ADVERTISEMENT

The characteristics and advantages of the “flipped classroom” and of the “blended learning” model

In recent years, many higher education programs have included online courses. Perhaps you have already followed one yourself. Everything happens from a computer connected to the Internet, […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In recent years, many higher education programs have included online courses. Perhaps you have already followed one yourself. Everything takes place from a computer connected to the Internet, sometimes with the support of online video clips or on CD-ROM, generally accompanied by a textbook. This is a far cry from traditional education as we know it in our primary and secondary classes. For some, this approach is advantageous because it allows you to progress at your own pace. On the other hand, human contact with the teacher is not there.

David Chartrand taught mathematics at Collège Sainte-Anne-de-Lachine. One fine day, the school provided all its students with laptops. From then on, he noticed that in addition to continuing to be bored in class, they were now browsing (read: wasting time!) On Facebook or other social sites. The observation was already obvious to him: young people are connected, mobile devices are a reality and they are here to stay.

In order to take advantage of the attraction of young people for everything online and multimedia, Mr. Chartrand began producing video content and some written material, which he made available to his students via the Web. He started gradually, one video here, another there. His students were instructed to watch them in the evening and be ready to discuss or demonstrate their application when they arrived in class. If they hadn't done their part of the bargain, they had to watch the clips in class on their cellphones, while the others got ahead. David Chartrand applied the principles of the inverted class.

The typical flipped class takes place as follows: all the lecture part is given electronically (video clips, readings, virtual tours, etc.) and class time is devoted to teamwork, discussions and learning activities. active. The flipped classroom is to make knowledge and theoretical explanations available online so that students can appropriate them at their own pace, and keep maximum availability for them during class time, which will be spent practicing, to practice, develop, experiment. For example, at Calhoun Community College, Alabama, students have one class period per week and the rest is done remotely.

Obviously, this way of doing things is more evident in college or higher settings, when students have a greater degree of autonomy. At the elementary and secondary levels, we often adopt the formula of blended learning (or blended learning), which includes reversed moments and more traditional ones. In fact, the inverted class is above all a philosophy and not a prescription; it can therefore be adapted to each environment, to each context.

Advantages of the flipped classroom:
- Allows the teacher to fulfill his role of guide, above all.
- Increases the availability of the teacher for his students.
- Allows students to progress at their own pace and develop their autonomy.
- Students are more engaged in their learning and seem more motivated.
- They can learn anywhere, anytime (internet access helping, of course!)

Immerse yourself in the world of a flipped classroom by visiting Caroline Hétu's, in French, at Collège-Saint-Anne-de-Lachine by the magic of video.

 

Navigate through the articles in the file:

Intro: Take your first steps towards the flipped classroom
1. The characteristics and advantages of the “inverted class” and of the “mixed model” (blended learning)
2. The tools that make the flipped classroom possible
3. Reverse class: where to start (and other tips of the trade!)
4. Resources on the flipped classroom

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les caractéristiques et avantages de la « classe inversée » et du « modèle mixte » (blended learning)

Depuis quelques années, de nombreux programmes d’enseignement supérieur comprennent des cours en ligne. Peut-être en avez-vous déjà vous-même suivi un. Tout se passe à partir d’un ordinateur branché à Internet, […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Depuis quelques années, de nombreux programmes d’enseignement supérieur comprennent des cours en ligne. Peut-être en avez-vous déjà vous-même suivi un. Tout se passe à partir d’un ordinateur branché à Internet, parfois avec le support de capsules vidéo en ligne ou sur cédérom, généralement accompagné d’un recueil de texte. Voilà qui est bien loin de l’enseignement traditionnel tel qu’on le connaît dans nos classes du primaire et du secondaire. Pour certains, cette façon de faire est avantageuse car elle permet de progresser à son propre rythme. Par contre, le contact humain avec l’enseignant n’y est pas.

David Chartrand enseignait les mathématiques au Collège Sainte-Anne-de-Lachine. Un beau jour, l’établissement a doté tous ses élèves d’ordinateurs portables. Dès lors, il a remarqué qu’en plus de continuer à s’ennuyer en classe, ceux-ci naviguaient (lire : perdaient du temps!) maintenant sur Facebook ou autres sites sociaux. Le constat était déjà évident pour lui : les jeunes sont branchés, les appareils mobiles sont une réalité et ils sont là pour rester.

Question de tirer profit de l’attrait des jeunes pour tout ce qui est en ligne et multimédia, M. Chartrand a commencé à produire du contenu vidéo et un peu de matériel écrit, qu’il a rendu accessible à ses élèves via le Web. Il a commencé graduellement, une vidéo par ci, une autre par là. Ses élèves avaient comme consigne de les visionner le soir et d’être prêts à en discuter ou à en démontrer l’application en arrivant en classe. S’ils n’avaient pas fait leur part du marché, ils devaient visionner les capsules en classe sur leur portable, pendant que les autres prenaient de l’avance. David Chartrand appliquait les principes de la classe inversée.

La classe inversée typique se déroule ainsi : toute la partie magistrale est dispensée de façon électronique (capsules vidéo, lectures, visites virtuelles, etc.) et le temps de classe est consacré au travail d’équipe, aux discussions et aux activités d’apprentissage actives. La classe inversée, c’est rendre accessible le savoir et les explications théoriques en ligne pour que les élèves puissent se les approprier à leur rythme, et garder un maximum de disponibilité pour eux lors du temps de classe, qui sera plutôt passé à pratiquer, s’exercer, développer, expérimenter. Par exemple, au Calhoun Community College, en Alabama, les élèves ont une période en classe par semaine et le reste se passe à distance.

Évidemment, cette façon de faire est plus évidente en milieu collégial ou supérieur, alors que les élèves ont un degré d’autonomie plus grand. Au primaire et au secondaire, on adopte souvent la formule d’apprentissage mixte (ou blended learning), qui comprend des moments inversés et d’autres plus traditionnels. En fait, la classe inversée est avant tout une philosophie et non une prescription; elle peut donc être adaptée à chaque milieu, à chaque contexte.

Avantages de la classe inversée :
– Permet à l’enseignant de remplir son rôle de guide, avant tout.
– Augmente la disponibilité de l’enseignant pour ses élèves.
– Permet aux élèves de progresser à leur rythme et de développer leur autonomie.
– Les élèves sont plus engagés dans leur apprentissage et semblent plus motivés.
– Ils peuvent apprendre n’importe où, n’importe quand (l’accès à Internet aidant, bien sûr!)

Plongez-vous dans l’univers d’une classe inversée en visitant celle de Caroline Hétu, en français, au Collège-Saint-Anne-de-Lachine par la magie de la vidéo.

 

Naviguer dans les articles du dossier :

Intro : Faire ses premiers pas vers la classe inversée
1. Les caractéristiques et avantages de la « classe inversée » et du « modèle mixte » (blended learning)
2. Les outils qui rendent possible la classe inversée
3. Inverser sa classe : par où commencer (et autres trucs du métier!)
4. Des ressources sur la classe inversée

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :