a running training program designed especially for girls.

On January 18, nearly 600 teenage girls from 14 high schools in Mauricie and the greater Quebec City region attended the slopes of Stoneham, as part of the Fillactive Snow Challenge. The objective of the operation, to discover the pleasure of moving, has been achieved! (CNW Group / FITSPIRIT)

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les filles sont invitées à bouger lors du Défi des neiges 2013!

Le 15 février, la 2e journée du Défi des neiges aura lieu au Mont Avila, dans les Laurentides. L’organisme Fillactive invite les adolescentes de la région à laisser les textos de côté et à venir passer une journée active et valorisante.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Le 15 février, la 2e journée du Défi des neiges aura lieu au Mont Avila, dans les Laurentides. L’organisme Fillactive invite les adolescentes de la région à laisser les textos de côté et à venir passer une journée active et valorisante.

En 2011, les statistiques révélaient que seulement 4 % des jeunes Canadiennes et 9 % des jeunes Canadiens atteignent le taux d’activité physique hebdomadaire recommandé par Santé Canada. En espérant faire une différence, plusieurs organismes organisent des activités visant à les faire bouger. C’est le cas de Fillactive, dont la mission est de faire découvrir aux adolescentes les avantages et le plaisir qui découlent de la pratique d’activité physique dans un environnement positif, valorisant et ouvert à toutes.

« Nous croyons que cet apprentissage leur permettra de développer de saines habitudes de vie fondées sur la réalisation de soi », explique l’organisme. Le 18 janvier dernier, il a regroupé près de 600 adolescentes provenant de 14 écoles secondaires de la Mauricie et de la grande région de Québec sur les pentes de la Station touristique Stoneham, dans le cadre du Défi des neiges Fillactive.

Malgré le froid hivernal, un DJ et une animatrice ont réchauffé l’ambiance dans le « Village Fillactive » au pied de la montagne, où les participantes ont pu profiter de diverses activités : une séance de photos, ardoise géante pour exprimer leur créativité, « lounge Fillactive », tire sur neige, ainsi que de nombreux cadeaux et tirages. Les filles ont aussi eu la chance de skier en compagnie de la médaillée d’or en plongeon des jeux de 1984, Sylvie Bernier.

L’expérience sera répétée au Mont Avila, dans la région des Laurentides, le 15 février prochain. On y attend 200 autres adolescentes, ce qui porte la participation totale de l’édition 2013 du Défi à près de 800 skieuses et planchistes.

En plus du Défi des neiges, Fillactive propose aux adolescentes d’autres activités pendant l’année, dont des conférences dans les écoles secondaires et le FitClub, un programme d’entrainement de course à pied conçu spécialement pour les filles.

Le 18 janvier dernier, près de 600 adolescentes provenant de 14 écoles secondaires de la Mauricie et de la grande région de Québec étaient au rendez-vous sur les pentes de Stoneham, dans le cadre du Défi des neiges Fillactive. L’objectif de l’opération, découvrir le plaisir de bouger, a été atteint! (Groupe CNW/FITSPIRIT)

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :