5 new features of Antidote that are useful in the classroom

  • Sponsored report
Antidote celebrates 25 years with a range of renewed applications. There are over a hundred new features, many of which will be useful in the classroom. Here are five that deserve your attention.
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Antidote celebrates its 25th anniversary with a range of renewed applications. There are morea hundred new products, many of which will be useful in class. Here are five that deserve your attention.

1. A dictionary of rhymes and quasi-rhymes

Antidote has one more reference book! Your students will love using it for poetry and composition exercises. In addition to rhymes, introduce your class to alliteration and even slam with quasi-rhymes, that is, words with sound similarities such as assonances and counter-assonances. This way thebold inspiration for the bohemian poems and crazy songs!

2. The pronunciation of words

Your students can finally listen to the pronunciation of words directly in Antidote, with a simple click on the speaker symbol in the dictionaries. Pronunciation is particularly useful for new words you are teaching and generally for learning a second language. This feature will certainly be appreciated by allophone students or in francization classes, as well as francophones for their English classes. Antidote also has two different accents for each language: Montreal and Paris for French; Toronto and London for English.

3. Common prepositions

Thanks to a new feature, Antidote can highlight prepositions in definitions and examples of its dictionaries. It is then much easier to spot and understand the difference between to count, count with or count on. These little words are sometimes difficult to master when writing a text!

4. Linguistic research

Now in the foreground with a magnifying glass in the corrector's interface, the linguistic search indicates not only all the occurrences of the word or the string, but also the inflections (ex .: open, will open, open), synonyms, words from the same family or the same lexical field. This tool will allow you to reveal before the eyes of your students the entire semantic network of a text.

5. The customizable navigation bar

Develop a review method with your students by adding shortcuts to Antidote 11's new navigation bar (this feature will soon be deployed on Antidote Web). For example, by placing the repetitions, turns and readability filters at the first level, your students will develop the habit of reviewing their texts from these angles. What's more, Antidote will grab their attention by displaying a colored dot in front of a filter when it contains detections.

How to take advantage of the novelties?

If your school has subscribed to Antidote Web, you will automatically benefit from the news online. If you use Antidote Mobile, be sure to update it in the App Store to take advantage of new dictionaries and guides. Finally, if your organization holds a multi-user license, the server version of Antidote 11 will be available in spring 2022.


Your comments on this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

You might also like:

5 nouveautés d’Antidote utiles en classe

  • Reportage commandité
Antidote célèbre ses 25 ans avec une gamme d’applications renouvelées. Il y a plus d’une centaine de nouveautés, dont plusieurs vous seront utiles en classe. En voici cinq qui méritent votre attention.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Antidote célèbre ses 25 ans avec une gamme d’applications renouvelées. Il y a plus d’une centaine de nouveautés, dont plusieurs vous seront utiles en classe. En voici cinq qui méritent votre attention.

1. Un dictionnaire de rimes et quasi-rimes

Antidote compte un ouvrage de référence de plus! Vos élèves aimeront l’utiliser pour les exercices de poésie et de composition. En plus des rimes, initiez votre classe aux allitérations et même au slam avec les quasi-rimes, c’est-à-dire des mots présentant des ressemblances sonores comme des assonances et contre-assonances. Par ici l’audacieuse inspiration pour les poèmes bohèmes et les chansons insensées!

2. La prononciation des mots

Vos élèves peuvent enfin écouter la prononciation des mots directement dans Antidote, avec un simple clic sur le symbole de haut-parleur dans les dictionnaires. La prononciation est particulièrement utile pour les nouveaux mots que vous enseignez et, de façon générale, pour l’apprentissage d’une deuxième langue. Cette fonctionnalité sera certainement appréciée des élèves allophones ou en classe de francisation, tout comme des francophones pour leurs cours d’anglais. Antidote présente par ailleurs deux accents différents pour chaque langue : Montréal et Paris pour le français; Toronto et Londres pour l’anglais.

3. Les prépositions courantes

Grâce à une nouvelle fonctionnalité, Antidote peut surligner les prépositions dans les définitions et les exemples de ses dictionnaires. Il est alors beaucoup plus facile de repérer et comprendre la différence entre compter, compter avec ou compter sur. Ces petits mots sont parfois difficiles à maîtriser dans l’écriture d’un texte!

4. La recherche linguistique

Désormais au premier plan avec une loupe dans l’interface du correcteur, la recherche linguistique indique non seulement toutes les occurrences du mot ou de la chaîne, mais aussi les flexions (ex. : ouvrir, ouvrira, ouvert), les synonymes, les mots de la même famille ou du même champ lexical. Cet outil vous permettra de révéler devant les yeux de vos élèves tout le réseau sémantique d’un texte.

5. La barre de navigation personnalisable

Développez une méthode de révision avec vos élèves en ajoutant des raccourcis dans la nouvelle barre de navigation d’Antidote 11 (cette fonctionnalité sera bientôt déployée sur Antidote Web). Par exemple, en plaçant les filtres de répétitions, de tournures et de lisibilité au premier niveau, vos élèves prendront l’habitude de réviser leurs textes sous ces angles. Qui plus est, Antidote attirera leur attention en affichant un point de couleur devant un filtre lorsqu’il contient des détections.

Comment profiter des nouveautés?

Si votre école est abonnée à Antidote Web, vous profitez automatiquement des nouveautés en ligne. Si vous utilisez Antidote Mobile, assurez-vous d’en faire la mise à jour dans l’App Store pour bénéficier des nouveautés dans les dictionnaires et les guides. Finalement, si votre organisation détient une licence multiposte, la version serveur d’Antidote 11 sera disponible au printemps 2022.


Vos commentaires sur cet article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :