What if assistive technology tools were also used in general adult education?

Although adult general education centers (AGE) welcome many students under 18 years of age from the youth sector, the integration of digital tools, particularly technological aids, is a marginal practice. Karine Jacques, a remedial educator, has initiated a new collaborative project to raise awareness among FGA stakeholders.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Although adult general education centers (AGE) welcome many students under 18 years of age from the youth sector, the integration of digital tools, particularly technological aids, is a marginal practice. Karine Jacques, a remedial educator, has initiated a new collaborative project to raise awareness among FGA stakeholders.

The FGA's clientele is far from homogeneous. It is composed of adults, of course, but also of young people, the majority of whom come from the alternative sectors, have left the youth sector, suffer from intellectual disabilities (they must be enrolled in school until the age of 21), etc. More than 30 % of the clientele is under 19 years old and 50 % is under 25 years old, according to the data from the Department of Education. It is easy to imagine that these students' academic journey was difficult before they arrived in the FGA class.

Karine Jacques has been a remedial teacher for several years at the FGA. She has always had a concern for academic continuity for incoming high school students, which includes an interest in technological aids used by students with learning disabilities. As soon as she obtained a support position for all of the province's training centers, she decided to set up a collaborative project to raise awareness of digital uses in the classroom among FGA stakeholders and thus better support students.

"In general, FGA teachers have little knowledge about learning disabilities and technology tools. The work that has been done to democratize these tools in primary and secondary schools is not necessarily made available to adults. So, today, I want to do my part in this regard," explains Karine.

For example, technology support tools are not routinely used. And for a variety of reasons, students' past academic records are not always accessible. Sometimes practitioners wait until students have experienced failure before clearing them. "We understand that many young people who are at FGA have already experienced their share of failures. I tell teachers, 'Go, let them use the tools. Remove the barriers so they can experience successes!"."

The WOW Project

Within the framework of the WOW project, she gathered of the FGA actors (Complementary Educational Services Professionals, Pedagogical Consultants, Teachers, RÉCIT Consultants, etc.) from six school service centers (see list below). 

Five virtual meetings will have taken place by the end of the school year. Remedial educators and RÉCIT consultants will also co-teach in classrooms with teachers of the common basic training (FBC) (pre-secondary and 1er cycle of secondary school). Finally, a digital collaborative space is available to participants.

Beyond the use of digital tools for students, Ms. Jacques hopes, through this project, to bring school workers in adult education centers to collaborate together, to share their good works and their learning with each other. "We can also bring digital tools for teaching and not just for learning. But we're taking it one step at a time."

A total of 23 teachers are officially involved in the project, which has received financial support from the Ministry of Education and other partners (see image below). Already, Ms. Jacques is seeing a lot of interest and teachers have shown interest in joining the group. Although they cannot participate in the meetings or benefit from co-teaching, they can have access to the documents and resources developed, always in a spirit of sharing.

The future of the project is not assured for next year, but Ms. Jacques hopes that it can continue. Its objectives are clear: "To intervene in the prevention of difficulties through the use of technological assistance tools and to develop a professional learning community to help CBF clients with digital technology.

Good to know:

  • The RÉCIT FGA offers its customers techno-pedagogical troubleshooting without an appointment from Monday to Friday from 9:00 am to 11:00 am. Simply log in to the platform.
  • The National Special Education and Inclusion Service also offers virtual support to Quebec school workers on Wednesdays from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Access directly with Teams.

Participating Adult Education Centres

  • St-Louis and Louis-Jolliet Centre (CSS de la Capitale)
  • Center Val-des-Sources, Windsor and Magog (CSS des Sommets)
  • Center des Patriotes (CSS des Patriotes)
  • Center des Belles-Rives (CSS des Trois-Lacs)
  • Center du Nouvel-Envol et de Valleyfield (CSS de la Vallée-des-Tisserands)
  • Center Léon-Bloy (CSS des Grades-Seigneuries)
  • New Horizons (Eastern Township School Board)

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Et si les outils d’aide technologique étaient aussi utilisés à la formation générale des adultes?

Bien que les centres de formation générale aux adultes (FGA) accueillent plusieurs étudiants de moins de 18 ans en provenance du secteur jeunes, l’intégration des outils numériques, notamment les aides technologiques, est une pratique marginale. Karine Jacques, orthopédagogue, a initié un nouveau projet collaboratif pour sensibiliser les acteurs de la FGA.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Bien que les centres de formation générale aux adultes (FGA) accueillent plusieurs étudiants de moins de 18 ans en provenance du secteur jeunes, l’intégration des outils numériques, notamment les aides technologiques, est une pratique marginale. Karine Jacques, orthopédagogue, a initié un nouveau projet collaboratif pour sensibiliser les acteurs de la FGA.

La clientèle de la FGA est loin d’être homogène. Elle se compose d’adultes, bien sûr, mais également de jeunes, dont la majorité est en provenance des secteurs alternatifs, a quitté le secteur jeunes, souffre de déficience intellectuelle (ceux-ci doivent être scolarisés jusqu’à l’âge de 21 ans), etc. Plus de 30 % de la clientèle a moins de 19 ans et 50 % a moins de 25 ans, selon les données du ministère de l’Éducation. Il est facile d’imaginer que le parcours scolaire de ces étudiants a été difficile avant qu’ils arrivent en classe de FGA.

Karine Jacques est orthopédagogue depuis plusieurs années à la FGA. Elle a toujours eu un souci de continuité scolaire pour les étudiants qui arrivent des écoles secondaires, ce qui inclut un intérêt pour les outils d’aides technologiques utilisés par les élèves en difficulté d’apprentissage. Dès qu’elle a obtenu un poste de soutien pour l’ensemble des centres de formation de la province, elle a décidé de mettre en place un projet collaboratif afin de sensibiliser les intervenants de la FGA aux usages du numérique en classe et ainsi mieux soutenir les étudiants.

« De façon générale, les enseignants de la FGA ont peu de connaissance sur les troubles d’apprentissage et les outils technologiques. Le travail qui a été fait pour démocratiser ceux-ci dans les écoles primaires et secondaires n’est pas nécessairement rendu aux adultes. Alors, je souhaite aujourd’hui faire ma part en ce sens », explique Karine.

Ainsi, les outils d’aide technologique ne sont pas systématiquement utilisés. Et pour toutes sortes de raisons, les dossiers scolaires antérieurs des étudiants ne sont pas toujours accessibles. Parfois, les intervenants attendent que les étudiants aient connu des échecs avant de les autoriser. « On s’entend que plusieurs jeunes qui sont à la FGA ont déjà connu leur lot d’échecs. Je dis aux enseignants : “Go, laissez-les utiliser les outils. Enlevez les obstacles pour qu’ils connaissent des réussites!”. »

Le Projet WOW

Dans le cadre du projet WOW, elle a rassemblé des acteurs de la FGA (professionnels des services éducatifs complémentaires, conseillers pédagogiques, enseignants, conseillers du RÉCIT, etc.) provenant de six centres de services scolaires (voir liste ci-bas). 

Cinq rencontres virtuelles auront eu lieu d’ici la fin de l’année scolaire. Des orthopédagogues et des conseillers RÉCIT feront aussi du coenseignement en classe avec des enseignants de la formation de base commune (FBC) (présecondaire et 1er cycle du secondaire). Enfin, un espace collaboratif numérique est à la disposition des participants.

Au-delà de l’utilisation des outils numériques pour les élèves, Mme Jacques espère, par le biais de ce projet, amener les intervenants scolaires des centres de formation aux adultes à collaborer ensemble, à partager leurs bons coups et leurs apprentissages entre eux. « On peut aussi amener les outils numériques pour l’enseignement et pas seulement pour l’apprentissage. Mais on y va une étape à la fois. »

Au total, 23 enseignants sont officiellement engagés dans le projet, qui a reçu un soutien financier du ministère de l’Éducation et d’autres partenaires (voir image ci-bas). Déjà, Mme Jacques constate un engouement et des enseignants ont démontré de l’intérêt pour joindre le groupe. Bien qu’ils ne puissent pas participer aux rencontres ou bénéficier du coenseignement, ils peuvent avoir accès aux documents et ressources développés, toujours dans un esprit de partage.

L’avenir du projet n’est pas assuré pour l’an prochain, mais Mme Jacques espère qu’il pourra se poursuivre. Ses objectifs sont clairs : « Intervenir en prévention des difficultés par l’utilisation des outils d’aide technologique et développer une communauté d’apprentissage professionnelle pour aider la clientèle FBC avec le numérique ».

Bon à savoir :

  • Le RÉCIT FGA offre à sa clientèle du dépannage technopédagogique sans rendez-vous du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 11 h. Il suffit de se connecter à la plateforme.
  • Le Service national du RÉCIT de l’inclusion et de l’adaptation scolaire offre aussi aux intervenants scolaires québécois du soutien virtuel le mercredi de 8 h 30 à 12 h. Accédez directement avec Teams.

Les centres d’éducation aux adultes participants

  • Centre St-Louis et Louis-Jolliet (CSS de la Capitale)
  • Centre Val-des-Sources, Windsor et Magog (CSS des Sommets)
  • Centre des Patriotes (CSS des Patriotes)
  • Centre des Belles-Rives (CSS des Trois-Lacs)
  • Centre du Nouvel-Envol et de Valleyfield (CSS de la Vallée-des-Tisserands)
  • Centre Léon-Bloy (CSS des Grades-Seigneuries)
  • New Horizons (Eastern Township School Board)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :