ADVERTISEMENT

University of Sherbrooke and UQAM researchers tackle students' declining interest in science and technology

This survey sheds new light on the factors that influence elementary and secondary students' interest in S&T in school.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

SHERBROOKE, QC, Oct. 16, 2015 / CNW Telbec / - In Quebec, as elsewhere in the West, elementary and secondary students are less and less inclined to choose studies leading to trades in science and technology (S&T) . This gap in the development of scientific culture, at the same time when the demand for knowledge in these fields is increasingly strong in society, is a worrying observation for the economic and social progress of Quebec. A survey co-produced by researchers from theUniversity of Sherbrooke and the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM) sheds new light on the factors that influence elementary and secondary students' interest in S&T in school. Its results are already enabling researchers to design tools and support teachers in finding solutions to reverse the trend.

Multidimensional portrait of students' interest in S&T

The survey carried out by the Research Chair on the interest of young people in science and technology (CRIJEST) with 2,571 students in 40 schools in eight Quebec school boards, drew up a detailed portrait of students' perceptions and the importance they place on S&T.

Several aspects studied by the survey obtained overall high results, including the dimensions "interest in S&T in school", "interest in S&T in society" and "sense of effectiveness"1. S&T subjects arrive at 4e rank of those considered the most important, easiest, "favorite" and those that parents talk to students about the most at home.

In addition, the researchers find that the studies necessary to access a profession in S&T are perceived as "difficult" and "not accessible to just anyone". Thus, less than half of the students questioned by the survey stated that they intended to study for a trade related to science and technology.

In particular, the research made it possible to describe a tendency to lose interest in S&T, during the primary-secondary transition, for most of the elements of the survey. There is also a progressive loss of the relative preference given to mathematics.

Interestingly, we notice that in the majority of the aspects taken into account in the study, the differences between boys and girls are generally marginal, with the exception of certain precise angles ("feeling of effectiveness in S&T1 "; "Ease perception of physics-chemistry, technology, and earth sciences"). "Our comparative results according to gender indicate much less marked boy / girl differences than those of other international studies," explains Professor Patrice Potvin, from the Faculty of Education at UQAM, co-holder of CRIJEST. .

The intellectual commitment of the student at the heart of his S&T career

The survey made it possible to identify several predictors whose influence on the student's future level of interest was confirmed. The quality of teaching methods is of course one of these predictors, but we now have a much better understanding of the role of other factors such as family participation in scientific culture activities, the pupil's perception of S&T in relation to other disciplines, etc.

Thus, one of the most promising conclusions of the survey concerns the approaches which engage the pupil intellectually. "Our most interesting finding is that among all the methods which seek to stimulate the student's interest in S&T, the most effective seem to be those which bring about an intellectual commitment before the start of teaching activities. », Explains Professor Abdelkrim Hasni, from the Faculty of Education of the University of Sherbrooke, co-holder of CRIJEST. In other words, we must create an attitude of curiosity and openness towards science before or from the beginning of the school program, and before the steps of experimentation and manipulation. The limited effect of the latter, in the absence of intelle engagement! ctual preliminary of the pupil, must also be underlined. We can see here the key role of parents and the recourse to contextualized teaching making it possible to link learning to the student's life and environment. "

Equipping teachers and decision-makers

This report is intended for all those involved in science and technology education at school. The issues it develops and the results it presents help guide the interventions of school stakeholders (teachers, guidance counselors, educational advisers, school administrators, etc.) and parents with students. The results will also be useful for local (school boards) or provincial decision-makers, and may inform decisions relating to the teaching of this disciplinary field.

As for them, the researchers and their teams are already back in the field, where they equip teachers, observe the progress of activities and measure the effectiveness of the procedures implemented in the classes. Second cycle training courses on pedagogical practices likely to have an effect on students' interests are already offered to teachers. The results are extremely promising.

“Science and technology education involves issues with far-reaching implications for modern societies,” the researchers conclude. In the West as in developing countries, the presence of a rich scientific culture facilitates the exercise of enlightened citizenship and underpins social progress as well as technological, industrial and commercial progress. Hence the importance that we must give collectively to questions relating to science and technology education in schools. In the demographic context that we are now experiencing, this is an issue that concerns us all. "

About the Research Chair on the Interest of Young People in Science and Technology (CRIJEST)

The creation of the Research Chair on the Interest of Young People in Science and Technology (CRIJEST) was funded and supported by the Commission scolaire des Grandes-Seigneuries, the Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons, the Commission Hautes-Rivières school, the Marie-Victorin school board, the Montreal school board, the Sherbrooke region school board, the Rivière-du-Nord school board and the Sommets school board.

The results of the survey are available on the CRIJEST website: www.crijest.org

1. By feeling of efficiency, we mean: to what degree do students consider themselves to be “good at school” in general and S&T in particular? How easy do students find themselves to understand S&T?

 

                                                            

SOURCE University of Sherbrooke

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Des chercheurs de l’Université de Sherbrooke et de l’UQAM s’attaquent à la baisse d’intérêt des élèves pour les sciences et la technologie

Cette enquête jette un éclairage d'une ampleur inédite sur les facteurs qui influencent l'intérêt des élèves du primaire et du secondaire envers les S&T à l'école.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

SHERBROOKE, QC, le 16 oct. 2015 /CNW Telbec/ – Au Québec comme ailleurs en Occident, les élèves du primaire et du secondaire sont de moins en moins enclins à choisir les études menant à des métiers en sciences et en technologie (S&T). Cette lacune dans le développement de la culture scientifique, au moment même où la demande pour la connaissance dans ces domaines est de plus en plus vive dans la société, est un constat inquiétant pour la progression économique et sociale du Québec. Une enquête coréalisée par des chercheurs de l’Université de Sherbrooke et de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) jette un éclairage d’une ampleur inédite sur les facteurs qui influencent l’intérêt des élèves du primaire et du secondaire envers les S&T à l’école. Ses résultats permettent déjà aux chercheurs de concevoir des outils et d’accompagner les enseignantes et les enseignants dans la recherche de solutions pour renverser la tendance.

Portrait multidimensionnel de l’intérêt des élèves face aux S&T

L’enquête réalisée par la Chaire de recherche sur l’intérêt des jeunes pour les sciences et la technologie (CRIJEST) auprès de 2 571 élèves répartis dans 40 écoles de huit commissions scolaires du Québec, a dressé un portrait détaillé des perceptions des élèves et de l’importance qu’ils accordent aux S&T.

Plusieurs aspects étudiés par l’enquête ont obtenu des résultats globalement élevés, dont les dimensions « intérêt pour les S&T à l’école », « intérêt pour les S&T dans la société » et « sentiment d’efficacité »1. Les matières en S&T arrivent au 4e rang de celles considérées comme les plus importantes, les plus faciles, les « préférées » et celles dont les parents parlent le plus aux élèves à la maison.

De plus, les chercheurs constatent que les études nécessaires pour accéder à un métier en S&T sont perçues comme « difficiles » et « non accessibles à n’importe qui ». Ainsi, moins de la moitié des élèves interrogés par l’enquête ont affirmé avoir l’intention de faire des études menant à un métier lié aux sciences et à la technologie.

La recherche a notamment permis de décrire une tendance à la perte d’intérêt face aux S&T, lors de la transition primaire-secondaire, pour la plupart des éléments de l’enquête. On constate également une perte progressive de la préférence relative accordée aux mathématiques.

Fait intéressant, on remarque que dans la majorité des aspects pris en compte dans l’étude, les différences entre les garçons et les filles sont généralement marginales, à l’exception de certains angles précis (« sentiment d’efficacité en S&T1 »; « perception de facilité de la physique-chimie, technologie, et sciences de la Terre »). « Nos résultats comparatifs en fonction du genre indiquent des différences garçons/filles beaucoup moins marquées que celles d’autres études internationales », explique le professeur Patrice Potvin, de la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’UQAM, cotitulaire de la CRIJEST.

L’engagement intellectuel de l’élève au cœur de son parcours en S&T

L’enquête a permis de dégager plusieurs prédicteurs dont l’influence sur le niveau futur d’intérêt de l’élève a été confirmée. La qualité des démarches d’enseignement est bien sûr un de ces prédicteurs, mais on comprend désormais beaucoup mieux le rôle d’autres facteurs comme la participation en famille à des activités de culture scientifique, la perception de l’élève des S&T par rapport aux autres disciplines, etc.

Ainsi, une des conclusions les plus prometteuses de l’enquête concerne les approches qui engagent l’élève intellectuellement. « Notre constat le plus intéressant, c’est que parmi toutes les méthodes qui cherchent à stimuler l’intérêt de l’élève pour les S&T, les plus efficaces semblent être celles qui font émerger un engagement intellectuel avant le début des activités d’enseignement », explique le professeur Abdelkrim Hasni, de la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université de Sherbrooke, cotitulaire de la CRIJEST. Autrement dit, on doit créer une attitude de curiosité et d’ouverture envers les sciences avant ou dès le début du programme scolaire, et avant les démarches d’expérimentation et de manipulation. L’effet limité de ces dernières, en l’absence d’engagement intelle! ctuel préalable de l’élève, doit d’ailleurs être souligné. On voit ici le rôle clé des parents et du recours à un enseignement contextualisé permettant de lier les apprentissages à la vie et à l’entourage de l’élève. »

Outiller enseignants et décideurs

Ce rapport s’adresse à tous les acteurs concernés par l’éducation scientifique et technologique à l’école. La problématique qu’il développe et les résultats qu’il présente permettent de guider les interventions des acteurs scolaires (enseignants, conseillers d’orientation, conseillers pédagogiques, directions d’écoles, etc.) et des parents auprès des élèves. Les résultats seront aussi utiles pour les décideurs locaux (commissions scolaires) ou provinciaux, et pourront éclairer les décisions relatives à l’enseignement de ce champ disciplinaire.

Quant à eux, les chercheurs et leurs équipes sont déjà de retour sur le terrain, où ils outillent des enseignants, observent le déroulement des activités et mesurent l’efficacité des démarches mises en œuvre dans les classes. Des formations de deuxième cycle sur des pratiques pédagogiques susceptibles d’avoir un effet sur l’intérêt des élèves sont déjà offertes aux enseignantes et aux enseignants. Les résultats sont extrêmement prometteurs.

« La formation aux sciences et à la technologie comporte des enjeux aux vastes répercussions pour les sociétés modernes, concluent les chercheurs. En Occident comme dans les pays en développement, la présence d’une riche culture scientifique facilite l’exercice d’une citoyenneté éclairée et sous-tend le progrès social au même titre que les progrès technologiques, industriels et commerciaux. D’où l’importance que nous devons accorder collectivement aux questions touchant l’éducation scientifique et technologique à l’école. Dans le contexte démographique que nous connaissons désormais, cela est un enjeu qui nous concerne tous. »

À propos de la Chaire de recherche sur l’intérêt des jeunes à l’égard des sciences et de la technologie (CRIJEST)

La création de la Chaire de recherche sur l’intérêt des jeunes à l’égard des sciences et de la technologie (CRIJEST) a été financée et appuyée par la Commission scolaire des Grandes-Seigneuries, la Commission scolaire des Hauts-Cantons, la Commission scolaire des Hautes-Rivières, la Commission scolaire Marie-Victorin, la Commission scolaire de Montréal, la Commission scolaire de la Région-de-Sherbrooke, la Commission scolaire de la Rivière-du-Nord et la Commission scolaire des Sommets.

Les résultats de l’enquête sont disponibles sur le site web de la CRIJEST : www.crijest.org

1. Par sentiment d’efficacité, on entend : jusqu’à quel degré les élèves considèrent-ils qu’ils sont « bons à l’école » en général et en S&T en particulier? Jusqu’à quel degré les élèves considèrent-ils qu’ils comprennent facilement les S&T?

 

                                                            

SOURCE Université de Sherbrooke

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :