ADVERTISEMENT

The contract for the use of social media: reassure and protect without prohibiting

The November 2014 edition of L'Actualité magazine features an article dealing with the solution a mother found to supervise her teenager who wanted to use Facebook: signing a contract. How to draw inspiration from it in schools?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The November 2014 edition of the magazine L'Actualité has an article dealing with the solution that a mother found to supervise her teenager who wanted to use Facebook: the signing of a contract. How to draw inspiration from it in schools?

Facebook's "official" rules require a user who registers to confirm that they are at least 13 years old. So technically young people can start using it at the start of high school. However, with all the horror stories we hear about the social network, it's easy to just ban its use. This is the approach that very many establishments adopt, like many families, quite simply.

However, there are examples of beneficial use of Facebook in an educational context: self-help groups for homework, private class group to communicate with parents, exercise in commenting on the news on mainstream media pages, 'animation and maintenance of a page on a topic of interest, etc.

Whether we like it or not, Facebook is at risk of being part of the lives of young people (there are 1.32 billion active users every month in the world!). Should we ignore it completely in schools on the pretext that it is prohibited? It seems that the proactive attitude gives more formative results. The lady mentioned in the article in L'Actualité had a 24-clause contract signed (reproduced at the end of the article) to her teenager: “The first rule states that she will participate in the creation of her son's Facebook account. The second, that she will know the password. She will also have to be and remain her son's “Facebook friend”. And under no circumstances Nicolas will be able to restrict his mother's access to his profile. »Following the presentation of this contract, which expires on 16e birthday of the young person concerned, there ensued an open conversation between mother and son so that everything is clear. The teenager, still according to the article, agreed to sign and does not regret it.

In the school, such "contracts", charters, or responsible use policies, exist and seem to work. The key, according to several teachers, is to involve young people in the drafting of these policies. In fact, these documents generally encompass the use of any digital device at school, whether it belongs to the school or not.

In your community, how is it going? Use the comment form to share links to your own policies!

 

For further, consult this document for school staff designed by the Commission scolaire des Sommets. There are some interesting guides there.

See also this learning situation in ECR on the creation of a blog, including a dimension of drafting a charter, which can certainly be adapted for other areas.

An article on TeachThought: A Student-Centered Universal BYOT Policy Template For Schools (thanks to @fguite!)

The day before of @zecool on Diigo about “AUP” (Acceptable Use Policies)…

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le contrat d’utilisation des médias sociaux : rassurer et protéger sans interdire

L’édition de novembre 2014 du magazine L’Actualité propose un article traitant de la solution qu’a trouvé une mère pour encadrer son ado qui voulait utiliser Facebook : la signature d’un contrat. Comment s’en inspirer en milieu scolaire?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’édition de novembre 2014 du magazine L’Actualité propose un article traitant de la solution qu’a trouvé une mère pour encadrer son ado qui voulait utiliser Facebook : la signature d’un contrat. Comment s’en inspirer en milieu scolaire?

Les règles « officielles » de Facebook demandent à l’utilisateur qui s’enregistre de confirmer qu’il a au moins 13 ans. Donc, techniquement, les jeunes peuvent commencer à l’utiliser au début de leur secondaire. Cependant, avec toutes les histoires d’horreur qu’on entend à propos du réseau social, il est facile de tout simplement interdire son utilisation. C’est d’ailleurs l’approche que de très nombreux établissements adoptent, à l’instar de nombreuses familles, tout simplement.

Pourtant, il existe des exemples d’utilisation bénéfiques de Facebook en contexte éducatif : groupes d’entraide pour les devoirs, groupe de classe privé pour communiquer avec les parents, exercice de commentaire de l’actualité sur les pages des grands médias, expérience d’animation et d’entretien d’une page sur un thème d’intérêt, etc.

Qu’on le veuille ou non, Facebook risque de faire partie de la vie des jeunes (il y aurait 1,32 milliards d’utilisateurs actifs chaque mois dans le monde!). Doit-on l’ignorer complètement en milieu scolaire sous prétexte qu’il est interdit? Il semble que l’attitude proactive donne des résultats plus formateurs. La dame dont il est question dans l’article de L’Actualité a fait signer un contrat en 24 clauses (reproduit à la fin de l’article) à son ado : « La première règle stipule qu’elle participera à la création du compte Facebook de son fils. La deuxième, qu’elle en connaîtra le mot de passe. Elle devra aussi être l’« amie Facebook » de son fils et le rester. Et sous aucun prétexte Nicolas ne pourra restreindre l’accès de sa mère à son profil. » Suite à la présentation de ce contrat, qui expire au 16e anniversaire du jeune concerné, il s’est ensuivi une conversation ouverte entre mère et fils afin que tout soit bien clair. L’ado, toujours selon l’article, a accepté de signer et ne le regrette pas.

En milieu scolaire, de tels « contrats », chartes, ou politiques d’utilisation responsable, existent et semblent fonctionner. La clé, selon plusieurs enseignants, est de faire participer les jeunes à la rédaction de ces politiques. D’ailleurs, ces documents englobent généralement l’utilisation de tout appareil numérique à l’école, qu’il appartienne à l’école ou non.

Dans votre milieu, comment ça se passe? Utilisez le formulaire de commentaire pour partager des liens vers vos propres politiques!

 

Pour aller plus loin, consultez ce document à l’intention du personnel des écoles conçu par la Commission scolaire des Sommets. On y trouve des guides intéressants.

Voyez aussi cette situation d’apprentissage en ECR sur la création d’un blogue, incluant une dimension de rédaction d’une charte, qui peut certainement être adaptée pour d’autres domaines.

Un article sur TeachThought : A Student-Centered Universal BYOT Policy Template For Schools (merci à @fguite!)

La veille de @zecool sur Diigo à propos des « AUP » (Acceptable Use Policies)…

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :