Collège François-de-Laval also takes the ICT path

Since the start of the school year, all Secondary 1 students at Collège François-de-Laval (formerly the Petit Séminaire de Québec) are now equipped with a laptop.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Since the start of the school year, all students of 1time secondary school students at Collège François-de-Laval (formerly the Petit Séminaire de Québec) are now equipped with a laptop.

Last week, we told you about the 100 % TIC turn at Marcelle-Mallet high school (to read again, here and here). Here is another who firmly believes in the need to adapt to the reality of her students. Thus, the laptop computer is now the primary learning tool for the pupil, and he will follow it throughout his secondary cycle.

“We believe that the schools that perform are the schools that innovate and stand out. In 2013, we can no longer ignore a technology that has become ubiquitous in our lives. If we want to allow the emergence of the best talents, equip the next generation of leaders and allow our youth to develop their skills and competences, we must align our teaching methods with the technological and social environment in which they find themselves. », Explains in a press release the director of the College, Mr. Marc Dallaire.

The idea of initiating this shift was inspired by the innovative educational tools of teacher Paule Delamarre, from the mathematics department. “Young people today are not that different from the young people we used to be. It is their environment that has changed. We must therefore consider this environment in our pedagogical approach in order to allow our children to realize their full potential. The combination of the laptop and the cloud makes the walls of the classroom disappear, making it the dimensions of the world. This same combination therefore provides access to an ever-growing number of tools promoting the creation of meaningful and authentic educational activities for students, ”she explains.

The College, founded in 1668, is one of the oldest educational institutions in North America. Mr. Dallaire is also very proud to offer this most contemporary pedagogical approach, which will have required significant work during the summer. Totaling nearly 400,000 $, the bill is entirely absorbed by donations or sponsorships from several contributors.

Within four years (cohort by cohort), all College students will be equipped with a laptop.

 

Source: establishment press release

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le Collège François-de-Laval emprunte aussi le chemin des TIC

Depuis la rentrée, tous les élèves de 1ère secondaire du Collège François-de-Laval (anciennement le Petit Séminaire de Québec) sont maintenant munis d'un ordinateur portable.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Depuis la rentrée, tous les élèves de 1ère secondaire du Collège François-de-Laval (anciennement le Petit Séminaire de Québec) sont maintenant munis d’un ordinateur portable.

La semaine dernière, nous vous parlions du virage 100 % TIC de l’école secondaire Marcelle-Mallet (à relire, ici et ici). En voici une autre qui croit résolument dans la nécessité de s’adapter à la réalité de ses élèves. Ainsi, l’ordinateur portable est maintenant le principal outil d’apprentissage de l’élève, et il le suivra tout au long de son cycle secondaire.

« Nous croyons que les écoles qui performent sont les écoles qui innovent et se démarquent. En 2013, nous ne pouvons plus faire abstraction d’une technologie devenue omniprésente dans nos vies. Si nous voulons permettre l’éclosion des meilleurs talents, outiller la prochaine génération de leaders et permettre à notre jeunesse de développer leurs aptitudes et leurs compétences, nous devons arrimer nos méthodes d’enseignement avec l’environnement technologique et social dans lequel ils se trouvent », explique dans un communiqué le directeur du Collège, M. Marc Dallaire.

L’idée d’amorcer ce virage a été inspirée par les outils pédagogiques innovateurs de l’enseignante Paule Delamarre, du département de mathématiques. « Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui ne sont pas si différents des jeunes que nous étions. C’est leur environnement qui a changé. Nous devons donc considérer cet environnement dans notre approche pédagogique afin de permettre à nos enfants d’actualiser leur plein potentiel. La combinaison du portable et de l’infonuagique fait disparaître les murs de la classe, la rendant ainsi aux dimensions du monde. Cette même combinaison permet donc d’accéder à un nombre sans cesse grandissant d’outils favorisant la création d’activités pédagogiques signifiantes et authentiques pour les élèves », explique-t-elle.

Le Collège, fondé en 1668, est l’une des plus vieilles institutions d’enseignement en Amérique du Nord. M. Dallaire n’est d’ailleurs pas peu fier d’offrir cette approche pédagogique des plus contemporaines, qui aura nécessité d’importants travaux pendant l’été. Totalisant près de 400 000 $, la facture est entièrement absorbée par des dons ou commandites de plusieurs contributeurs.

D’ici quatre ans (cohorte par cohorte), ce sont tous les élèves du Collège qui seront munis d’un ordinateur portable.

 

Source : communiqué de l’établissement

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :