The Canadian Waters Challenge: Explore and Celebrate Water with Your Students

Discover a participatory game that brings young Canadians to discover stories on the theme of water and then to educate the public on different issues.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Canadian Waters Challenge is a participatory game through which young Canadians are encouraged to discover stories on the theme of water and then to educate the public on various issues.

By offering this educational initiative, the organization Waterlution wishes to transform the country's schools into spaces of conversation around water and train the leaders of tomorrow in important issues for our communities. The Canadian Waters Challenge encourages young people aged 9 to 18 to learn more about their watershed, by getting involved in their community and by making connections with water studies programs.

It is by discovering many stories about the past of the waters that young people will come to better understand how this past influences their future. In a fun and interactive way, they will become aware of and develop a greater capacity to protect their water resources.

From exploration to celebration

Participating in the Canadian Waters Challenge means taking up a series of challenges that promote awareness of our personal connection and that of our community with water. The Challenge is divided into two levels, the EXPLORATION level which takes place between October 16 and December 22, 2017 and the CELEBRATION level which takes place between January 8 and March 22, 2018.

The first level includes an introductory workshop, a water challenge and a community challenge. The second level includes an event planning and community engagement workshop and concludes with the creation of a water celebration in the school or community. This must involve young people and adults in taking charge of the organization of a day of action, which aims to initiate changes in the community.

The various challenges can be submitted through a blog, email, Googledrive or other medium.

A variety of online resources

In collaboration with a Youth Advisory Council the Waterlution team supports schools throughout the Challenge with various tools and workshops. These include webinars with expert guests, online terminology glossaries and a list of local issues in Canada. These various resources strengthen the acquisition by young people of new skills and aim to arouse their curiosity.

In addition, an interactive online map illustrates how water connects us all, from coast to coast. It is on this card that the classes participating in the Challenge can write the unique story of their community, thus helping to enrich the experience of future groups.

Participating classes have the opportunity to be networked with school teams from across the country through virtual calls. Finally, groups can submit photos and videos of their water celebration for a chance to win great prizes.

For more information, to read testimonials from teachers and to register your class before October 16, visit the website: http://waterlution.org/GWC/french/.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le Défi des eaux canadiennes : explorez et célébrez l’eau avec vos étudiants

Découvrez un jeu participatif qui amène les jeunes Canadiens à découvrir des histoires sur le thème de l’eau puis à sensibiliser le public sur différents enjeux.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Le Défi des eaux canadiennes est un jeu participatif à travers lequel les jeunes Canadiens sont amenés à découvrir des histoires sur le thème de l’eau puis à sensibiliser le public sur différents enjeux.

En proposant cette initiative éducative, l’organisation Waterlution souhaite transformer les écoles du pays en espaces de conversation autour de l’eau et former les leaders de demain à des enjeux importants pour nos communautés. Le Défi des eaux canadiennes incite les jeunes de 9 à 18 ans à en apprendre davantage sur leur bassin versant, en s’impliquant dans leur communauté et en faisant des liens avec les programmes d’études sur l’eau.

C’est par la découverte de nombreuses histoires sur le passé des eaux que les jeunes parviendront à mieux comprendre comment ce passé influence leur avenir. De manière ludique et interactive, ces derniers se sensibiliseront et développeront une plus grande capacité à protéger leurs ressources hydrauliques.

De l’exploration à la célébration

Participer au Défi des eaux canadiennes, c’est relever une série de défis qui favorisent une prise de conscience de notre connexion personnelle et celle de notre communauté avec l’eau. Le Défi est divisé en deux niveaux, le niveau EXPLORATION qui se déroule entre le 16 octobre et le 22 décembre 2017 et le niveau CÉLÉBRATION qui se déroule entre le 8 janvier et le 22 mars 2018.

Le premier niveau inclut un atelier d’introduction, un défi sur l’eau ainsi qu’un défi sur la communauté. Le deuxième niveau comprend pour sa part un atelier de planification d’événement et d’engagement communautaire et se conclut par la création d’une célébration de l’eau dans l’école ou la communauté. Celle-ci doit impliquer les jeunes et les adultes dans la prise en charge de l’organisation d’une journée d’action, laquelle vise à initier des changements dans la communauté.

Les divers défis peuvent être soumis grâce à un blog, par courriel, via Googledrive ou un autre support.

Une panoplie de ressources en ligne

En collaboration avec un Conseil consultatif jeunesse l’équipe de Waterlution soutient les écoles tout au long du Défi par des outils et des ateliers variés. Parmi ceux-ci, on retrouve des webinaires avec des invités experts, des glossaires terminologiques en ligne ainsi qu’une liste d’enjeux locaux au Canada. Ces différentes ressources renforcent l’acquisition par les jeunes de nouvelles compétences et visent à susciter leur curiosité.

Par ailleurs, une carte interactive en ligne illustre comment l’eau nous connecte tous, d’un océan à l’autre. C’est sur cette carte que les classes participant au Défi peuvent inscrire l’histoire unique de leur communauté, contribuant ainsi à enrichir l’expérience des prochains groupes.

Les classes participantes ont la possibilité d’être mis en réseau avec des équipes scolaires de partout au pays grâce à des appels virtuels. Finalement, les groupes peuvent soumettre des photos et vidéos de leur célébration de l’eau et ainsi courir la chance de gagner de superbes prix.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, pour lire des témoignages d’enseignants et pour inscrire votre classe avant le 16 octobre, visitez le site internet : http://waterlution.org/GWC/french/.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :