Children will learn the importance of online inclusion during Media Literacy Week 2017

The next Media Literacy Week will take place from November 6-10, 2017 and will focus on online diversity and inclusion for children and youth.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The next Media Literacy Week will take place from November 6-10, 2017 and will focus on online diversity and inclusion for children and youth.

* * *

OTTAWA, May 25, 2017 / CNW / - MediaSmarts, Canada's center for media literacy and digital literacy, and the Canadian Teachers' Federation (CTF) today announced the dates and theme of Education Week this year's media. It will take place from November 6 to 10 and will focus on diversity and inclusion online for children and youth.

Focused on the theme "Inclusion in a wired world: A place and a voice for all", Media Literacy Week will be an opportunity to see how the diversity of voices, points of view and talents helps to enrich our media and digital spaces, and invite young people to create welcoming digital environments and promote respectful online exchanges.

"We all have an interest in having open virtual spaces where everyone can present their point of view," explains Cathy wing, co-executive director of HabiloMédias. If we are to create a culture of friendliness online for children and youth, we must already sow the seeds with them so that the next generation of users and creators can thrive. "

“Teachers can challenge students to explore fundamental issues of diversity and openness in online and in-person relationships,” said Heather smith, President of the CTF. As e-citizens, students have a lot to contribute to this debate by talking about their experiences and proposing innovative approaches to the multiplicity of voices. "

Media Literacy Week, an annual event co-sponsored by MediaSmarts and CTF, is a way to highlight the importance of enhancing children's and youth's digital and media literacy skills. More than 100 organizations, including Guides du Canada, the YWCA and teachers' associations, collaborate each year by organizing activities across the Canada and internationally. Officially launched in the United States in 2015, Media Literacy Week is organized in that country by the National Association for Media Literacy Education.

MediaSmarts and CTF are proud to count on the support of TELUS as platinum sponsor and Bell and YouTube as gold sponsors of Media Literacy Week 2017. Stay tuned for upcoming announcements on events, programs, partners and more news! In particular, you can visit the site mediaeducationweek.ca or subscribe to electronic newsletter so you don't miss a thing.

About HabiloMédias

MediaSmarts is a Canadian non-profit center dedicated to digital and media literacy. Its goal is for young people to develop the critical thinking they need to use media as active and informed digital citizens. MediaSmarts offers hundreds of digital and media literacy resources for librarians, parents and educators on its website habilomedias.ca. @HabiloMedias

About the Canadian Teachers' Federation

Founded in 1920, CTF is a national alliance of provincial and territorial organizations representing more than 232,000 teachers across Canada. Canada. CTF is also affiliated with Education International, which has 32 million members. @SignCanada

 

SOURCE Canadian Teachers' Federation

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les enfants apprendront l’importance de l’inclusion en ligne pendant la Semaine éducation médias 2017

La prochaine Semaine éducation médias aura lieu du 6 au 10 novembre 2017 et portera sur la diversité et l'inclusion en ligne pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

La prochaine Semaine éducation médias aura lieu du 6 au 10 novembre 2017 et portera sur la diversité et l’inclusion en ligne pour les enfants et les jeunes.

* * *

OTTAWA, le 25 mai 2017 /CNW/ – HabiloMédias, le centre canadien d’éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique, et la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants (FCE) ont annoncé aujourd’hui les dates et le thème de la Semaine éducation médias de cette année. Elle aura lieu du 6 au 10 novembre et portera sur la diversité et l’inclusion en ligne pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Axé sur le thème « L’inclusion dans un monde branché : Une place et une voix pour tous et toutes », la Semaine éducation médias sera une occasion de voir en quoi la diversité des voix, des points de vue et des talents contribue à enrichir nos espaces médiatiques et numériques, et d’inviter les jeunes à créer des milieux numériques accueillants et à favoriser des échanges respectueux en ligne.

« Nous avons tous et toutes intérêt à avoir des espaces virtuels ouverts où tout le monde peut présenter son point de vue, explique Cathy Wing, codirectrice exécutive d’HabiloMédias. Si nous voulons créer en ligne une culture de la convivialité pour les enfants et les jeunes, nous devons déjà en semer les graines avec eux afin que la prochaine génération d’utilisateurs et utilisatrices et de créateurs et créatrices veillent à son épanouissement. »

« Les enseignantes et enseignants peuvent pousser les élèves à explorer les questions fondamentales de la diversité et de l’ouverture dans les relations en ligne et en personne, rappelle Heather Smith, présidente de la FCE. En tant que cybercitoyens et cybercitoyennes, les élèves ont beaucoup à apporter à ce débat en parlant de leurs expériences et en proposant des approches novatrices face à la multiplicité des voix. »

La Semaine éducation médias, un évènement annuel coparrainé par HabiloMédias et la FCE, est une façon de souligner l’importance d’enrichir les compétences des enfants et des jeunes en littératie numérique et médiatique. Plus de 100 organisations, notamment les Guides du Canada, le YWCA et des associations d’enseignantes et enseignants, collaborent chaque année en organisant des activités dans l’ensemble du Canada et à l’échelle internationale. Lancée officiellement aux États-Unis en 2015, la Semaine éducation médias est organisée dans ce pays par la National Association for Media Literacy Education.

HabiloMédias et la FCE sont fiers de compter sur l’appui de TELUS comme commanditaire platine et de Bell et YouTube comme commanditaires or de la Semaine éducation médias 2017. Restez à l’affût des prochaines annonces sur les évènements, les programmes, les partenaires et d’autres nouvelles! Vous pouvez notamment visiter le site semaineeducationmedias.ca ou vous inscrire au bulletin électronique pour ne rien manquer.

À propos d’HabiloMédias

HabiloMédias est un centre canadien sans but lucratif qui se consacre à la littératie numérique et médiatique. Son objectif est que les jeunes développent la pensée critique dont ils ont besoin pour utiliser les médias à titre de citoyennes et citoyens numériques actifs et éclairés. HabiloMédias offre des centaines de ressources de littératie numérique et médiatique aux bibliothécaires, aux parents et aux éducateurs et éducatrices sur son site Web habilomedias.ca. @HabiloMedias

À propos de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants

Fondée en 1920, la FCE est une alliance nationale d’organisations provinciales et territoriales qui représentent plus de 232 000 enseignantes et enseignants au Canada. La FCE est également affiliée à l’Internationale de l’Éducation, laquelle compte 32 millions de membres. @EnseigneCanada

 

SOURCE Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!