Developmental dyslexia / dysorthography: what is it?

by Céline de Brito, MOA Speech therapist The word dyslexia comes from the Greek terms dys (difficulties) and lexis (lexicon, words). Thus, dyslexia is a written language disorder resulting in […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

by Céline de Brito, MOA
Speech Therapist

The word dyslexia comes from the Greek terms dys (difficulties) and lexis (lexicon, words). Thus, dyslexia is a written language disorder whereby, in the presence of normal intelligence and no other major problem, a person has difficulty learning to read. Likewise, the word dysorthography comes from the term dys (difficulties) and the word spelling and therefore represents a written language disorder affecting spelling. Dyslexia usually comes with dysorthography.

However, care must be taken, because a finding of dyslexia does not depend on reading symptoms (eg visual errors, hearing confusion, academic delay), but rather on progress. Thus, a person may have difficulty learning to read due to other factors (visual, emotional, family difficulty, etc.) and the symptoms noted may resemble dyslexia. If the person has the symptoms and when followed up it progresses quickly, it is simply a delay. Dyslexia is a disorder (not a delay). Progress is therefore slow and the difficulties persist.

You should also know that dyslexia is a neurological dysfunction and that we therefore frequently notice oral signs (poor working memory, lexical access disorder, sound difficulties (pronunciation), etc.). An evaluation of dyslexia requires that the child be evaluated by several professionals (orthopedagogue, speech therapist, psychologist, optometrist, audiologist) and the follow-up carried out will make it possible to confirm or deny the presence of dyslexia.

 

Find many resources
and educational material for this purpose on the site
of Bri-Bri games | Educational material designed by speech therapists.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La dyslexie/dysorthographie développementale : qu’est-ce que c’est?

par Céline de Brito, MOA Orthophoniste Le mot dyslexie vient des termes grecs dys (difficultés) et lexis (lexique, mots). Ainsi, la dyslexie est un trouble du langage écrit faisant en […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

par Céline de Brito, MOA
Orthophoniste

Le mot dyslexie vient des termes grecs dys (difficultés) et lexis (lexique, mots). Ainsi, la dyslexie est un trouble du langage écrit faisant en sorte qu’en présence d’une intelligence normale et d’aucune autre problématique majeure, une personne éprouve de la difficulté à apprendre à lire. De la même façon, le mot dysorthographie vient du terme dys (difficultés) et du mot orthographe et représente donc un trouble du langage écrit affectant l’orthographe. La dyslexie vient généralement avec la dysorthographie.

Il faut cependant faire attention, car une conclusion de dyslexie ne dépend pas des symptômes en lecture (ex: erreurs visuelles, confusion auditive, retard académique), mais plutôt de l’évolution. Ainsi, une personne peut avoir des difficultés à apprendre à lire en raison d’autres facteurs (difficulté visuelle, affective, familiale…) et les symptômes notés peuvent s’apparenter à une dyslexie. Si la personne présente les symptômes et que lorsqu’on effectue un suivi, l’évolution est rapide, il s’agit tout simplement d’un retard. La dyslexie est un trouble ( et non un retard). Les progrès sont donc lents et les difficultés persistent.

Il faut aussi savoir que la dyslexie est une dysfonction neurologique et qu’on note donc fréquemment des signes à l’oral (faible mémoire de travail, trouble de l’accès lexical, difficultés de sons (prononciation)…). Une évaluation de la dyslexie demande que l’enfant soit évalué par plusieurs professionnels (orthopédagogue, orthophoniste, psychologue, optométriste, audiologiste) et le suivi effectué permettra de confirmer ou infirmer la présence de la dyslexie.

 

Trouvez de nombreuses ressources
et du matériel éducatif à cet effet sur le site
des Jeux de Bri-Bri | Matériel éducatif conçus par des orthophonistes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :