ADVERTISEMENT

The Atikamekw Nation Council and the Digital Spring strengthen access to new technologies in the communities

Press Release - The Atikamekw Nation Council (ANC) and the Digital Spring (DS) are invited by the Atikamekw Council of Manawan and the Atikamekw Council of Opitciwan, to offer Digital Cafés in high schools between September 12 and 16, 2022. This activity is part of a series of digital education initiatives for Atikamekw youth that began in 2019.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Communicated –  Our Council of the Atikamekw Nation (NAC) and the Digital spring (FN) are invited by the Manawan Atikamekw Council and the Opitciwan Atikamekw Council, to offer Digital Cafés in high schools between September 12 and 16, 2022. This activity is part of a series of digital education initiatives for Atikamekw youth that began in 2019.

The two communities of the Atikamekw Nation are relatively far from the major centers, and the youth living there have too few opportunities to appropriate digital tools. The NAC and the FN recognize that, in the context of rapidly evolving technologies, a growing digital divide continues to constitute an economic, social and democratic risk.  

Conducted with the collaboration of Mikisiw High School in Opitciwan and Otapi High School in Manawan, this second tour will feature a 360˚ immersive Dome, drone technology, an introductory coding workshop, as well as robotics. It will raise awareness among youth about the possibilities offered by digital technology and reflect on the challenges of integrating technologies in a desirable way in an Aboriginal context.

Photo taken this morning, September 12, at Mikisiw High School in Opitciwan.

Digital tools are inescapable and their evolution is lightning fast. Even if our communities are far from urban centers, we must allow our youth to have access to the most recent technologies in the field so that they can learn about them. We have developed a partnership with the Digital Spring for a few years now and I am pleased that it can travel to our communities. I am convinced that the experience can be repeated in the future so that all our youth can benefit from it. "

Constant AwashishGrand Chief of the Atikamekw Nation.

At Printemps numérique, we firmly believe that the democratization of digital technologies will generate wealth and that Quebec has what it takes to continue building a knowledge-based economy. We also believe that digital intelligence defines our collective capacity to express, use and enhance knowledge and literacy across all communities.
As a technology promoter, the Digital Spring also has the responsibility to ensure that the potential of digital technology is available to everyone, and we are very pleased to respond to this by offering the Digital Cafés in the Atikamekw communities.
 "

Mehdi BenboubakeurGeneral Manager of Printemps Numérique. 

Review the Digital Spring tour in 2019.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw et le Printemps numérique renforcent l’accès aux nouvelles technologies dans les communautés

Communiqué -  Le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw (CNA) et le Printemps numérique (PN) sont invités par le Conseil des Atikamekw de Manawan et le Conseil des Atikamekw d’Opitciwan, pour offrir des Cafés numériques dans les écoles secondaires entre le 12 et le 16 septembre 2022. Cette activité s’insère dans une série d'initiatives en faveur de l’éducation numérique auprès des jeunes Atikamekw qui a débuté en 2019.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Communiqué –  Le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw (CNA) et le Printemps numérique (PN) sont invités par le Conseil des Atikamekw de Manawan et le Conseil des Atikamekw d’Opitciwan, pour offrir des Cafés numériques dans les écoles secondaires entre le 12 et le 16 septembre 2022. Cette activité s’insère dans une série d’initiatives en faveur de l’éducation numérique auprès des jeunes Atikamekw qui a débuté en 2019.

Les deux communautés de la Nation Atikamekw sont relativement éloignées des grands centres, et les jeunes qui y vivent disposent de trop peu d’opportunités pour s’approprier les outils numériques. Le CNA et le PN reconnaissent que, dans le contexte où les technologies évoluent très rapidement, une fracture numérique croissante continue de constituer un risque à la fois  économique, social et démocratique.  

Menée avec la collaboration des écoles secondaires Mikisiw à Opitciwan et Otapi à Manawan, cette seconde tournée mettra à l’honneur un Dôme immersif 360˚, la technologie des drones, un atelier d’initiation au codage, ainsi que la robotique. Elle permettra de sensibiliser les jeunes aux possibilités offertes par le numérique et de réfléchir aux enjeux de l’intégration des technologies de façon souhaitable dans un contexte autochtone.

Photo prise ce matin, 12 septembre, à l’école secondaire Mikisiw à Opitciwan.

« Les outils numériques sont incontournables et leur évolution est fulgurante. Même si nos communautés sont éloignées des centres urbains, nous devons permettre à nos jeunes d’avoir accès aux technologies les plus récentes dans le domaine pour qu’ils puissent s’y initier. Nous avons développé un partenariat avec le Printemps numérique depuis quelques années et il me fait plaisir qu’il puisse se déplacer dans nos communautés. Je suis convaincu que l’expérience pourra encore être répétée dans l’avenir afin que tous nos jeunes en bénéficient. »

Constant Awashish, Grand chef de la Nation Atikamekw.

« Au Printemps numérique, nous croyons fermement que la démocratisation des technologies numériques sera génératrice de richesse et que le Québec a tout ce qu’il faut pour continuer à bâtir une économie de la connaissance. Nous croyons également que l’intelligence numérique définit notre capacité collective à exprimer, utiliser et bonifier un savoir et une littératie à travers toutes les communautés.
En tant que promoteur technologique, le Printemps numérique a aussi la responsabilité de veiller à ce que le potentiel du numérique soit à la portée de tous, et nous sommes très heureux d’y répondre en offrant les Cafés numériques au sein même des communautés Atikamekw.
 »

Mehdi Benboubakeur, Directeur général du Printemps numérique. 

Revoir la tournée du Printemps numérique en 2019.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :