Books to understand the world

Helping children to understand the world is the challenge given by Angèle Delaunois, responsible for Éditions de l'Isatis.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Helping children understand the world is the challenge that Angèle Delaunois, responsible for Isatis editions.

And like the Isatis, the polar fox who represents the publishing house, Angèle Delaunois wants children to develop their curiosity. "We must especially not take children for fools," said this former teacher who does not hesitate to address themes often reserved for adults such as health, war, pollution, intimidation, political refugees or child soldiers.

The 72 books of Éditions de l'Isatis are divided between the “Bonjour Histoire”, “Korrigan”, “Argo”, “Tourne-Pierre” and “Ombilic” collections, which are all aimed at more or less children. aged. They bring together tales and legends from different regions of the world, journeys through the human body, albums on social or environmental issues or even biographies of historical figures. The editor says special attention is paid to color or black-and-white illustrations, which she hopes will appeal to younger readers.

A pedagogical approach

A free educational sheet accompanies all the books in the collections. "It is expensive to produce, but I believe that the investment is really worth it", estimates Angèle Delaunois, herself the author of several titles. The educational sheets can be downloaded directly from the website. They include exercises, suggestions for debates, research and offer plastic arts, music or writing workshops to teachers.

A success that is exported

So far, 28 titles have been translated and are now available abroad, notably in Korea, Europe or Latin America. For example, the 18 titles of the “Ombilic” collection, written by Angèle Delaunois, are available in China.

The next titles in the “Bonjour Histoire” collection will address the life of Jacques-Cartier and Michel Sarrazin, the first surgeon of New France. The themes of bullying at school and best friends will also soon be discussed in the “Tourne-Pierre” collection.

From the creation of the publishing house in 2004, Angèle Delaunois wanted the works to be available on the Internet. "I didn't want to miss the boat, the internet seemed the way of the future." All titles are available in PDF format on the publishing house's website as well as on the Digital Warehouse.

Read also :

Digital books are growing in popularity

More young people read for fun in Canada

Reading on the screen: challenges of the connected reader

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des livres pour comprendre le monde

Aider les enfants à comprendre le monde, c’est le défi que s’est donné Angèle Delaunois, responsable des Éditions de l’Isatis.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Aider les enfants à comprendre le monde, c’est le défi que s’est donné Angèle Delaunois, responsable des Éditions de l’Isatis.

Et comme l’isatis, le renard polaire qui représente la maison d’édition, Angèle Delaunois souhaite que les enfants développent leur curiosité. «Il ne faut surtout pas prendre les enfants pour des imbéciles», estime cette ancienne enseignante qui n’hésite pas à aborder des thèmes souvent réservés aux adultes comme la santé, la guerre, la pollution, l’intimidation, les réfugiés politiques ou les enfants soldats.

Les 72 ouvrages des Éditions de l’Isatis sont divisés entre les collections «Bonjour l’histoire», «Korrigan», «Argo», «Tourne-Pierre» et «Ombilic », qui s’adressent tous à des enfants plus ou moins âgés. Elles regroupent des contes et légendes de différentes régions du monde, des voyages dans le corps humain, des albums sur des enjeux sociaux ou environnementaux ou encore des biographies de personnages historiques. L’éditrice affirme qu’une attention particulière est accordée aux illustrations en couleurs ou en noir et blanc, qui, espère-t-elle, attireront les jeunes lecteurs.

Une approche pédagogique

Une fiche pédagogique gratuite accompagne tous les livres des collections. «Cela coûte cher à produire, mais je crois que l’investissement en vaut vraiment la peine», estime Angèle Delaunois, elle-même auteure de plusieurs titres. Les fiches pédagogiques peuvent être téléchargées directement sur le site internet. Elles comprennent des exercices, des suggestions de débats, de recherches et proposent des ateliers d’arts plastiques, de musique ou d’écriture aux enseignants.

Un succès qui s’exporte

Jusqu’à maintenant, 28 titres  ont été traduits et sont maintenant disponibles à l’étranger, notamment en Corée, en Europe ou en Amérique latine. Par exemple, les 18 titres de la collection «Ombilic», écrits par Angèle Delaunois, sont disponibles en Chine.

Les prochains titres de la collection «Bonjour l’histoire» aborderont la vie de Jacques-Cartier et de Michel Sarrazin, premier chirurgien de Nouvelle-France. Les thèmes de l’intimidation à l’école et des meilleurs amis seront aussi bientôt abordés dans la collection «Tourne-Pierre».

Dès la création de la maison d’édition en 2004, Angèle Delaunois a voulu que les ouvrages soient disponibles sur Internet. «Je ne voulais pas manquer le bateau, Internet semblait la voie de l’avenir.» Tous les titres sont disponibles en  format PDF sur le site internet de la maison d’édition ainsi que sur l’Entrepôt numérique.

À lire aussi :

Les livres numériques gagnent en popularité

Plus de jeunes lisent par plaisir au Canada

Lecture à l’écran : défis du lecteur branché

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!