Summer school and exam retakes: Alloprof helps the most vulnerable students

Press Release - In order to help students who have experienced one or more academic failures during the year, Alloprof will deploy a summer offensive from July 11 to 31, offering a maximum of resources and tools to support them in preparing for summer school and exams.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Press release - School vacations are in full swing for most students, but July is also the month of summer school and exam preparation for thousands of young people in Quebec. In order to help these students who have experienced one or more academic failures during the year, Alloprof will deploy a summer offensive from July 11 to 31 by offering a maximum of resources and tools for a higher success rate.  

The program includes classroom tours, one-on-one support with teachers, seven-day-a-week help on the Help Zone and access to thousands of online practice and review tools.  

Succeeding despite concerns 

Many teachers, parents and students have expressed concern in recent months about the impact of covid on the expected pace of learning. 

"The good news is that the ministerial tests have taken into account the possible delays caused by the pandemic and focus on priority learning, in addition to only counting for 10 % or 20 % of the student's final grade," summarizes Annie Harvey, columnist at Alloprof. Despite this, thousands of young people are likely to return to school in the coming weeks. In the years leading up to the pandemic, approximately 20,000 youth were involved in the summer re-take exams in Quebec. 

The ultimate mission: to maintain motivation  

It is hard to keep students motivated after a failure, especially when they have to spend part of their summer studying and taking extra classes. That's why the Alloprof animation team will be visiting some of the schools offering summer courses in the next few days to encourage young people and to introduce them to the best Alloprof tools for their level and needs. "Our primary mission is to help students in difficulty. These school visits allow us to meet the students directly, to create a human contact, and this really makes a difference in their lives. There is a certain amount of embarrassment that can be associated with academic difficulties. We take advantage of this opportunity to build their confidence, give them tools and maybe even put a smile on their face," says Ms. Harvey. 

Tools and services to overcome challenges 

According to the questions received and the Alloprof resources consulted over the last few years, it is mostly math and science that students have trouble with during summer school. That said, regardless of the subject, the Alloprof team of teachers will answer students' questions by chat, text or phone Monday to Thursday from 5 to 8 p.m. and Sundays from 1 to 5 p.m.according to its usual schedule. The Mutual aid zone is also available seven days a week to provide professionally validated explanations. Students can also take advantage of thousands of online resources such as MiniRecaps, CyberReviews, exercises or worksheets to get them unstuck in a subject.  

Prevent the summer slide 

Alloprof encourages young people to rest and enjoy the summer, especially after the upheaval of the last two school years. For parents who would like to take advantage of the summer to have fun while consolidating some of their learning, Alloprof offers several activities for prevent the summer slideThis will allow them to return to school with confidence next September. 

About Alloprof 

Alloprof engages Quebec students and their parents in educational success by providing free, professional and stimulating tutoring services. This year, the organization will have helped over 550,000 students, 60 million times. The organization is supported by many generous partners, including the Government of Quebec, Rio Tinto, Fondation Desjardins, the Pathy Family Foundation, the Trottier Family Foundation, the TELUS Foundation for a Better Future, the National Bank, RBC Royal Bank, the Valero Energy Foundation of Canada, CDPQ, SNC-Lavalin, Ubisoft, Hydro-Québec, Rogers and Télé-Québec. To see all the partners, Click here.  

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Cours d’été et reprises d’examens : Alloprof au secours des élèves les plus vulnérables

Communiqué – Afin de venir en aide aux élèves qui ont vécu un ou des échecs scolaires en cours d’année, Alloprof déploiera une offensive estivale du 11 au 31  juillet en offrant un maximum de ressources et d’outils pour les appuyer dans la préparation des cours d'été et des examens de reprise.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Communiqué –  Les vacances scolaires battent leur plein pour la plupart des  élèves, mais le mois de juillet rime toutefois avec cours d’été et préparation aux examens de reprise pour des milliers de jeunes du Québec. Afin de venir en aide à ces élèves qui ont vécu un  ou des échecs scolaires en cours d’année, Alloprof déploiera une offensive estivale du 11 au 31 juillet en offrant un maximum de ressources et d’outils pour un plus haut taux de réussite.  

Au programme : des tournées dans les classes, du soutien personnalisé avec des profs, de l’aide  sept jours sur sept sur la Zone d’entraide et l’accès à des milliers d’outils de pratique et de révision  en ligne.  

Réussir malgré les inquiétudes 

De nombreux enseignants, parents et élèves ont exprimé ces derniers mois leur inquiétude par  rapport à l’impact de la covid sur le rythme d’apprentissage attendu. 

« La bonne nouvelle, c’est que les épreuves ministérielles ont tenu compte des possibles retards  engendrés par la pandémie et se concentrent sur les apprentissages prioritaires, en plus de ne  compter que pour 10 % ou 20 % de la note finale de l’élève », résume Annie Harvey, chroniqueuse  chez Alloprof. Malgré tout, des milliers de jeunes risquent de retrouver les bancs d’école dans les  prochaines semaines. Dans les années précédant la pandémie, environ 20 000 jeunes étaient  concernés par les examens de reprise d’été au Québec. 

L’ultime mission : préserver la motivation  

Il est ardu de garder les élèves motivés à la suite d’un échec, surtout quand ils doivent consacrer  une partie de leur été à de l’étude et à des cours supplémentaires. C’est pourquoi l’équipe  d’animation d’Alloprof se déplacera dans certaines écoles offrant des cours d’été dans les  prochains jours pour encourager les jeunes et pour leur présenter les meilleurs outils d’Alloprof  selon leur niveau et leurs besoins. « Notre mission première est d’aider les élèves en difficulté.  Ces tournées dans les écoles permettent justement de rencontrer directement les jeunes, de  créer un contact humain, et cela fait réellement une différence dans leur parcours. Il y a une  certaine gêne qui peut être associée à des difficultés scolaires. On en profite pour nourrir leur  confiance, les outiller et peut-être même leur redonner le sourire », lance Mme Harvey. 

Des outils et des services pour surmonter les défis 

Selon les questions reçues et les ressources d’Alloprof consultées ces dernières années, ce sont  surtout les mathématiques et les sciences qui posent problème aux élèves durant les cours d’été.  Cela dit, quelle que soit la matière, l’équipe d’enseignants d’Alloprof répondra aux questions des  élèves par clavardage, texto ou téléphone du lundi au jeudi de 17 h à 20 h et les dimanches  de 13 h à 17 h, selon son horaire habituel. La Zone d’entraide reste aussi offerte sept jours sur sept pour donner des explications validées par une équipe professionnelle. Les jeunes peuvent  également profiter des milliers de ressources en ligne comme les MiniRécups, les  CyberRévisions, les exercices ou les fiches pour les débloquer dans une matière.  

Prévenir la glissade de l’été 

Alloprof incite les jeunes à se reposer et à bien profiter de l’été, surtout après les chamboulements  des deux dernières années scolaires. Pour les parents qui souhaiteraient profiter de l’été pour  s’amuser tout en consolidant certains apprentissages, Alloprof propose plusieurs activités pour prévenir la glissade de l’été, pour un retour à l’école en pleine confiance en septembre prochain. 

À propos d’Alloprof 

Alloprof engage les élèves du Québec et leurs parents dans la réussite éducative en leur offrant  gratuitement des services de soutien scolaire professionnels et stimulants. Cette année,  l’organisme aura aidé plus de 550 000 élèves, 60 millions de fois. L’organisme est soutenu par  de nombreux et généreux partenaires, dont le gouvernement du Québec, Rio Tinto, la Fondation  Desjardins, la Fondation de la famille Pathy, la Fondation familiale Trottier, la Fondation TELUS  pour un futur meilleur, la Banque Nationale, RBC Banque Royale, la Fondation Énergie Valero  du Canada, la CDPQ, SNC-Lavalin, Ubisoft, Hydro-Québec, Rogers et Télé-Québec. Pour voir  l’ensemble des partenaires, cliquez ici.  

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :