ADVERTISEMENT

The students of the Gentilly school receive the Minister St-Pierre

Communiqué - Establishing a school parliament at school is good. Holding the activity in the presence of the Minister of Culture, Communications and the Status of Women, Christine St-Pierre, is even better! This is the remarkable experience of the students of Gentilly Elementary School (Dorval), an event made concrete thanks to a simple request addressed to the National Assembly.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Communiqué - Establishing a school parliament at school is good. Holding the activity in the presence of the Minister of Culture, Communications and the Status of Women, Christine St-Pierre, is even better! This is the remarkable experience of the students of Gentilly Elementary School (Dorval), an event made concrete thanks to a simple request addressed to the National Assembly.

As part of an activity recreating the Quebec parliament at school, the two students sitting at the Ministry of Arts and Culture, Juliette Cusson and Julianne Madden, wondered about the function of minister. Helped by a teacher, Sophie Robitaille, the two student ministers wrote to their “counterpart” from Quebec, inviting him to visit their establishment. “To our happy surprise, Ms. St-Pierre accepted,” says Ms. Robitaille. For our students, this is a great way to get acquainted with the work of politicians. "

From parliament to the library

For the minister's visit, the school library took on the air of the National Assembly, while the 10 student ministers representing the second and third cycle classes, presented their “parliamentary work” in front of Ms. St- Rock. Premier Gabrielle Lair summed up her role as follows: “I guide all departments and give ideas. For their part, Allyson Michaud and Stéphanie Des Marais presented their projects, as Ministers of Health and Safety. “We believe in the importance of a good diet and the benefits of physical exercise,” they argued, before questioning Ms. St-Pierre about her sports habits. The Minister lent herself to the game, explaining that despite her very busy days, she reserved time to move every day. The young people obviously had a host of questions to formulate, in particular on how to transform an idea into a bill, on the workings of the Quebec parliament and on the daily work of a minister. Christine St-Pierre said she was delighted with the invitation: “You are curious, I hope you will continue to take an interest in politics. Also participating in the event: Shai-Lyne Cooney and Allyssa Réniva (Sports and Leisure); Élizabeth Marcoux-Bouchard and Gabriel Grenier-Araujo (Youth) and Michel Lecavalier (Environment).

Located in Dorval, Gentilly Elementary School has 606 students, from preschool to cycle 3. Its educational project revolves around three main orientations: a varied and high-quality educational organization, supervision allowing the development and maintenance of the desire to learn, as well as school-family communication.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les élèves de l’école Gentilly reçoivent la ministre St-Pierre

Communiqué - Instaurer un parlement scolaire à l’école, c’est bien. Tenir l’activité en présence de la ministre de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine, Christine St-Pierre, c’est encore mieux! Voilà l’expérience marquante vécue par les élèves de l’école primaire Gentilly (Dorval), un événement concrétisé grâce à une simple demande adressée à l’Assemblée nationale.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Communiqué – Instaurer un parlement scolaire à l’école, c’est bien. Tenir l’activité en présence de la ministre de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine, Christine St-Pierre, c’est encore mieux! Voilà l’expérience marquante vécue par les élèves de l’école primaire Gentilly (Dorval), un événement concrétisé grâce à une simple demande adressée à l’Assemblée nationale.

Dans le cadre d’une activité recréant le parlement québécois à l’école, les deux élèves siégeant au ministère des Arts et de la Culture, Juliette Cusson et Julianne Madden, s’interrogeaient sur la fonction de ministre. Aidées d’une enseignante, Sophie Robitaille, les deux élèves-ministres ont écrit à leur « homologue » de Québec, l’invitant à visiter leur établissement. « À notre heureuse surprise, Mme St-Pierre a accepté, se réjouit Mme Robitaille. Pour nos élèves, c’est une excellente façon de se familiariser avec le travail des politiciens. »

Du parlement à la bibliothèque

Pour la venue de la ministre, la bibliothèque de l’école a pris des airs d’Assemblée nationale, alors que les 10 élèves-ministres représentant des classes du deuxième et troisième cycle, y ont présenté leurs « travaux parlementaires » devant Mme St-Pierre. La première ministre, Gabrielle Lair, a résumé ainsi sa fonction : « Je guide tous les ministères et je donne des idées. » De leur côté, Allyson Michaud et Stéphanie Des Marais ont exposé leurs projets, à titre de ministres de la Santé et de la Sécurité. « Nous croyons à l’importance d’une bonne alimentation et aux bienfaits de l’exercice physique », ont-elles fait valoir, avant de questionner Mme St-Pierre sur ses habitudes sportives. La ministre s’est prêtée au jeu, expliquant qu’en dépit de ses journées très chargées, elle se réservait du temps pour bouger tous les jours. Les jeunes avaient évidemment une foule de questions à formuler, notamment sur la manière de transformer une idée en projet de loi, sur les rouages du parlement québécois et sur le travail de ministre au quotidien. Christine St-Pierre s’est dite charmée de l’invitation : « Vous êtes curieux, j’espère que vous allez continuer de vous intéresser à la vie politique. » Participaient aussi à l’événement : Shai-Lyne Cooney et Allyssa Réniva (Sports et Loisirs); Élizabeth Marcoux-Bouchard et Gabriel Grenier-Araujo (Jeunesse) et Michel Lecavalier (Environnement).

Située à Dorval, l’école primaire Gentilly compte 606 élèves, du préscolaire au 3e cycle. Son projet éducatif s’articule autour de trois grandes orientations : une organisation pédagogique variée et de qualité, un encadrement permettant de développer et de maintenir le goût d’apprendre, de même que la communication école-famille.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!