Official launch of the Quebec Center for Media and Information Education

Press release - Born from the success of the #30seconds before believing in program, the Quebec Center for Media and Information Education (CQÉMI) is officially launched. Created by a group of professional journalists, this new organization offers educational resources, training and activities aimed at equipping citizens who wish to be better informed and fight against false news. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Press release - Born from the success of the program #30seconds before believing it, the Quebec Center for Media and Information Education (CQÉMI) is officially launched. Created by a group of professional journalists, this new organization offers educational resources, training and activities aimed at equipping citizens who wish to be better informed and fight against false news. 

The creation of the CQÉMI is part of the desire to continue growing the training program #30seconds before believing it, launched in 2018 by the Professional Federation of Quebec Journalists (FPJQ) in partnership with Agence Science-Presse. In four years, this program has reached more than 24,000 people in some 500 schools and libraries across Quebec. The CQÉMI, which now oversees it, will promote its development and influence through strategic partnerships designed to meet growing demand.

“From its launch, the #30seconds before believing project was received with enthusiasm by teachers. We felt that there was a great need for media and information literacy and a lack of resources, explains CQÉMI president Line Pagé. This is why we have decided to expand our offer with the creation of the Center. "

CQÉMI is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and popularize journalism and its role in society. An initiative made possible thanks to the financial support of the Secrétariat à la jeunesse du Québec and Canadian Heritage.

Become a member of CQÉMI

To become a journalist trainer *, receive training as an establishment or be kept informed of activities in media and information education, all you need to do is become a member of CQÉMI. Membership is free and only takes a few minutes.

* Conditions apply.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Lancement officiel du Centre québécois d’éducation aux médias et à l’information

Communiqué - Né du succès du programme #30secondes avant d’y croire, le Centre québécois d’éducation aux médias et à l’information (CQÉMI) est officiellement lancé. Créé par un groupe de journalistes professionnels, ce nouvel organisme propose des ressources pédagogiques, des formations et des activités visant à outiller les citoyens qui souhaitent mieux s’informer et lutter contre les fausses nouvelles. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Communiqué – Né du succès du programme #30secondes avant d’y croire, le Centre québécois d’éducation aux médias et à l’information (CQÉMI) est officiellement lancé. Créé par un groupe de journalistes professionnels, ce nouvel organisme propose des ressources pédagogiques, des formations et des activités visant à outiller les citoyens qui souhaitent mieux s’informer et lutter contre les fausses nouvelles. 

La création du CQÉMI s’inscrit dans la volonté de poursuivre la croissance du programme de formation #30secondes avant d’y croire, lancé en 2018 par la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ) en partenariat avec l’Agence Science-Presse. En quatre ans, ce programme a pu rejoindre plus de 24 000 personnes dans quelque 500 établissements scolaires et bibliothèques à travers le Québec. Le CQÉMI, qui le chapeaute désormais, favorisera son développement et son rayonnement par le biais de partenariats stratégiques destinés à répondre à la demande grandissante.

« Dès son lancement, le projet #30secondes avant d’y croire a été reçu avec enthousiasme par les enseignants. Nous avons senti qu’il y avait un grand besoin en éducation aux médias et à l’information et un manque de ressources, explique la présidente du CQÉMI, Line Pagé. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé d’élargir notre offre avec la création du Centre. »

Le CQÉMI est un organisme à but non lucratif qui a pour mission de travailler à la valorisation et la vulgarisation du journalisme et son rôle dans la société. Une initiative rendue possible grâce au soutien financier du Secrétariat à la jeunesse du Québec et de Patrimoine canadien.

Devenir membre du CQÉMI

Pour devenir journaliste formateur*, recevoir une formation en tant qu’établissement ou être tenu au courant des activités en éducation aux médias et à l’information, il suffit de devenir membre du CQÉMI. L’adhésion est gratuite et ne prend que quelques minutes.

*Des conditions s’appliquent.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!