ADVERTISEMENT

Data on French in Quebec and Canada: the indicators are red

(News release) MONTREAL, Oct. 24, 2012 / CNW Telbec / - Statistics Canada today released 2011 census data on the demolinguistic situation in Quebec and Canada. The results show an unequivocal downward trend for French.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

(News release) MONTREAL, Oct. 24, 2012 / CNW Telbec / - Statistics Canada today released 2011 census data on the demolinguistic situation in Quebec and Canada. The results show an unequivocal downward trend for French.

In Canada as a whole, the weight of French is 21.7% as mother tongue and 21.0% as language spoken at home, a drop of 0.4 points in five years for each of the indicators. The weight of French among the official languages is also decreasing. Outside of Quebec, French is mainly spoken at home by only 2.4% of individuals.

“In addition to a decline in French as a mother tongue and as a language of use, there is a worrying decline in knowledge of French in Canada, mainly due to a decline in bilingualism among Anglophones. In twenty years, knowledge of French has never been so low in the country ”underlines Patrick Sabourin, president of IRFA.

The indicators are also down in Quebec, where French as a mother tongue fell by 0.7 points compared to 2006, standing at 78.9%, while the language spoken most often at home fell by 0 , 6 point to reach 81.2%. However, it is in Montreal that the situation is most worrying:

“French as a language spoken at home continued to decline from 54.2% in 2006 to 53.0% in 2011. The exodus of Francophones to the suburbs does not fully explain this decline, French having declined by 0.7 point in the entire Montreal metropolitan area, ”explains Patrick Sabourin.

Bilingualism has increased overall in Quebec thanks to an increase in knowledge of English among Francophones, which rose from 35.8% in 2006 to 38.3% in 2011. Bilingualism rates decreased slightly among Anglophones and allophones. A little more than 5% of Quebecers, or 440,000 people, do not know enough French to conduct a conversation. This proportion reaches 14% on the island of Montreal.

The census confirms the trends observed in recent decades, namely a marginalization of French throughout Canada and a slow and robust decline in Quebec. “In Quebec, the slight increase in language transfers to French is not enough to slow down the decline. Even if these transfers have crossed the psychological bar of 50%, we are still very far from the threshold of 90% which would allow demographic balance ”concludes Mr. Sabourin.

About IRFA
Founded in 2008, the Institute for Research on French in America (IRFA) has three missions: scientific research (enrichment of knowledge), training (constitution of a new generation of scientists) and the dissemination of information (development of the critical spirit of citizens regarding the language issue).

SOURCE: Institute for Research on French in America

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Données sur le français au Québec et au Canada : les indicateurs sont au rouge

(Communiqué) MONTRÉAL, le 24 oct. 2012 /CNW Telbec/ - Statistique Canada publiait aujourd'hui les données du recensement de 2011 concernant la situation démolinguistique au Québec et au Canada. Les résultats révèlent une tendance à la baisse sans équivoque pour le français.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

(Communiqué) MONTRÉAL, le 24 oct. 2012 /CNW Telbec/ – Statistique Canada publiait aujourd’hui les données du recensement de 2011 concernant la situation démolinguistique au Québec et au Canada. Les résultats révèlent une tendance à la baisse sans équivoque pour le français.

Au Canada dans son ensemble, le poids du français est de 21,7% comme langue maternelle et de 21,0% comme langue parlée à la maison, une baisse de 0,4 point en cinq ans pour chacun des indicateurs. Le poids du français parmi les langues officielles est également en baisse. À l’extérieur du Québec, le français est principalement parlé à la maison par seulement 2,4% des individus.

« En plus d’une baisse du français comme langue maternelle et comme langue d’usage, on observe une inquiétante baisse de la connaissance du français au Canada, principalement due à une dégradation du bilinguisme chez les anglophones. En vingt ans, la connaissance du français n’a jamais été aussi faible au pays » souligne Patrick Sabourin, président de l’IRFA.

Les indicateurs sont également à la baisse au Québec où le français comme langue maternelle a reculé de 0,7 point par rapport à 2006, s’établissant à 78,9%, alors que la langue parlée le plus souvent à la maison a reculé de 0,6 point pour atteindre 81,2%. C’est toutefois à Montréal que la situation est la plus inquiétante :

« Le français comme langue parlée à la maison a poursuivi son déclin de 54,2% en 2006 à 53,0% en 2011. L’exode des francophones vers la banlieue n’explique pas entièrement cette baisse, le français ayant décliné de 0,7 point dans l’ensemble de la région métropolitaine de Montréal » explique Patrick Sabourin.

Le bilinguisme a globalement augmenté au Québec grâce à une hausse de la connaissance de l’anglais chez les francophones, qui est passée de 35,8% en 2006 à 38,3% en 2011. Les taux de bilinguisme ont légèrement diminué chez les anglophones et les allophones. Un peu plus de 5% des Québécois, soit 440 000 personnes, ne connaissent pas suffisamment le français pour soutenir une conversation. Cette proportion atteint 14% sur l’île de Montréal.

Le recensement confirme les tendances observées dans les dernières décennies, soit une marginalisation du français dans l’ensemble du Canada et un déclin lent et robuste au Québec. « Au Québec, la légère augmentation des transferts linguistiques vers le français ne suffit pas à en freiner le déclin. Même si ces transferts ont franchi la barre psychologique des 50%, on est toujours très loin du seuil de 90% qui permettrait l’équilibre démographique » conclut M. Sabourin.

À propos de l’IRFA
Fondé en 2008, l’Institut de recherche sur le français en Amérique (IRFA) a trois missions : la recherche scientifique (enrichissement du savoir), la formation (constitution d’une relève scientifique) et la diffusion de l’information (développement de l’esprit critique des citoyens relativement à la question linguistique).

SOURCE : Institut de recherche sur le français en Amérique

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :